We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm
Tain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic location”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We knew as soon as we arrived that Pieve di Caminino was a special place and the perfect location for us to explore the beautiful Tuscany countryside. A warm welcome from the owners and the offer of a glass of their own white wine in the beautiful reception hall just added to our delight. We stayed in the Belvedere apartment which is spacious and has a large window with panaromic views of the surrounding landscape and a delightful terrace which enjoys sunshine from morning until about mid-afternoon. We visited Siena (about an hour's drive away) and Castiglione della Pescaia (about half an hour away), and enjoyed a day trip to the island of Elba as well as visiting lots of the surrounding hilltop villages including Roccatederighi which was closest and from where we hired bikes. Much to our surprise (we are in our late 50's and hadn't ridden bikes for a few years) we managed a 50km bike ride carefully planned to include a lot of downhill cycling by Riccardo who owns the bike rental shop in Roccatederighi. Riccardo also accompanied us leading us through some very picturesque countryside and keeping us well informed about the area which certainly added to our enjoyment as did being collected by his wife at the end of our trip which spared us all that cycling back uphill! Roccatederighi is walkable from Caminino but only if you enjoy a very long uphill walk. It took us abut 80 minutes to get there in quite hot sunshine and about 50 minutes for the mostly downhill return journey; we completed this walk only the once and were very thankful of the Caminino pool to cool off in and for the use of our car for future journeys! There are lots of lovely restaurants in the area to try out and we particularly enjoyed the De Nada in Roccatederighi which has a small but lovely ouside terrace from which to enjoy dinner and the beautiful evening sunsets. Caminino is not for you if you are looking for a lively nightlife and characterless accommodation but if you are looking for something different and a memorable Tuscany experience then it is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Highlander20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    14
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
40
177
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights & loved every moment, would have loved to have stayed longer if only we had the time. There are so many wonderful walks & places to explore in the grounds of Pieve di Caminino, far too many enchanting spots for a secluded picnic & bottle of wine. We were en route to Rome & simply spent our time relaxing by the pool, eating & enjoying the beautiful countryside.

We loved the room; it felt like we had a whole cottage to ourselves & really beautifully decorated

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The location is unquestionably beautiful. Emiliano's attitude was always very attentive and ready to help. We initially booked and paid for five nights but decided to leave after the third night, while paying for all five. Our main concern was the price-performance paid for our accommodation. Our room was in a suboptimal condition. Furniture was very old and in a bad state. The bathroom smelled bad. The chimney didn't work properly (smoke all over the place). Wifi didn't work. In accordance with the other reviews we believe that Caminino has a great potential to be a fine venue but an investment needs to be considered (at least to our room).
For comparison purposes, a 'Superior Room' at the highest ranked hotel in San Gimignano (including a buffet breakfast) costs 20 euros more per night than what was charged to us in Caminino.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianademosquera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRCaminino, Proprietario at Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear A.M.,
Thank you for finding some time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We were all surprised about your sudden departure, but you did not give us any explanation and you confirmed everything was fine with the accommodation. Very strange. Probably your impression was affected by the terrible weather we are having this May, this was our explnation to your sudden departure. This weather was not normal for Tuscany, cold, windy and rainy; anyway, if you had told us what you wrote just here, we could have moved immediately you to another accommodation, or try to fix what was not going as per your expectation. I think that if something in your opinion is not going as you expected, first thing is to contact who assist you and try to find a solution. Leaving without a word and then writing such a review is not a good help, both for you and for us. Tanks God guests who stayed immediately after you, from Germany, had a lovely stay and wrote us a wonderful email of compliments (they are sending their relatives in September). Impressions are personal. Here are my answer to your complaints:
Fireplace: I remember the firt evening I started it for you, and it was working very well. If you remember, we spent some time together in front of it and it went on working fine, blazing. If you had a probelm with the fireplace, you had to contact me imemdiately. Open fitreplace need some experience to be lighted and to be kept on.
Smelling bathroom: we did not find any tarce about this, probably was a temporary problem, two couples have stayed in the same accommodation and they left very happy, nor we noticed during the cleaning.
WIFI: I never said in your reservation neither that we offer wifi nor that it was working in your room (it actually does in your balcony, and it is free). That is not described in our web site. We prefer guests ask for it on arrival. We have an external area which is all covered by wifi and some of the accommodations have the signal indoor, while some others do not have (some guests expressely require no wifi, for relaxation).
Room: your accommodation was a 3 storey apartment with a balcony, kitchen, dining room... not just a room.
Finally, this let me really confused: you wrote "Furniture was very old and in a bad state": I am Italian architect, and this really really hurts me: what you call old furniture, we call them ANTIQUES. Those are original antique fornitures. This last impression let me think that probably a country historic agriturismo is definetly not the right of place for your relaxation: fireplace, antiques (very old furniture) but no wifi in room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I cannot rave enough about our stay at Pieve di Caminino. It was simply perfect. We loved every moment of our honeymoon week here. We stayed in the Bifora Suite and it was the most romantic, beautiful setting. We ate peaches the size of grapefruits every morning on the tiled balcony overlooking the vineyard along with enjoying fresh prosciutto and wine in the evenings on the balcony. It was centrally located to drive everywhere we found ourselves wandering each day.
The only improvement I would suggest to Emy would be the mattress could use replacing as it was very, very firm but my husband loved the firm bed so....it depends on your taste.
The entire villa was charming and has such old world charm. If you are looking for The Ritz I would not suggest booking here. If you are looking for old world charm, character, fantastic hospitality, a sense of history and a real Italian experience then book here.
I have a ton of photos that I will post soon.

Room Tip: Gorgeous setting. Make sure to ask to tour the Morris Farms Winery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krugsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The moment we arrived, we knew we had chosen well: Pieve is magical.

Emy Marrucchi-Locatelli graciously welcomed us to his home with a glass of the very good estate wine in the reception hall/gallery, which was a monastery built in the 11th century. The breathtaking hall, with its soaring ceiling and ancient arches and columns, is filled with antiques, art and original paintings, much of it created over three generations by the reknown Locatelli family.

A candlelit pathway led to our room, where, that night and every evening, we found a fire softly glowing, in view of the four-poster canopy bed. The romantic atmosphere and historic buildings, combined with the working farm's acres of olive groves and vineyards provided a truly authentic Italian experience. We visited during the olive harvest and, from our lovely outdoor patio, we watched farmhands raking the trees, as the olives rained down onto nets spread below.

It’s a short drive in the beautiful Tuscan countryside to medieval and Renaissance towns: Siena, Pienza, Montalcino and Massa Marittima. Emy, our wonderful host and guide, discussed the local history and recommended outstanding “Slow Food” restaurants in which we dined. Our heartfelt thanks to you for this enchanting experience!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room here - each is unique and beautiful to behold. We loved the charming &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChampionOrganic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at Bifora for 3 nights in late October. The place was a monastry build in the 11th century. Emy and his family has done a superb job restoring this place into a beautiful place to stay. Each room has a character of its own (we got to see two other rooms), but I recommend Bifora because of the beautiful view from the balcony looking out the olive and grape orchards. This is a true Tuscan experience. You can enjoy a relaxing time in the room, or a nice walk in the orchard. I did not know that olive trees could grow to be so big and old! We lucked out as they were just harvesting the olives and we got a tasted of the freshly squeezed olive oil - it has a very powerful aroma with a stinging after-taste!
The location is a bit far from the larger cities such as Siena or Firenze, but surprisingly there are many nice medial towns nearby that are within 30 minute drive. Staying at Pieve di Caminino made our Tuscany trip so very special. We definitely would stay here again. Thank you Emy for all the help around the help and of course the hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitsumame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a historic resort that was once a monastery, all apartments have kitchens and the views are amazing. The owners are wonderful and offer many suggestions of things to see. There is also a pool with a panoramic view. Would return yearly if I could.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DetroitGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roccatederighi
3.5 mi away
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
#2 of 4 in Roccastrada
303 reviews
22.2 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
626 reviews
15.2 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Melosa Resort
La Melosa Resort
#1 of 4 in Roccastrada
219 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tenuta Casteani Wine Resort
5.1 mi away
Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm

Property: Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm
Address: Strada Provinciale 89 snc, 58036 Roccatederighi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Roccatederighi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Roccatederighi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caminino is an antique farm estate of 200 hectares (500 acres), completely fenced, access to which is reserved exclusively for guests with reservations. A centenary olive grove, a panoramic vineyard where walking or jogging at the sight of the Montemassi castle, and a legendary cork oak forest surround the old exclusive private village, now offering agriturismo hospitality, with swimming pool (in warm season) and two ponds. Silence dominates, pleasantly interrupted by the sounds of nature. The view stretches, on clear days, to the sea, where the horizon is marked by the island of Giglio. The ancient villages of Roccatederighi, Montemassi, Sticciano and Montepescali are nearby located, crowning the landscape with their fortfied walls: they area reachable driving afew minutes and all offer a delicious choice of typical restaurants and wine bars.Not to miss & easily reachable: Massa Marittima, Siena, Montalcino, Pitigliano, Castiglione della Pescaia, Populonia, Bolgheri, the Maremma National Park, The Tarot Garden, Mount Amiata, the Terme di Saturnia, Roselle, S. Galgano, S. Antimo ... The total lack of traffic makes Caminino easy to be reached, both from Rome Leonardo da Vinci (200km / 124mi) and from Pisa Galileo Galilei (140km / 87mi), or from Florence Amerigo Vespucci Airport (128km /80mi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Resort Pieve Di Caminino Hotel Roccatederighi
Pieve Di Caminino Historic Farm Roccatederighi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing