We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top marks !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Gagliano

Da Gagliano
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Sarteano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Top marks !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Sunday lunch time - service closes at 2pm: we turned up at 1.45 - decided to pop our head in , expecting the sort of reply you'd get in England - "sorry - we've finished for the day ".
But no - we were welcomed in.
And were we glad ! The food & wine was - as everybody else reports about this small , unsupposing restuarant - absolutely brilliant ! Local products served in a way that was truly amazing .( I confess we took a few photos to show friends back home - because it was just so good ! ) . And all at a price that didn't break the bank . Its definitely on our list for the next time we are in Tuscany !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    94
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
whitehaven
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked this restaurant based on the reviews on trip advisor and we were so pleased with our decision. This small restaurant is tucked away in santeano, yet it is constantly busy. The food is perfect and the staff are extremely friendly.
We visited plenty of restaurants in Tuscany, however this was our favourite and demonstrated amazing Tuscan food. It is also value for money in comparison to the other restaurants. You must try the ricotta pie - it's incredible!
We will be back for more, Juliano!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoopySingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona, Usa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tuscan cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have been making annual visits to Tuscany for the last several years, and a pilgrimage to Gagliano in Sarteano is a top priority. The pasta role topped with truffles is unbelievable, and the various Tuscan soups and dishes with wild game prepared by Chef Angela are all wonderful. Giuliano, the owner, always remembers us and makes us feel like honored guests.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilipJ432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Ignore the outside of this place which looks a bit twee - this is a real find. The food was some of the most interesting we came across in Tuscany this year including game terrine with vin santo, rocket and walnut pesto, roast rabbit, stuffed quail and a heavenly custard with peaches and amaretti! The owner couldn't be nicer or more enthusiastic about his menu (he also speaks very good English). He even offered to serve plainer dishes to our children if there was nothing on the menu they liked. My only criticism was that the rabbit tasted too strongly of garlic but that would in no way stop me going back again. Da Gagliano deserves every one of its 5 stars!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SennockianDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
177 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Terrific Tuscan food and a friendly welcoming owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a small and very welcoming restaurant and to guarantee a table you really need to book in advance. The exterior of the place belies the rustic interior with its handwritten menus and a focus on real local seasonal food. There is a passionate owner and chef who exude enthusiasm for their work. From the moment you are greeted you just know that you are going to enjoy yourself.
We were a table of 4, 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and a 12. On the owners recommendation we split the strangozzi pasta course between the two children. They adored it. I had a herring starter (unusual so far from the sea, but the smoked and pickled preparation explains how it became a traditional dish a little like the salt cod also on the menu) and a main course of traditional beef stew which was mouth wateringly tender but a little salty. Other dishes eaten included a grilled rabbit dish and cinghiale ragu over pici - all well presented and perfectly cooked.
The desserts were a treat too - fresh peaches in a warm custard/cream sauce.
We drank the house wine which was just OK (but then at €5 for half a litre what can you expect!!) and there was plenty of selection for less adventurous palettes who wanted to stick with the chianti/montepulciano/brunello regional wines.
There was a great atmosphere in the place and a feel of genuine welcome from the staff. A real find and well recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sennockred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Gagliano also viewed

Sarteano, Province of Siena
Sarteano, Province of Siena
 
Sarteano, Province of Siena
Chiusi, Province of Siena
 
Sarteano, Province of Siena
Chianciano Terme, Province of Siena
 

Been to Da Gagliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing