We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agriturismo La Sovana
Ranked #2 of 9 Sarteano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Sovana for 6 days at the end of October, 2013, just before they closed for the winter months. It may have been a bit chilly to enjoy the beautiful pool but it was perfect timing to watch how they harvest both the olives and grapes...both of which surround the property. The olives are processed on the property and we were able to watch the entire "production line" and sample the oil as it headed to the bottling.

Two Belgian couples joined us along with the co-owner to a wine-tasting at their winery along which included a tour of the facility. We had a great time and became friends since both couples were staying at La Sovana for an extended period.

I booked La Sovana based upon the strength of the reviews at Tripadvisor and other travel review sites. But I was a bit concerned about being away from civilization. I needed not to worry! A kilometer down the road toward Chiusi right at the Autostrada entrance is an entrance to a mall that contains, among other things, the largest grocery/general merchandise store I have seen in Europe. Of course there are clothing stores and a restaurant/coffee shop along with many other stores.

A very short drive from La Sovana and you are in Montalcino, Montepulciano, Pienza, Sarteano and Chiusi. Chianciano, a spa town, is halfway between La Sovana and Chiusi and has some really nice up-scale shops. It also has the best gelato in Italy...look on the left for a big ice cream cone among a string of stores as you start to drive into the town.

La Sovana is a family run operation. That includes the gourmet restaurant in which both the owner and his wife actively participate in creating amazing means. One evening we had an asparagus soup (I am not fond of asparagus) that made me rethink my aversion to the vegetable, a wide noodle filled with a huge amount of porchini mushrooms and a sauce that was unique and thin slices of filet topped with fresh white truffle that the owner, Giuseppe, proudly grated on each plate as he went around the restaurant greeting his guests. The wines and olive oil are, of course, from La Sovana cellars.

The guest rooms are large, modern and spotless. There is communal space to sit and read in front of the fireplace or overlooking the pool. In short, this is a wonderful place to get away from it all and still be near enough to civilization and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bedfordnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

this wonderful piece of paradise in the heart of the Tuscan countryside will suit any couples looking for a restful relaxing break. You are actually staying on a wine estate owned by the Olivi family who have built and maintained the beautilly equipped and maintained villas and apartments.. We had a delightful time and felt part of the family as we ate together with other guests in the dining room at breakfast and for dinner enjoying sumpteous food and wine. So much to commend this place. You need a car and you need to stay in to eat at night as its too far to go anywhere on these treacherous Italian roads with the maniacal drivers at night. During the day there are any number of wonderful cities to visit such as Montepuliciano and Pienza. At La Sovana the staff are exceptional but Firorella is the best. She cant do enough and speaks and understands English and other languages perfectly

Room Tip: Just ask ghe staff there are ground level and first floor choices and larger apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidAPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our first week in Italy was spent at La Sovana. It was such a great location from the beautiful accommodations and grounds, to the food and service. The location was perfect for day trips to Sienna and Florence.The rooms were very spacious with beautiful bathrooms. The wine tasting was included and very enjoyable. The best was the food. It was unbelievably good. I have never tasted steak like the way they make it. We had breakfast every morning which was a nice arrangement of breakfast food but not overdone. We had 3 dinners and they were all fantastic.
You truly will not make a mistake by booking at La Sovana.

Room Tip: Room 23 has a small patio with table and chairs. The entrance is away from the main walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at La Sovana for four days in late May 2013 and we absolutely loved it!

The property is stunning - the buildings have been beautifully restored and the views are out of this world. We were in Room 18 - strongly recommend this room if you can get it. The bedroom was large with two windows looking over the property; the bathroom was updated and spacious and there is a second small bedroom that we used to store our bags - it had another window!

We signed up for dinner three out of the four nights and every meal (four courses) was delicious. The dinner is served in a beautiful extended room that is all windows with lovely vistas. The dinners were slow paced and accompanied by either the wonderful selection of wines produced by their winery or other local vintages.

The pool area is gorgeous; although the water was too cold when we were there in late May.

Breakfast was delicious - great selection of meats, eggs, pastries, fruit and juices.

Overall, we absolutely loved this place and would recommend to anyone, without hesitation.

Room Tip: Request room 18 if you can get it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We recently spent a week in Tuscany, and our first night was at the Agriturismo La Sovana. It was actually a last minute decision, as we were supposed to spend one more night in the Cinque Terre but at the last second decided to add one additional day to Tuscany instead. I found this agriturismo through Booking.com and based on the lovely photos and good reviews I decided to go ahead and book.

All of our other villas/agriturismos were heavily researched, so this was probably the location that I actually had the least expectations about. But upon our arrival to this gorgeous property our expectations were completely surpassed. Everything about our experience was absolutely perfect.

- Room: They gave us a 2-bedroom suite which was absolutely massive (only used one of the rooms, but was still nice to be able to put our belongings in the smaller room to keep ours nice and clean). It had a wood-beamed ceiling, gorgeous antique furniture, and the VIEW! Two windows looked out onto the Tuscan countryside, seeing vineyards, hills, and roads lined with cypress trees as far as the eye could see. There was also a beautiful French door surrounded by ivy which when opened reminded me of Romeo and Juliet :)

- Restaurant: Typically I am always a little apprehensive about eating at a hotel restaurant, only because I find them overpriced and lacking in quality many times. However, this was completely changed after staying in Tuscany! We decided to dine at the agriturismo's restaurant, and again our expectations were absolutely blown out of the water. We ate in a restaurant surrounded by windows overlooking the gorgeous property, pool, and countryside. The servers were sweet and professional. The four course meal changes daily (I believe it was 38E/person, not including drinks) but they are also accommodating to dietary restrictions. I wasn't able to eat the entree (duck in a local berry sauce - but my boyfriend said it was probably one of the more delicious things he had eaten the entire trip) so they made me a beautiful caprese salad with burrata mozzarella cheese, perfectly ripe tomatoes, fresh basil, and olive oil. I have found that capreses can vary from absolutely awful to total perfection, and this was definitely on the perfect end of the spectrum. Our primi was a housemade spinach and ricotta ravioli, light, delicate, and delicious. The secondi was turkey breast with orange sauce which was absolutely succulent. Dessert was a light strawberry pastry, the perfect way to end the meal. It was honestly one of the top three meals of our entire trip, and breakfast was equally as amazing!

- Property: From the moment you drive down the tiny road lined with cypress trees that leads to the agriturismo you know you have found somewhere special. The property was absolutely stunning, filled with fruit and olive trees, a gorgeous pool surrounded by luxurious lounge chairs, couches, and umbrellas (a great place to sip a glass of wine before and/or after dinner), two tennis courts, a little fishing pond, and beautiful gardens. Surrounding the property is a vineyard and then further on the hills of Tuscany! I loved waking up at sunrise and getting lost on the little country roads around the agriturismo. It was truly quintessential Tuscany and exactly what we were looking for.

- Service: The hotel was very responsive with all my questions prior to the trip. We arrived late due to an issue with our rental car and although we had missed the cutoff to make dinner reservations they were able to accommodate our request, as well as help us get a taxi the next morning.

Overall we were absolutely satisfied by our stay at La Sovana. Our only complaint was that we weren't able to spend more time there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyms619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

La Sovana was a real find for a week's stay in Tuscany. The place was immaculate, the room, the grounds, the pool, and all the common areas. It was as close to renting a villa as one could get. Very relaxing atmosphere. The food was excellent, well prepared and delicious and they accommodated my wife's GF issues without a problem. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with a good variety of fresh meats, rolls, and pastries. For me the aged prosciutto sliced thin every morning by Giussepi, the owner, was a real treat, especially tasty with the ripe melon. Dinners were a feast with the highlight being the steak Florentine, thick steaks prepared on a fire grill, cooked medium rare, then sliced thin off the bone, drizzled with the house olive oil, black pepper and grated truffles, truly outstanding. Meals were not inexpensive but portions were extremely generous and seconds available, if you still had room where to put it, so in my opinion a good value. Wine selection was excellent, with the emphasis on the wines made on the estate. We happily drank the estate wines, exceptional wines that paired well with the food offered. My personal favourite was Tempore. The dinner menu was posted daily and guests are required to sign up if they were attending dinner that evening, simple but effective system. The staff work extremely hard making sure the guests are well taken care of at breakfast and dinner (be generous with your end of stay tip). If you choose not to eat at the resort there are great dining options available in Chiusi or Sarteano both only five minutes away. Our room was spacious and luxurious. The king size bed nice and firm with a luxuriously appointed bathroom. Only minor quibble was that the sprinklers woke us up every morning, a fair trade for the beautiful gardens and grounds surrounding the buildings. Take advantage of the wine tasting offered, Cantine Olivi produces some outstanding wines and olive oil which they are justifiably proud of. Overall a fantastic place to stay and would do so again without hesitation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I came across this place on a website devoted to recommending accommodation in Tuscany for families who wanted refinement, relaxation and quality in a child friendly environment. La Sovana has all this in abundance. From the moment the lovely Fiorella greeted us on arrival we just knew we had struck gold! Our two rooms (we didn't have the apartment option which has catering facilities and a dining room/lounge area) were accessed from a main front door into a small lobby area. Each room also had its own lockable door (which may need disabling if you have very young children!!). The rooms are traditionally furnished but have very well equipped modern bathroom suites with an excellent shower. The beds may cause some to complain - ours was rock hard and gave my wife some sleepless nights. There is also a small fridge in the room. Aircon works well was appreciated when the temperatures hit the high 30s. Outside the apartment was a private terrace with a table and chairs and very comfy lounges.
The pool area and surrounding gardens are very well maintained and you can enjoy some great views across the vineyards from the jacuzzi and poolside recliners. However, you wont get too comfortable on the recliners - they are metal and could really do with some foam padding! Poolside drinks are available all day from the hard working and very friendly waiting staff.
Our first Sunday we had a welcome drink and barbecue meal which was a great way to get to know people, though don't expect to see too many English families. The majority were German, Dutch and Belgian and looking back through the visitor book that pattern is repeated.
The food was excellent throughout our stay. The menu is published every morning and you can opt in up to one o'clock. We ate in about 50% of the time and were never disappointed. The food was wonderfully presented and excellent quality. The wines are from the family's own vineyards (there is a free tour on offer every few days) but they also offer a selection of some of the other local specialities (Brunello do Montelcino, Vino Nobile do Montepulciano etc).
In addition to the pool, there are two tennis courts, a small playground for very young children, a boules pit, lovely gardens to stroll round in, a small fishing lake, plenty of walks and also some mountain bikes to use. I feel one useful addition for older children would be a table tennis table. There are recommendations available for vineyards to visit and restaurants to enjoy. They even do laundry - though this is really an emergency measure only as €18 gets your clothes washed, but not totally dry or ironed!

My overall memory of La Sovana will be the very welcoming owners, the very friendly staff and the generally relaxing feel of the place. They really do all they can to make you feel at home. I certainly came back from this break totally chilled. I would love to visit again if we could guarantee meeting an equally lovely family to the one we met on this visit.

Room Tip: Speak to Fiorella - she speaks both English and Italian and was so helpful to us from the initial bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sennockred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarteano
1.8 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Santa Chiara
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rosati
Hotel Rosati
#2 of 10 in Chiusi
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca
#1 of 10 in Chiusi
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ai Lecci in Centro
Ai Lecci in Centro
#1 of 9 in Sarteano
135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Buche Wine Resort & Spa
Le Buche Wine Resort & Spa
#2 of 13 in Sarteano
26 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Gustea Hotel & Cucina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo La Sovana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo La Sovana

Address: SP 478 Sarteano 1.6 km, 53047 Sarteano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sarteano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sarteano
Price Range: £84 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the enchanting scenery of the Tuscan hills, nestled between the green of the Valdichiana Valley and the impressive panorama of the Val d'Orcia, here stands our La Sovana Country Relais. A small corner of paradise in an area of 22 hectares that will offer a peaceful stay. Peace and relaxation a step away from this fascinating ancient history of the places that surround it. Our family, who runs the hotel since 1992, is ready to welcome in the respect of the traditional Tuscan style. In this spectacular setting of these stone houses with wooden beams and terracotta, you can also enjoy local dishes expertly prepared by Giovannella and her staff who choose every day the high-quality materials, with a great care for organic products from our orchard and at zero kilometer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Agriturismo La Sovana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo La Sovana Hotel Sarteano
Agriturismo La Sovana Sarteano, Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing