We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Stay in Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stayed here as a base for our four days in Tuscany. The hotel was a little tricky to find, but once you find the road markers to get back, it is easy. However, it is further from Siena and the other hill towns than we anticipated.
The hotel, itself, however is clean, spacious, has beautiful grounds and GREAT staff. Sandro at the front desk made great recommendations for towns to visit, restaurants and even running trails for my husband. The pool is peaceful and a great bonus.
The restaurant however, was hit or miss. We ate there two nights and the first night was great! Ravioli with truffle, veal, and pasta with meat.
The second night however, I got a delicious vegetable dish but my husband's meat was fatty and inedible. The chef and staff at the restaurant was great. The chef came out to say hello and talk and even gave us a late night wine to try.
Overall, our stay here was great and would stay here again if we ust wanted to see the wineries in Chianti, and not the nearby hill towns.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belmont79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    33
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
70
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

In February of 2008 my Fiancé and I had made reservations to stay at Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi for 2 days in May 2008 as part of our 12 day Honeymoon in Italy.

Less than 1 week prior to our Honeymoon we received the following email from the Hotel:

.....we refer to your reservation made last February for May 29th and 30th, and we would like to inform you that, checking our files we discovered that the night of May 30th was confirmed by mistake, because our hotel was fully booked since last year due to an event.......

Based on this level of customer service and integrity I would not recommend this hotel to any traveler.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank foxtroty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2008

We spent 3 days in Le Pozze di Lecchi, a very nice small hotel in Chianti hills, near Siena. Rooms are large and beautiful, with a strong and beautiful astmosphere. Restaurant is simply fantastic, with home made pasta. There are also a nice outdoor swimming pool and a small SPA. Strongly recommended.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ascot69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELGIUM
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2007

stayed two nights at this small but very comfortable hotel
All the previous comments are true. Very good food! Nice and extremely clean rooms! Quite hotel inthe middle of nowhere but 100% green environment
What did we missed?
A nice bar environment outside to have a pre dinner or after dinner drink and meet the other hotel guests
The bugs and/ or bees around the pool area are sometimes
very annoying
Siena is the best place to visit but not very easy to find the way back especially at night
Take care you have a very detailed map of the region with
Problem is many one direction roads in Siena so you can't take the same way back.Take care you have a very detailed map of the region with
Went also to the Prada outlet store at Levanella near Montevarchi
Good discount possibilities but still expensive because its top fashion So gentlemen be warned if you take your wife to this place!

  • Liked — quiet and small
  • Disliked — no nice possibilities to sit outside and have a drink
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PETER46Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2007

This truly is an amazing hotel, set in a stunning location in the heart of Chianti. It is set 1300metres along a well maintained gravel track leading to the spectular rebuilt mill house. With split level swimming pool built into the terraces in the side of the hill, and the mill hotel itself tucked into the corner of the valley, it is an idylic setting.

It was a last minute booking, and we where given room 100, which was small, but equally spacious with everything you could need. While only a standard room, it had its own private terrace, a place where we spent considerable time. Its fitted out with genuine antiques, and gives the feeling that you are staying in the mill formely built in the 15th century. That said, the hotel is infact only four years old, and has acheived the great balance of modern amenities without contrasting with its feeling of being a genuine old 15th century property.

The greatest part of the Hotel however has to be the restaurant and the food served. It is true Tuscan food, with produce freshly used from their gardens, and is the finest food to be found. The service is exceptional, and the attention and care with which they offer their wines is a true marvel. Its not just about the food, its about the pride they have in the preperation, presentation and service which is truly unique.

Visit the Hotel because it is one of the finest in Tuscany, but stay at the Hotel because it has the finest food you will find.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No WIFI , but prehaps I shoudnt, it is a holiday
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteveDirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night while exploring the Chianti wine region. In my view, this is a great place to base yourself if you are going around the region, or visiting the Prada outlet store in Montevarcchi.

The grounds are spacious and very beautiful. With 2 big outdoor swimming pools, this place was really in a different class from the hotels in Florence.

If you're driving, I would recommend this place hands down. Don't stay in Florence if you want to explore this region. Come out to the country-side where the prices are cheaper, the location is infinitely more attractive, and the crowds non-existent.

This hotel and its surroundings are very pretty. Plus, some of the rooms have the high-tech bath devices which can massage you as you shower.

The restaurant food was very nice. I don't think this place can cope with large crowds though, as they don't have that many staff, and everyone seems to double-up (counter, kitchen, bar, etc.).

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank KTB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2005

Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi is a beautiful 14 room hotel set along a wooded hillside, adjacent to a small creek and working vineyards. It apparently was an old 15th century mill that was recently converted to a hotel. Furnished with antiques, the rooms retain the old stone walls and beamed ceilings. A 2-level pool (closed during our visit) and a parking lot sit on a flat grassy area nearby with a fine view over the Chianti hills. A covered patio area in the back of the hotel looks like it could be used for group functions. The grounds are nicely maintained.

This hotel actually was not our first choice but our original selection had some plumbing problems and they arranged for us to stay here at a reduced cost, which, given the quality of accommodations, was quite a good deal. We stayed 2 nights.

To reach the hotel requires driving down some twisting, wooded country roads (few shoulders and guardrails). While the main road it sits on between Gaiole in Chianti and Siena is not as bad as the roads between Poggibonsi, Castellina in Chianti, Radda in Chianti, and Lecchi, please be aware it is not easy driving and if you do it at night without having previously driven the road, you may miss the turnoff to the hotel. The turnoff (about 2 miles south of Gaiole in Chianti) is marked with a sign and flag on the west side of the road. You then have to drive up a climbing, winding gravel road past a couple of farm houses for about a mile to reach the hotel.

Our room was a top floor 2-level bedroom with a new jacuzzi tub in the upper loft. There is a modern elevator, but the stairs are an easy climb. The room was very nice with some pretty antiques, a bit small but the upper level made it seem larger. The bathroom had beautiful new fixtures. Satellite TV and a small minibar are provided. There were a couple small dead bugs in the jacuzzi tub, but the room otherwise was very clean. The hotel has a restaurant built out of the old stables attached to the main building; very attractive and the food was good (breakfast is served here in the morning and includes meats, cheeses, fruits, breads, and pastries). There is also an attractive small spa located on the lowest level that has a steam room and a large jacuzzi tub where massages and treatments can be arranged (we didn't use it as there was an extra charge). A small bar is located in the lobby near some seating and the reception desk. The ladies on the staff were very pleasant and offered us use of their computer for emails.

My wife and I found that Chianti was not such a big deal. Yes, there are some nice views, but the nearby towns (Gaiole, Radda, Castellina) are not that interesting and the drive to get to the towns on the narrow roads is nerve-wracking (a large truck barely made it down the main street in Lecchi without hitting the buildings on either side). The towns do have wine cellars and tasting rooms (many of which were closed in November) and there are scattered castles to visit, but we did not find much to appeal to us. We did go into Montevarchi (about 1 hour away) where there is a Prada outlet (good prices) in an industrial park on the east side of the road leading south out of town (ask in town for directions as there are no signs). Siena is about 45 minutes south and offers much more to see and do (we visited there on the way to southern Tuscany, which I thought was more interesting and attractive).

If you do want to visit Chianti than Le Pozze di Lecchi would be a nice choice, particularly during the summer when the pool would be open and the days are longer to accommodate the long drives.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Parkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
2.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence SanSano
Hotel Residence SanSano
#6 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
73 reviews
3.4 mi away
CDH Hotel Radda
CDH Hotel Radda
#4 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
824 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi

Property: Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Address: Loc Molinaccio, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 14th century mill, which produced flour for almost 5 centuries for the surrounding area. The water necessary to move the mill wheels came from the nearby spring which still exists and can be reached on foot along an old track. In 1650 the mill was bought by a wealthy women- MonnaGinevra from Gaiole in Chianti and our restaurant is named after her today. The mill operated until the end of the 1700 after which it was abandoned. The present owners Daniele and Elisa were fascinated by its position with magical sounds and colours of nature. Even though, the remains of walls were entirely covered by shrubbery, ticket and trees, some of them as high of 5m., this young couple were determined to revive the mill. The recnstruction works starter in 2001. All original materials such as stones or beams have been reused; together with ceramic cotta forged from iron mix as well as the detail given to comfort and functionality at the same time to create a real harmony. Today this Old Mill is an excellent Hotel which offers its guests 14 comfortable rooms, the taste of a typical local kitchen, the pleasure to swim in two panoramic pools and the relaxation of our Health Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Pozze Di Lecchi Gaiole In Chianti, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing