We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceedingly attentive owners”
Review of La Torre ai Mari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Torre ai Mari
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sarteano
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceedingly attentive owners”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a very pleasant stay, made special by the couple who own the hotel and go the extra mile to help their guests with their arrangements. In our case, they found us a great place to visit in the surrounding region that we would otherwise have missed. The hotel is on top of a hill surrounded by pine trees and with a fantastic view over the surrounding region.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nahalliwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just returned home after a very enjoyable two weeks in La Torre ai Mari. We can't speak highly enough about this small treasure of a hotel which we would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in this area. We were really spoiled by the kindness of Rentato and Barbara who were our hosts. The hotel was a perfect base for us to explore Southern Tuscany and we did about half a dozen day trips to gorgeous places within very short drives. Pienza, Montepulciano, Montelcino and so on were all within a hop and easy to visit, leaving at a civilised hour and still be back with enough time to relax by the pool for the rest of the day.

The hotel is set in woods on a hillside and has a spectacular view over the surrounding countryside - ideal for people who want nature all around them. We enjoyed walking in the forest near the hotel and exploring the caves there (where St. Francis lived for a time). Although you are in such a quiet and beautiful place, it is still only 5 minutes from the pleasant town of Sarteano which seems to be a less touristy version of the other places we visited, mentioned above. As we were there for a long break, we dropped into town for pizza a few evenings but most evenings and a good few lunches we took in the hotel. The food was all good as was the wine and the menu included typical Tuscan items as well as a good variety of interesting specials that changed from night to night.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the service was charming. Renato speaks impeccable English and was able to advise us on everything from visiting the local hot spring baths to buying a train ticket to Rome for our day out there. Nothing was too much trouble. The vast majority of guests were Italian and there was a very pleasant atmosphere with everyone greeting each other at mealtimes and smiles all round. It seems that this hotel has not been discovered yet by the rest of the world which is surprising given how well located it is.

We were travelling with two children and all the staff were completely delightful to them (which makes all the difference) all in all a thoroughly enjoyable time was had by all of us and we are already counting the days until we can return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patjack67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mechelen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2009

The hotel is recently completely renovated in a very nice manner. The owners are very helpfull and friendly. There is a nice swimming pool waiting after you have made an excursion in the region. The restaurant was very good, there was a choice (à la carte) between a fish and a meat dish (a lovely starter (antipasto) - the first course (il primo) - the second course (il secondo) and a dessert (from the menu. The wines were very good at a reasonable price. The rooms were very clean and new. I would recommend the hotel for someone who wants to explore the region and who is looking for a comfortable and quiet hotel and who is a lover of lovely food and wine.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVMechelen36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We stayed at "La Torre" in July 2008. It is a lovely hotel in a restored old farmhouse and has completely been renovated in 2007-2008. We really had a great time there. The new owner is very helpful and friendly. He even helped to find a good hotel in Orvieto. The room was good and clean, with stunning views. The excellent restaurant focuses on seafood, so don't forget to order the seafood-menu. Delicious! We will definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Liked — Great ambience
  • Disliked — Relatively small bathroom (but OK)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Died
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

I have just spent a week at this lovely property in Tuscany with my husband, daughter, son-in-law and 2 grandsons aged 3+ and 15 months.
The owners, Mauro and his wife Stella, are charming.

The house, a converted Tuscan farmhouse, is very attractive and comfortable. We had a generously sized room and bathroom and our older grandson slept with us in a very smart matching sofa bed.
Our daughter's room was not quite as big a double as ours and was reduced in size by having a cot in it, but they had wonderful views and it was perfectly adequate.

On the plus side, the food was excellent and we were glad to have opted for half board. Wines were very reasonably priced. There was an abundance of fresh fruit at both breakfast and dinner.
On the minus side, there were no arrangements for young children to eat earlier than the normal dinner time of 8 pm, which caused my daughter some stress. The owners were very good at heating up ready- prepared food and milk for the younger one, but it was a hassle she could have done without. Having a 3 yr old at dinner was also less relaxing for the young couple than it might have been.

The setting is very tranquil and the grounds are extensive. There is a play area for children, an area for playing bowls, a tennis court and a swimming pool. Be warned - we are quite hardy but the pool is unheated and not exactly warm!

The hotel is reasonably priced. In addition, Mauro did not charge us for a room booked for my sister, which was cancelled at a very late date as her husband is very ill, nor did he charge us for dinners not taken on 2 evenings. Generous people.

An excellent base for exploring Montepulciano, Pienza, Siena and trying the thermal baths in the area.

  • Liked — Our room
  • Disliked — cold swimming pool
  • Tips/Secrets — try restaurant La Fattoria, Chiusi
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grannymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarteano
0.9 mi away
Albergo Roberta
Albergo Roberta
#1 of 5 in Sarteano
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Lanterna
Hotel La Lanterna
#4 of 5 in Sarteano
97 reviews
3.2 mi away
Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca
#1 of 10 in Chiusi
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rosati
Hotel Rosati
#2 of 10 in Chiusi
187 reviews
9.4 mi away
Fonteverde
Fonteverde
#1 of 3 in San Casciano dei Bagni
943 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parco delle Piscine
Parco delle Piscine
#1 of 13 in Sarteano
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Torre ai Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Torre ai Mari

Property: La Torre ai Mari
Address: Via Dei Mari 31 | Per raggiungere via Dei Mari transitare da Via Monte Bianco, 53047 Sarteano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sarteano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sarteano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Torre ai Mari 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a reconstructed farmhouse set in the woods and recently has been completely renovated. On the ground floor, past the reception, one enters the spacious cocktail bar with verandah and panoramic restaurant. On the first and second floor are ten double rooms and four single rooms.Also available ample parking area, tennis court, outdoor bowling alley and a swimming pool with solarium.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your La Torre ai Mari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Torre Ai Mari Sarteano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing