We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place worth returning to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Girifalco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Girifalco
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A place worth returning to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this hotel for a one night stand and as a family we discovered wonderful conviviality and customer service, a great location close to the Maremma and to the Tuscan coast, in a great atmosphere. WE enjoyed the perfectly set rooms in cream colors, marble bathrooms, and every "accoutrement" we could have hoped for. Wonderful breakfast full of options and pool completed our perfect experience. At the concierge office they have for sale a wonderful array of Tuscan nature based products form the same company that provides the ones for the hotel rooms. I filled my basket you can rest assured. I recommend this hotel for families and romantic outings as well.
Just a note: The hotel had free wi-fi in the common areas and no wi-fi in the bedrooms.

Room Tip: All rooms are great! We experienced two of them, both single beds and matrimonial beds were great. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieBottazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgirifalco, Owner at Hotel Girifalco, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Many, many thanks for your review so beautiful. Just a note: the wifi in the superior room is present and free. I don't know why you have had difficult to use it, but now you know that we have also this service, so another cause to return! Kind regards, Simona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    76
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
38
62
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice hotel tucked into a nook on the hillside. Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable and clean rooms. Amazing breakfast. Conveniently located to walk into the charming town of Massa Marittima for the day. Definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid the rosamarino rooms if you are a non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenyansalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgirifalco, Owner at Hotel Girifalco, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Many thanks! We hope to see you soon, Simona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Rarely if ever there is only one hotel in a town worth visiting and that is the case with Il Girifalco in Masa Marittima.

Since we travel by bike throughout there are some limitations which must be observed. One of these is easy access in and out of the hotel without having to go all the way to the "Centro Storico" of the town which is usually high and difficult to get to. Even with car it is usually difficult to park. Il Girifalco happens to be on the peripheral highway with very easy access and it is a very good hotel to boot too. A very unusual combination.

Our Room 24 was impeccably equipped with all the conveniences, a long view over the valley, a complimentary bottle of water (particularly after a grueling ride of 65km from Volterra) and spic'n span cleanliness. It is quiet, airy and out of the noise of traffic.

Then comes the restaurant. No need to go searching; the food here is magnificently Toscane and the atmosphere is one of family and friendliness. Of course if it is closed, which happens once a week you will have to go searching into the town. The town, incidentally, is only a five meeting walk from the hotel through quaint little streets.

There is no need to look elsewhere for a place to stay in Massa Marittima Check in now.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller00717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgirifalco, Proprietario at Hotel Girifalco, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Sirs,
There are no words to thank you for this review! Sure is easy to be friendly when customers are themselves excellent people! We know that Canada is not around the corner, but we hope to have you back soon, however, like our welcome guests! Thanks again, Simona and all Girifalco staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Awesome place with friendly helpful staff.Breakfast choice superb with delicious home baked cakes.Beautiful place for walking and not far from the coast by bus.Town is peaceful and if you like the night life then this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgirifalco, Proprietario at Hotel Girifalco, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much! We hope to have you like our welcome guest very soon!, Simona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived late at night at the Girifalco in Massa Marittima, and there was absolutely no availability at the hotel. This was in August 2013. We enjoyed a nice dinner at first, and despite the very late hour, one of the staff took all the necessary bed linen, took his car, and accompanied us to an annex located within Massa Maritima, where the three of us enjoyed a very quiet night in a very large studio. Wonderful view over the plain and the sea in the distance. Delicious breakfast. The staff is most helpful and nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertrand M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgirifalco, Proprietario at Hotel Girifalco, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Many, many thanks! We remember you very well, you've arrived in a day of great demand in Massa Marittima and we tried to find an accommodation still cozy. We hope to have you again our guests very soon, but with a reservation, I recommend it :)! Warm greetings from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the newly renovated suites (Ginestra room no. 28) for three nights beginning September 21. The suite was comfortable and attractively decorated and the bathroom was ample in size and completely renovated and well-illuminated. Unfortunately, the glass tub/shower door did not stop water from leaking onto the floor each morning. It's too bad they didn't do a better job in the floor plan when they decided to renovate the room. The bedroom area could have been larger and more comfortable if the bathroom didn't bisect the suite. Unfortunately, there was quite a bit of wasted space in the entry area, but I'm sure this area could be utilized if a 3rd person was staying in the suite. Our room shared an outdoor balconey and looked toward the pool and valley. The restaurant was closed during our stay; however, the hotel did serve breakfast. I must confess, breakfast was a real disappointment. Espresso/cappuccino was not available...just American coffee...which we've never experienced in 11 trips to Italy. The pasteries/cheese/juice selection was very limited and not very appetizing or the highest quality. The hotel is located on a quite road on the perimeter of the hilltop center of Massa Marittima. My wife and I really enjoy walking, so the walk was not an issue for us. However, it is a steep 5 minute ascent and may be an issue for persons with limited mobility. Massa Marittima is a lovely town and a good base to explore other parts of the Maremma such as Castiglione della Pescaia, the historic part of Piombino, Bolgheri, and Grosseto. The beach is only 20 minutes by car. Overall, this hotel does provide a reasonable value and Massa Marittima is definitely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hard to fault this small and friendly hotel. It is situated at the base of a very quiet Tuscan hill town, Massa Maritima. You need transport to visit the coast and other interesting sites such as the region`s hot air vents ( fumeroles).The surrounding countryside is wooded and great for walking.

The hotel is pretty if not very distinctive or obviously Tuscan. I found it extremely comfortable and pleasant. The town and the hotel are quite sleepy and there is not much to do in the evening hence the suggestion to bring a good book!

Room Tip: Some rooms have wi fi connection others don`t so if important to you ask for a room that does. Perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massa Marittima
0.6 mi away
Hotel Massa Vecchia
Hotel Massa Vecchia
#1 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
Pian Dei Mucini Resort
#2 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
11.3 mi away
Parrini
Parrini
#4 of 14 in Follonica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Fenice Park Hotel
La Fenice Park Hotel
#4 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Duca del Mare
Hotel Duca del Mare
#5 of 16 in Massa Marittima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
11.8 mi away
Villagio Il Girasole
Villagio Il Girasole
#2 of 14 in Follonica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Girifalco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Girifalco

Property: Hotel Girifalco
Address: Via Massetana Nord 25, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Massa Marittima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Massa Marittima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Girifalco 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the colours and scents of the Alta Maremma (Upper Maremma), and set in a delightful garden filled with flowers and aromatic plants, is the charming Hotel Girifalco. This 3-star hotel is just a few minutes away from the historic centre of Massa Marittima, a splendid mediaeval town with a fine Cathedral, "Palazzo del Podesta" (Governor's Hall), and Archaeological Museum. Are you looking for a hotel in Massa Marittima? The Hotel Girifalco will be glad to welcome you, and offer you peace and quiet, relaxation, natural surroundings and a family atmosphere. It is the ideal setting for either a family holiday, a romantic break, or as a base for enjoying outdoor sports and activities. The views in this area are spectacular and the climate is mild throughout the year. The sea is within very easy reach: we are only 17 km from Follonica (European Blue Flag 2013) and from the other beautiful beaches of the Tyrrhenian Sea. You can also enjoy excursions to nearby mediaeval villages, or take part in a variety of sports and activities, including cycling, walking, trekking or horse-riding. The Hotel Girifalco at Massa Marittima offers you a choice between our classic rooms and our new, exclusive bedrooms and suites with their bright, spacious atmosphere and elegant decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Girifalco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing