We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an excellent evening we had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Residence SanSano
London
Level 6 Contributor
823 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“What an excellent evening we had”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

An old Castle turned to hotel with a restaurant run by the owners family, located right in the field of San Sano offered us one of our best evenings in Sienna.
We enjoyed one of the large rooms which offers all modern amenities but the highlight was in the restaurant.
We were invited to dine with the owners and some other guests and we all had such a delicious 4 course meal with Chianti Classico of course produced in the very area of San Sano.
A different experience which brings you closer to Italy and the Italians.

Room Tip: Chose a room a little higher so you can enjoy the view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panathinaikos-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    23
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is the hotel by which I compare all others. Very highly recommended. If possible, visit on Sunday, so that you can walk to the neighboring winerys and enjoy the tours and tastings and make a day of it (dont forget to order you taxi ahead of time...enjoy)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annew597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A delightful hotel in a beautiful area. So restful and calm. Lots of flowers in the gardens overlooking the vineyards and olive groves. Good size pool with swallows and swifts swooping overhead. Very near Sienna, lots of wineries nearby and the castles of Chianti route. Good breakfast with different choices each day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirandatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Extremely unpleasant noise disturbance from nearby building works completely spoilt the stay, along with disorganised breakfast experiences.We were given no advance notice of the noise pollution, either by booking.com or the Residence.

Room Tip: We would advise anyone thinking of staying at this establishment to check with the local authority a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samana
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

we ve been in Tuscany in August and we liked it so much every place was so beautiful.
we loved Florence, Sienna and the tuscany countryside is awesome!!! We spent 3 nights in San Sano at the Hotel San Sano and we can say was so beautiful there.
We had a very large room and we had our own private terrace overlooking the vineyards
people there were so helpful with us and they gave us lot of information about the area and wine tasting.We loved our holiday here so relaxing, good food, excellent wines and wonderful landscapes. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrina v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, CO
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is not the place to stay if you have a tough time climbing stairs. In their defense, we did not ask for a ground floor, but we arrived late in the day, and were so tired, we just wanted to sleep. Rosilin was very helpful. The internet did not work in our room, and only sometimes when we were close to the office. The breakfast was the same every day, and got a little boring after so many days. If you are planning to tour Tuscany, you must have a car. This would be a fine place to stay if you just wanted total seclusion. Had it not been for the GPS, I don't think we would have found it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Beautiful scenery, lovely apartments, and a peaceful setting for relaxation after hectic cultural visits to nearby Florence and Sienna. The pool is bordered on two sides by a vineyard, so you really feel part of the Chianti region. It's far enough away from the main road to ensure tranquility, but with good access to nearby towns for those important shopping trips. That said, there is an excellent restaurant on the doorstep (booking essential) and a small shop, perfect for daily essentials, so you can spend days just relaxing by the pool if you prefer. Friendly, knowledgable and extremely efficient staff top off the whole experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank gedsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
3.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
4.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
540 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#3 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
125 reviews
5.3 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
302 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence SanSano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence SanSano

Property: Hotel Residence SanSano
Address: Localita San Sano | Lecchi in Chianti, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence SanSano 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Residence SanSano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Sansano Hotel
Hotel Residence SanSano Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing