We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday at Casa Sarteano!”

Review of Casa Sarteano

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Sarteano Bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Casa Sarteano
Bedroom 2
Sarteano
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Entrance
Outside Entrance
Swimming Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Sarteano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen B
Venice, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday at Casa Sarteano!”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in September 2014

We visited Casa Sarteano for a week back in September 2011. The apartment is situated in an old castle over the Archaeology Museum, which displays an array of Estruscan art and paintings. The apartment is very spacious and comfortable with two bedrooms, The bathroom and kitchen are well supplied with the necessary items. The apartment is centrally located in the town within walking distance to a number of great restaurants, the food and wine are usuperb. The butcher shop just down the street and the pasta shop just minutes away are wonderful. The open market was a delight. We parked our car just outside the old town a few minutes from the apartment, but took daily trips to Montepuiciano, Chiusi, Siena and Pienza, where we enjoyed the sights and scenery of the beautiful countryside. This is a wonderful opportunity to visit an old town and enjoy the Itlian culture. Hope to return again soon to Casa Sarteano. Thank you for a great holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPNR2002
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful introduction to the Italian countryside!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in September 2014

The owner and his family ensured we were greeted and well settled in before they bid us farewell. They were also very accommodating to address any concerns we had. The apartment was suitable for four adults and was well equipped. The only challenge for four adults was having only one bathroom but as family we managed well. The kitchen was small but functional. The location of the apartment was brilliant being close to many locations, as well as, the train station which provided access to Rome, Florence, etc. The town was a wonderful quaint location with several good restaurants and grocery stores. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Sarteano and would most definitely return again. Excellent value for a well appointed and clean apartment in a charming town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location to so many tourist attractions and the quaint town of Sarteano
Liked least: One bathroom for four adults
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We work hard to make sure our guests have memorable time in our special place in Tuscany. We look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoEl75044
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spacious apartment in charming town of Sarteano”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in October 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 weeks in Casa Sarteano in the fall of 2010. The owner's sister was close by in a neighboring town. The apartment is on the 3rd floor near the main square.
We really enjoyed having the fireplace for evening fires and a living room, dining room, kitchen and 2 bedrooms. The apartment was very clean and well appointed. Since we stayed for 3 weeks, we quickly adapted to life in Sarteano. The villagers are very friendly and welcoming. We had daily visits to the main cafe for breakfast and coffee. By the 3rd day we were considered "regulars" by the barista. Our favorite restaurant was Da Gagliano, just a few
steps from the door to the apartment building. We also enjoyed shopping the Friday market. The roasted chicken and roasted potatoes were wonderful. We became regulars at the butcher shop, kitchen/hardware store and the pasta shop as well as the pub. My husband even bought eye glasses at the optical shop after he thought he lost his original pair. The lady at the optical shop is the person that took us to the car pound after our car was towed because we were parked overnight on Thursday night in the designated Friday market area. It was our fault as the signage is very clear. We just forgot. Sarteano is a small but charming village whose residents are very kind to tourists. The location of the town is excellent. The owner's sister arranged for my husband to take watercolor classes from a well known artist in Cetona. She also arranged for a wine tour in Montepulciano and cooking classes from Pamela Sheldon Johns. I would not hesitate to recommend Casa Sarteano.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location in Sarteano
Liked least: In 2010 it did not have wifi. The only available wifi was at 1 specific table in the pub and sometimes in the main square.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rondi3
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“A very good base for exploring parts of Tuscany and Umbria”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here in September of 2010 for a week, and enjoyed it immensely. (Glad to see it listed on Trip Advisor) The apartment is very spacious, comfortable and well furnished. See the photos in the listing. Sarteano is close to the Autostrada so it is an excellent base for day trips to Lago Trasimeno, Chiusi, Siena, Montepulciano, and Pienza, for example. The town has a free parking area about two blocks from the apartment, and there are at least 6 good restaurants and a couple of nice pubs within a 5-minute walk.

The ground floor of the building houses a good archeological museum containing several fine Etruscan artifacts and an exceptional tomb fresco from nearby excavations.

We were greeted at our prearranged time of arrival by family member Francesca, who is a Canadian living nearby and who is fluent in Italian and English. She is a delight to deal with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irfecanad...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A charming apartment in a Sarteano Palace”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at this apartment (two couples) from September 20 to September 27 2008. This is a beautiful apartment in an old castle. An ample marble stair leads to the apartment. The apartment has two bedrooms, dining room ample living room and kitchen. All rooms with charming furniture and very nice decorations. There is also parking areas in close proximity to the apartment. Restaurants and shopping areas are at walking distance.
On the first floor of the castle is the Archaeology Museum displaying an array of Etruscan art and old wall paintings on the tomb underground.
Worth visiting in Sarteano is the Castle, and nearby hand craft and souvenir stores . Also there is a beautiful park with an excellent swimming pool to enjoy a hot day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the apartment in the center of the town. Walking distance to amenities
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam L
Fortuna, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Casa Sarteano: Comfort, Reasonable, Authentic!”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Casa Sartaeno for the month of May. It sits atop the local museum of Etruscan tombs. The building was built in the 1100's, but the modern comfort of the two bedroom, large dining room and lovely little living roomed house was as charming as they come! Tastefully decorated, my daughter and I stayed here as a home base while traveling around the Tuscany region enjoying the lovely wineries, beautiful countryside, and the incredible fabulous food we found in every village. Sartaeno was a perfect home base, being halfway between Rome and Florence. Each city was just a short train ride away. We took cooking classes from Pamela Sheldon Johns in the nearby township of Montepulciano, a must if you visit the area! We made several pastas, sauces, and shared a complete meal with dessert at the end of our day's class. Sartaeno has several very fine restaurants with very reasonable prices! The local pubs were fun, serving up free happy hour appetizers and a jovial atmosphere daily. The small town also has a lovely Olympic size swimming pool that you can enjoy for a small fee. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and look forward to returning to this amazing little town, it's friendly people, and Casa Sartaeno. We were treated well by the owners, and they were available and just one town away if anything was needed. Great place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“March break with the family ”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in March 2014

Out stay at Casa Sarteano was the highlight of our family trip to Italy. We used Casa Sarteano as our home base as we travelled to the many hill towns in the area including day trips to both Florence and Rome. The house itself is very comfortable and very well equipped. The furnishings are all excellent and everything you can possible need is either there or right at your fingertips. Our hosts provided us with many suggestions on what to do and where to go and even assisted with planning a very special wine tour. If you are a fan of the Twilight movies this is a must do. Sarteano is a wonderful town and you almost don't want to leave. There is a great little market right downstairs where we had our lunches prepared for our road trips. The Pizzeria at the bottom of the street serves the best pizza I've had and their prices can't be beat. We really enjoyed the cafe's in the piazza. The whole experience was like something out of a movie! It's funny how even in as little as a week the local cafe and restaurant owners get to know you.
This is a place I will most certainly return to in the near future.
Thank you R and C for sharing your little piece of paradise with me and my family.
Ciao!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing