We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection in Pieve di Caminino”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection in Pieve di Caminino”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My partner and I spent 3 weeks in Tuscany last July. We have visited Italy throughout the years....but never returning to the same Inn/Resort. After our beautiful stay at Caminino, however, this need to search out something "new" will no longer be what guides us. Caminino and our lovely host Emy, made our (too short) 4 night stay no less than utterly magical.
As an avid traveler and someone who has been fortunate to enjoy 5 star experiences throughout the world, i can tell you, hands down, that this place is a gem. And an affordable one, at that!
From the Art that adorns the walls (the talent in this family spans generations and is as worth seeing as anything hanging in nearby florentine museum) to the wine produced by an ancient on-site vineyards.....you'll enjoy ALL there is to be discovered. The property has wonderful grounds to explore, as well.

I will be returning. Maybe even gathering friends and family for my upcoming wedding. This should tell you something! You'll leave with a happy heart.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    14
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
177
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed there a week and we were delighted by the experience; the resort itself is wonderful as it can be seen in the pictures, but also the warm treatment from our host (Emi) who is always helpful and willing to make you enjoy your stay.
Our apartment was the smaller one but nevertheless it was decorated with superb style, had a fully functional bathroom and a small kitchen with a minifridge, a heating pad and a coffee machine. Not to miss the main building of the resort, in the past it was an abbey but now it helds Emy's office...it's diificult to know where to look, every corner is full of antique objetcs, paintings, sculptures...
We had scheduled some routes to the area but he suggested other points of interest worth to visit, so in case of doubt, just ask him.
But of course, if you just want to relax, then you will be in the perfect place: the resort is a quiet place, close to wineywards and olive fields, and it has a pool where you can enjoy a refreshing bath and one of the most wonderful sunsets you can see.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_iq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkerod, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

There is no question that Caminino is a charming and very special place. However, it is not quite what the pictures on the home page promise. We stayed in the Sacrestia and were not prepared for the ants, oversized centipedes and months-old cobwebs we had to share with. The furniture was at best rustique with a distinct smoke bouquet from the open fire place. Some might argue they were worn out and past last expiry date.
It's all part of the charm and as long as you are prepared, it's still a very unique experience. But it is not quite what the home page pictures promise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth_welm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRCaminino, Proprietario at Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We are pleased to point out that we are a certified organic farm, full of butterflies and birds, thanks to our careful pesticide-free program. It is enough that there is a small spider that cobwebs is formed in a few hours, (they are hard workers). Being your apartement on the ground floor, with private garden, this can happen very easily, the same for ants. Of course if you had informed us we would have immediately intervened. The apartment was deepely cleaned on arrival and by paying the extra daily cleaning service for your 7 night stay, this could certainly have been avoided.
About furniture, there are two original XVIIth century valuable benches and frame over bed, while other furniture are original XVIIIth century pieces of fine antiques, all coming from our family collection.
Thank you for stating that as most of our guests you find our Resort a unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Magical. From the moment we drove through the gates, past one of the two ponds on the property, down the approach to the collection of buildings that make up Pieve di Caminino, we were thrilled. The setting is lush and they’ve only improved upon it with their landscaping. Blooming roses, vining plants, and birds singing rain and shine. Daniela, Emy and Nandish were all so helpful and gracious, and we lost our hearts to their dog, Allegra, and Emy’s daughter’s little gosling that we nicknamed pillow. Who knew a gosling could be so sociable? There is a forest path that runs at least part of the length of the property - we walked along it for about 20 min. or so and then turned around. Emy said that it was only sometime in the 20th century that the last bandit that hid out in the forest was finally routed out when he was shot by a farmer. (I hope I got the story right.) Hard to imagine bandits there, but glad they’re gone! The pool is below the lower pond with a nice view of the vineyards on the property and beyond to the West and I think North towards the castle ruins atop Montemassi. We stayed in Foresteria with its exposed brick arches and terra cotta floors. It had a sitting area with a couch, fireplace, and a writing desk, a kitchenette and a separate walk in closet with a chest of drawers, and hanging space for clothes. It was thoughtfully decorated with interesting antique furniture and farm implements, and some Locatelli paintings. We really appreciated the thick cotton robes provided and the fireplace because we had unseasonably cold weather while there in May and didn’t quite pack for it. Take their offers of help with building and maintaining your fires. They used some fire starter and a candle to get it going. And be sure to have a tour of the family’s private collection of art. Foresteria has its own spacious outdoor patio w/seating, lounge chairs and a view of the grounds. Our room and the whole property were so charming that it was hard to leave every day to go exploring! Seems the whole place is a labor of love and we were lucky to experience it. We hope to make it back someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We knew as soon as we arrived that Pieve di Caminino was a special place and the perfect location for us to explore the beautiful Tuscany countryside. A warm welcome from the owners and the offer of a glass of their own white wine in the beautiful reception hall just added to our delight. We stayed in the Belvedere apartment which is spacious and has a large window with panaromic views of the surrounding landscape and a delightful terrace which enjoys sunshine from morning until about mid-afternoon. We visited Siena (about an hour's drive away) and Castiglione della Pescaia (about half an hour away), and enjoyed a day trip to the island of Elba as well as visiting lots of the surrounding hilltop villages including Roccatederighi which was closest and from where we hired bikes. Much to our surprise (we are in our late 50's and hadn't ridden bikes for a few years) we managed a 50km bike ride carefully planned to include a lot of downhill cycling by Riccardo who owns the bike rental shop in Roccatederighi. Riccardo also accompanied us leading us through some very picturesque countryside and keeping us well informed about the area which certainly added to our enjoyment as did being collected by his wife at the end of our trip which spared us all that cycling back uphill! Roccatederighi is walkable from Caminino but only if you enjoy a very long uphill walk. It took us abut 80 minutes to get there in quite hot sunshine and about 50 minutes for the mostly downhill return journey; we completed this walk only the once and were very thankful of the Caminino pool to cool off in and for the use of our car for future journeys! There are lots of lovely restaurants in the area to try out and we particularly enjoyed the De Nada in Roccatederighi which has a small but lovely ouside terrace from which to enjoy dinner and the beautiful evening sunsets. Caminino is not for you if you are looking for a lively nightlife and characterless accommodation but if you are looking for something different and a memorable Tuscany experience then it is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Highlander20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed two nights & loved every moment, would have loved to have stayed longer if only we had the time. There are so many wonderful walks & places to explore in the grounds of Pieve di Caminino, far too many enchanting spots for a secluded picnic & bottle of wine. We were en route to Rome & simply spent our time relaxing by the pool, eating & enjoying the beautiful countryside.

We loved the room; it felt like we had a whole cottage to ourselves & really beautifully decorated

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The location is unquestionably beautiful. Emiliano's attitude was always very attentive and ready to help. We initially booked and paid for five nights but decided to leave after the third night, while paying for all five. Our main concern was the price-performance paid for our accommodation. Our room was in a suboptimal condition. Furniture was very old and in a bad state. The bathroom smelled bad. The chimney didn't work properly (smoke all over the place). Wifi didn't work. In accordance with the other reviews we believe that Caminino has a great potential to be a fine venue but an investment needs to be considered (at least to our room).
For comparison purposes, a 'Superior Room' at the highest ranked hotel in San Gimignano (including a buffet breakfast) costs 20 euros more per night than what was charged to us in Caminino.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianademosquera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRCaminino, Proprietario at Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear A.M.,
Thank you for finding some time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We were all surprised about your sudden departure, but you did not give us any explanation and you confirmed everything was fine with the accommodation. Very strange. Probably your impression was affected by the terrible weather we are having this May, this was our explnation to your sudden departure. This weather was not normal for Tuscany, cold, windy and rainy; anyway, if you had told us what you wrote just here, we could have moved immediately you to another accommodation, or try to fix what was not going as per your expectation. I think that if something in your opinion is not going as you expected, first thing is to contact who assist you and try to find a solution. Leaving without a word and then writing such a review is not a good help, both for you and for us. Tanks God guests who stayed immediately after you, from Germany, had a lovely stay and wrote us a wonderful email of compliments (they are sending their relatives in September). Impressions are personal. Here are my answer to your complaints:
Fireplace: I remember the firt evening I started it for you, and it was working very well. If you remember, we spent some time together in front of it and it went on working fine, blazing. If you had a probelm with the fireplace, you had to contact me imemdiately. Open fitreplace need some experience to be lighted and to be kept on.
Smelling bathroom: we did not find any tarce about this, probably was a temporary problem, two couples have stayed in the same accommodation and they left very happy, nor we noticed during the cleaning.
WIFI: I never said in your reservation neither that we offer wifi nor that it was working in your room (it actually does in your balcony, and it is free). That is not described in our web site. We prefer guests ask for it on arrival. We have an external area which is all covered by wifi and some of the accommodations have the signal indoor, while some others do not have (some guests expressely require no wifi, for relaxation).
Room: your accommodation was a 3 storey apartment with a balcony, kitchen, dining room... not just a room.
Finally, this let me really confused: you wrote "Furniture was very old and in a bad state": I am Italian architect, and this really really hurts me: what you call old furniture, we call them ANTIQUES. Those are original antique fornitures. This last impression let me think that probably a country historic agriturismo is definetly not the right of place for your relaxation: fireplace, antiques (very old furniture) but no wifi in room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roccatederighi
3.8 mi away
La Melosa Resort
La Melosa Resort
#1 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
15.2 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
Country Inn Casa Mazzoni
#2 of 4 in Roccastrada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tenuta Casteani Wine Resort
2.5 mi away
Residence Il Ciliegio
Residence Il Ciliegio
#3 of 3 in Roccatederighi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
5.1 mi away
Conti di San Bonifacio Wine Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm

Property: Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm
Address: Strada Provinciale 89 snc, 58036 Roccatederighi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Roccatederighi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Roccatederighi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caminino is an antique farm estate of 200 hectares (500 acres), completely fenced, access to which is reserved exclusively for guests with reservations. A centenary olive grove, a panoramic vineyard where walking or jogging at the sight of the Montemassi castle, and a legendary cork oak forest surround the old exclusive private village, now offering agriturismo hospitality, with swimming pool (in warm season) and two ponds. Silence dominates, pleasantly interrupted by the sounds of nature. The view stretches, on clear days, to the sea, where the horizon is marked by the island of Giglio. The ancient villages of Roccatederighi, Montemassi, Sticciano and Montepescali are nearby located, crowning the landscape with their fortfied walls: they area reachable driving afew minutes and all offer a delicious choice of typical restaurants and wine bars.Not to miss & easily reachable: Massa Marittima, Siena, Montalcino, Pitigliano, Castiglione della Pescaia, Populonia, Bolgheri, the Maremma National Park, The Tarot Garden, Mount Amiata, the Terme di Saturnia, Roselle, S. Galgano, S. Antimo ... The total lack of traffic makes Caminino easy to be reached, both from Rome Leonardo da Vinci (200km / 124mi) and from Pisa Galileo Galilei (140km / 87mi), or from Florence Amerigo Vespucci Airport (128km /80mi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pieve di Caminino Historic Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Resort Pieve Di Caminino Hotel Roccatederighi
Pieve Di Caminino Historic Farm Roccatederighi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing