We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Coming Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Gustea Hotel & Cucina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sarteano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Visiting with Nadia and Felice at the Albergo Roberta is like coming home to family. The hospitality is warm and caring and personal, the food is to die for, made with love. Personal travel concerns are never a problem because the hotel staff takes it as a personal challenge to work them out for you, as well as to provide directions, discounts and contacts for all the interesting attractions in the area. I visit each year as part of a music conference in the lovely town of Sarteano, and each year Nadia and Felice go out of their way to help all the conference participants get to know each other. They solve problems of all kinds for the members, spend a great deal of time pairing roommates carefully to cut down costs for the workshop members but to foster happy and comfortable living conditions for everyone. And they prepare joint meals and special events for them and attend their workshop concert with their whole extended family.

The hotel is an easy walk from the historic 16th century piazza with a restored theater and Etruscan museum. Tours of the 9th century castle are also available as are trips to local spas, swimming pools, and bus trips to other area historic Tuscan wine towns. Each year at the end of July, beginning of August, the town holds a medieval festival with specially-trained flag-throwing team demonstrations and contests and an arts and crafts fair

A return trip is a heart-warming reunion because Nadia and Felice remember their guests and welcome them back like long lost family members. A trip to the Albergo Roberta is more than a hotel stay, it is the beginning of a friendship.

Room Tip: The rooms are all equally well-appointed. Spacious windows let in cool air after summer rains with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarteano, Proprietario at La Gustea Hotel & Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Wich extraordinary review ! There are no other words to thank you all for your beautiful friendship during the Workshop and during the years that every year we warm heart !
Kisses
Nadia & Felice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Albergo Roberta is probably the best hotel experience I've ever had. I took part in a music course in the beautiful village of Sarteano, and there were many of us staying in the same hotel. The reasonable-cost half board, dinner included, gathered us all eating delicious food together every night. The sense of unity was cherished by the caring, warm, helpful and personal service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visayrjola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nadia and Felice always go above and beyond to make sure their guests are happy. I stayed there for eight days last week, and I would go back in a heartbeat. Clean rooms, great food, A/C, wifi, free parking and smiles every where you look. Just a short walk from the charming old town of Sarteano. My new favorite Tuscan home away from home.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nadia and Felice are absolutely wonderful people. The rooms are charming, and the ones in front have a heavenly view of the castle from the balcony. I can't recommend the house wines, but they carry nicer alternatives for a bit more, and the food is delicious. I would love to go back anytime--the hospitality and care there is simply outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cantatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We recently spent eight wonderful days in the company of Nadia and Felice.
The room (number 19) was a good size and it was spotless it had French doors which opened onto a balcony from which there was a lovely view of Sarteano castle.
The service was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble. The typical Italian food was excellent and was given in large amounts.
Robertas is ideally located for visiting Rome, Siena, Assisi, Cortona and many others.
This was our third visit and we will certainly go back again and again.

Room Tip: We were in room 19. There was a balcony with a view of Sarteno castle. The room didn't have ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I had a great time staying in this hotel. The hosts are super friendly and helpful. They get me discount to go to the pool and getting taxi. One highlight is the home made food in the meals included in the room rate. I truly miss all of them - the best Italian food I ever had so far. The pesto is SO YUM!!
The only thing to improve is the internet connection in rooms. I am looking forward to spend a few days there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarteano, Proprietario at La Gustea Hotel & Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thanks a lot for your words and thanks also for your stay in our Hotel ! Many congratulations for a new year with a beautiful events for you and ... we wait you as soon as you can for another stay here ... in the kitchen !!!
Nadia & Felice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

You simply will not find a better place to stay no matter how hard you try; staying with Nadia and Felice is like staying with family. The rooms are charming, spacious, and clean and I love the beautiful windows that open fully to reveal gorgeous views of the Tuscan countryside. If you have the option, you can request a room that looks out over the castle and you will have beautiful french doors that open to a small balcony. You may also request a room with aircon, but it's very nice in the evening if you turn on the fan and open the window. (I was there in July, it can't get any hotter than that!) The albergo is situated in a local neighborhood full of friendly people who work in their gardens and walk their dogs...it feels like you've moved to Tuscany! The rate includes two meals per day, served family style, and cooked by the talented Felice. Nadia and her charming son bring drinks to each person individually and I found that, after returning home, I really missed my daily, "What do you want for drink?" from Nadia. The wine is wonderful and inexpensive and the food will make you want to move in. You will NOT go hungry here! It is a 10-15 min walk to the old center of town and along the way are incredible cafes, bars, and gelato shops. Many of the local shops make their ingredients from scratch including the pastas and gelatos so stop anywhere, you can't go wrong. If you are looking to visit the local spas or other attractions, Nadia will call ahead to make a reservation and book you a taxi. She can charge the local attractions directly to your room with no additional fee which makes everything so much easier. Nine days at Albergo Roberta made me feel like I had a whole new life and that was due in no small part to the hospitality of Nadia and Felice; they take such good care of their guests that you will never want to leave. If you go, give them a kiss from me!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the castle. There are only three and they have french doors that open to a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnitaVespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarteano, Proprietario at La Gustea Hotel & Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Our dear friend ... YOU ARE WONDERFUL !!!! Really working with you and the other of the "Workshop group" it's each year better, but the guests like you make our work better and better !!!
Thanks so much for your beautiful reviews and we hope to see you SOON or AS SOON AS YOU CAN !!!
Kiss
Nadia & Felice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarteano
0.4 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Santa Chiara
0.8 mi away
La Torre ai Mari
La Torre ai Mari
#4 of 5 in Sarteano
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Lanterna
Hotel La Lanterna
#3 of 5 in Sarteano
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca
#1 of 10 in Chiusi
652 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Rosati
Hotel Rosati
#3 of 10 in Chiusi
201 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Marystella
Hotel Marystella
#16 of 81 in Chianciano Terme
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gustea Hotel & Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gustea Hotel & Cucina

Address: Via Adige 19, 53047 Sarteano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sarteano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sarteano
Price Range: £61 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gustea Hotel & Cucina 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Gustea, offers distinctly Tuscan flavors, scents, and natural aromas, in an elegant and warm family atmosphere. Everything here is a hymn to taste and harmony; pleasurable dining, an ode to the culinary art. Nadia and Felice welcome you into their home with a charm and hospitality that are unmatched; ring the doorbell, and enjoy their warmth with a welcoming cup of coffee. But there is so much more…La Gustea was born from Nadia and Felice's shared vision: to create a joyous and welcoming home filled with new and exciting flavors and experiences, for everyone who stays with them. The rooms at La Gustea have been decorated with tremendous attention to detail and style to ensure a relaxing stay. Come and experience the ambiance of our saffron rooms with its shades of yellow and violet, or one of the elder rooms with its soothing greens or the blueberry rooms in shades of blue. Felice beautifully complements this experience at the dining table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Gustea Hotel & Cucina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gustea Hotel & Cucina Sarteano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing