We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location but needs to work on service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello di Tornano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We visited this beautiful location in May this year and I have put off writing this review as the experience was almost saved by the extraordinary castle and location - but there are many in the Chianti region. We booked an apartment here, 'Arboretto', I think (name escapes me), believing that having some flexibility to cook and buy local produce would be better than being in the main Castello. This was not the case. It was dark, almost entirely without any aspect and had a smell like it had not been opened in months. The fit out was obviously not as luxurious as within the main complex and one felt like a second class citizen - 'oh, you're in an apartment'. We had arrived after a long drive and I was car sick. There was absolutely no sense of welcome from the staff or within the apartment. We were told to unload our car and move it immediately. Not a bottle of water, appliances had never been plugged in and did not fit the power outlets, there were no basic apartment household items such as dishwashing liquid etc, no house keeping in the time we were there - nothing. This was in stark contrast to our wonderful apartment in Florence which provided small delicacies on arrival, beautifully presented toiletries and bath robes, coffee, tea, milk etc (all for less than this place). The receptionist was rude, 'free wireless' did not exist as offered, and most importantly we thought it would be within a vibrant working vineyard, which we were not. They make some wine - but the in-house wine tasting had 2 wines on offer. Given the extraordinary food we had in the Chianti region, I can honestly say don't bother with the restaurant as it was the least memorable we had. Having just written a quite critical review, being in the grounds of a 1000 year old castle is really something and I went mad with the camera! All the good reviews come from the main complex - stay there and not in the apartments.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the apartments or at least ask for one with a view - there seem to be some nice on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel is situated in an old castle. The surrounding is very nice and quiet. The old moat is now the swimmingpool.
The rooms are in an middleage / knight style and they are very clean. All the staff is very engaged and very friendly. We also enjoyed a dinner on the terrace of the restaurant and a wine tasting - both were excellent.
We enjoyed our stay very much

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gernot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it was a highlight of our Italian adventure.
The castle itself is lovely and the setting in the rolling hills is just gorgeous. Its location makes day trips possible to San gimignano and Pisa but I'd recommend sat nav.
Meals are all prepared to a very high standard and served out on a terrace. The staff were all very helpful and friendly throughout our stay but a special mention has to go to Singh and the chef Manuele.
If you have a chance the cooking class is a must. Manuele is a great teacher and is clearly passionate about the food he serves. We learnt to make 4 dishes from scratch and had a lot of fun both making the dishes and eating them. Classes are flexible- when someone commented how much they liked pesto he amended his original plan so we could learn this.
We also had a chance to go horse riding which was fun and gives you a good view of the castles grounds.
We stayed in the cottage behind reception which was quaint and peaceful but didn't have the views others mention on here.
The swimming pool was nice and refreshing but don't waste your time going to the tennis courts as these are extremely poorly maintained.
Overall a great escape between the hustle and bustle of the big cities and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very special and beautiful and tranquil place and location, nice swimming pool and if you like horse riding this is the place to be! Tennis court however needs an update. Superb wine!

Beautifull and spacious rooms

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for three days and enjoyed every minute of it! The view is spectacular which is only surpassed by the helpfulness of the entire staff. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated. My husband & I enjoyed getting up early to watch the sunrise from the terrace at the top of the tower. We look forward to coming back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

what a wonderful place! We are loving our stay here. The staff is so helpful; the castle is lovely; our accommodations are charming. But then I spent the day in cooking class with Chef Manuele and I was in heaven! I will amaze my friends at home when I make and serve them an authentic four-course Tuscan dinner!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stopped here for a few days during our vacation in Italy. The property was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. The first room we were assigned to had a bit of trouble with the air conditioning, but the staff immediately moved us to a new room. The grounds are lovely, the food was wonderful, and the scenery is breathtaking. We took a cooking class with the chef; that was my favorite part of our stay. He was so much fun to work with and we learned a great deal. We would definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
2.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
707 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
136 reviews
1.7 mi away
Castello di Meleto
Castello di Meleto
#4 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
398 reviews
5 mi away
Badia a Coltibuono
Badia a Coltibuono
#2 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Tornano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Tornano

Address: Localita Tornano SNC | Loc. Tornano, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range: £96 - £841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello di Tornano 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello Di Tornano is located on a hillside in the Chianti Classico wine region. It offers free Wi-Fi, free parking, and rooms and apartments with satellite TV and bathroom. Rooms at the Castello are air conditioned and include a minibar. The apartments offer a fully fitted kitchen. The restaurant at the Castello Di Tornano serves Tuscan specialities and classic Italian cooking. The swimming pool is set in gardens and surrounded by trees. There is a tennis court, and guests can also enjoy the spa bath and massage treatments. The Castello Di Tornano Farm Stay is 18 km from Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castello di Tornano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Tornano Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Tornano Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing