We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night stay in April 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi
Ranked #1 of 1 Gambellara B&B and Inns
Luxembourg
1 review
“4 night stay in April 2012”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in Veneto to visit nearby cities, villas and palazzi. We preferred to stay outside of town and decided on Palazzetto Ardi. The building (15th century) is very well restored to high standards, our large room (with ensuite bathroom and mezzanine) was impeccable. Furnishing in the common areas is very tasteful (a mix of rural and classical refinements - look out for the impressive, period, stone fireplace) The two hosts Michela and Carlo were very attentive and happy to discuss any topic. Michela prepared fine dishes (based on local and sometimes antique recipes), Carlo suggested nearby palazzi to visit and discussed his passion for jazz, wine and other topics. The grounds around the main building are very well kept (there is a beautiful garden and you can see some geese, hens, and surrounding vineyard, crops, orchards, etc.) On our departure, Michela gave us 2 pots of her home made preserves and a bottle of their wine (rosé).
This type of accommodation and this address in particular beats staying in town. It's a perfect way to visit the area, you can even fit in a day trip to Venice itself (...although the dense crowds of tourists there will quickly convince you that it is much more enjoyable to visit villas and pallazzi around Venezia at your own leisure).
We would certainly stay at Palazzetto Ardi again when visiting the region, it clearly fits the more discerning traveler.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASTLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
13
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Palazzetto Ardi is a beautiful 15th Century farmhouse that is almost fully self sufficient. It's owners Carlo and Michela are amazing and so welcoming. After being shown to my room I was given a tour of the farms stores and shown where they produce all their preserves and wine.
My bedroom was a beautiful ensuite, with a lovely double bed and fantastic bath. It was very warm and incredibly comfortable.
For dinner I was able to watch Michela make her fantastic home made pasta with ragu, and when I say fantastic I mean fantastic, nothing beats home made Italian pasta!
I was able to enjoy dinner with the family at their own dinner table, I really felt like I was a true member of the family.
With dinner I was able to enjoy Carlo's amazing wine, it is organic and an absolute must for anyone who stays here!
If you want an authentic Italian experience with a lovely family, great food and incredible wine then Palazzetto Ardi is the place for you! I could only stay one night but I wish it could have been a lot longer. A true must visit place for anyone wishing to see the real Italy!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ad114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We were booked to stay at Palazzetto Ardi as part of a business trip visiting Zonin wine estates in Italy. What a wonderful way to start our trip. We flew into Venice Airport and drove to Palazzetto Ardi - an easy drive. We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. Carlo and Michela were wonderful hosts and showed us around the farmhouse. We sat and talked with Carlo over a cup of espresso in the dining room before going to our delightful suite. That evening we enjoyed a family style meal of fresh produce from the farm and local producers. Breakfast is also a sheer delight to the senses! Alas our visit was way too short as we had to travel on to Tuscany. We will visit again for a vacation! :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We booked based on others' recommendations on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. From the moment that we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Carlo and Michela in their lovely old farmhouse. When one of us did not feel too well, we were given organic remedies - which worked! And every morning we sat in the beautiful dining room eating Michela's home made bread and preserves, and drinking Carlo's divine coffee. Both Carlo and Michela work so hard to look after their farm and to cook for their organic shop - they are such kind people. We tasted their wine, ate with them when we were too tired to go out, but we were not around for one of their famous blues evenings, sadly. Our apartment was a beautiful conversion in the old barn, with views over famland, and it was spotlessly clean. Each day we made day trips - to Verona (about 30 minutes), Vicenza (same), Venice (the train station at Lonigo is a short walk away) and Lake Garda. We had plenty of advice about where to go from Carlo which was very helpful. I hope one day we shall go again - and certainly can recommend it to anyone. Nick and Nazmoon.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Well positioned between Vicenza and Verona, and easily accessible from the motorway system. A working organic farm which prides itself on excellence and simplicity. Room was spacious and spotlessly clean with good comfortable bed. Breakfast, included in the price, is usually composed of breads and an assortment of jams made by owner, Michaela, plus fruits grown by Carlo and an array of organic cereals. Coffee is excellent too.

We came back most evenings for dinner which was a lovely communal affair with other visitors. Dinner is usually served at a long, grand table in the majestic dining room with 2 superb glass candelabra. Over a week we never had the same dish twice. Michaela makes dishes, usually from her own grown vegetables, home-made pasta or reared chickens and ducks and they are authentic traditional Italian dishes, often from recipes dating back to the 14th Century which she and Carlo have researched in the nearby agricultural museum, La Vigna, in Vicenza (worth a visit). This is the real thing - excellent food in lovely surroundings in a working farm with a family passionate about excellence in everything. I returned home laden with their bottled preserves, jams and some wine which can be bought from them direct or from their new shop in a nearby town. If you want to experience life with an Italian family on a farm with the highest culinary standards, it doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The food, accomodation and welcome at the organic Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi are unrivalled. Everything that the lovely owners, Carlo and Michaela ( with little daughter Flora ) do, is creative and beautiful and their organic produce label 'Entusiasmo', correctly evokes their dedication and energy for the cause. Michaela is a talented chef and all the food, except the meat, is homegrown and freshly made; wine, bread, pasta, fruit, vegetables,eggs. They have no olives but their friend's oil is lovely.

Meals are served at a long table with white linen tablecloths and chandeliers. Breakfast included homemade bread, wonderful peaches, apples, grapes,etc. organic cereals and often fresh apple or almond cake. We had wonderful dinners there every night - 3 delicious courses with lashings of wine. The one other place we tried was nowhere near as good and we didn't want to miss a mouthful of Michaela's food and Carlo's wine again. There is even a fresh spring which delivers the water ready cooled at 15 degrees.

We were lucky that the other guests were jewellery designers from around Italy attending the week long huge Vicenza Gold Festival, who were really good company. They are loyal supporters of the Palazzetto and come back every year.

Carlo and Michaela have recently opened a small shop in the nearby town of Lonigo, called Fresco Bio which sells all their Entusiasmo produce; jams, cherries in alcohol, tomato sauce, and fresh vegetables and other things. Carlo is also a jazz fiend and player. It is quite amazing what they manage to fit into their day.

Our room was huge and modern with a good ensuite.

We used the farm for a week and travelled 1,200 kms looking at Palladian villas, Venice and Verona, and whenever we returned, it felt like coming back home. I can't wait to go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I've done a lot of traveling over the years and this place has certainly topped the list. Beautifully rustic & picturesque it felt like something straight from a magazine. I was pretty much in awe my entire stay (May 3rd to 10th 2011). To start things off, the owners were incredible.  Super accommodating, kind, generous and laid back.  In fact, by the end of the first day, I felt like part of the family.

My room was fantastic. It was two stories with a King bed and modern bathroom on the ground floor and another King upstairs along with a sofa. It looked out over rows of grape vines and lush mountains in the distance.  

The grounds were beautiful: scattered with grape vines, rows of apple, pear, cherry, fig, peach, mulberry, hazelnut & apricot trees. In fact, it was cherry & mulberry season when I was there and the owners let me pick as much as I wanted from the trees every morning. That made my mornings.

The food was bliss! I ate all 3 meals there, even when I went into Verona for the day, they would pack me a lunch! Unbelievable - I felt like a kid again heading off to school for the day. Breakfast was always fresh-baked bread with their home-made jam(s) and in my case, cherries and mulberries. Lunches were usually a fresh-picked salad (and when I say fresh I mean like 15 minutes before eating!) lightly dressed with local olive oil and some of their home-made strawberry vinegar (yum!) followed by either risotto made with local rice and farm vegetables or their home-made pasta and sauce, again with farm vegetable and local cheese. Dinners were equally amazing and were varied. Oh, and of course I cannot forget about their home-made wine which tasted exquisite.

The location was awesome. Only a 10 minute walk to the nearest little town (Locara) which had all the essentials, (they have bikes to use). Also, I never had a car so was relying on the train for my travel. The Station, from farm-door to train-door was only a 15 minute walk away via quiet country roads. Then once at the station it was only only 30 minutes by to Verona and 20 minutes to Vicenza which are both beautiful cities. I really couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasonedVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gambellara
3.4 mi away
Best Western Soave Hotel
Best Western Soave Hotel
#1 of 2 in San Bonifacio
647 reviews
11.9 mi away
Agriturismo Le Vescovane in Villa Rende Savoia
2.3 mi away
La Fracanzana Hotel
La Fracanzana Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montebello Vicentino
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi

Property: Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi
Address: Via Ciron 4/5, 36053 Gambellara, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Vicenza > Gambellara
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gambellara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the best country house tradition our hospitality extends to offering accommodation too. Reasons for staying with us are varied: perhaps a tour of the art centres, the farm lies between Verona and Vicenza but Venice is not too far away either and thanks to the nearby railway station in Lonigo you can get there quickly with no traffic problems or worries about parking;it is possible to arrange a convertible classic car hire service by Sprintage Company.They will let you find a beautiful series of convertible classic cars in the Venice Airport. Detailed maps of the area for your tours around will be provided and for those on business just think of the Vicenza goldsmith exhibition area and tanneries and shows like Vinitaly at the Verona exhibition centre. We can also accommodate company conferences with space for up to about 30 people. The Palazzetto bedrooms For those who love the feel of bygone days then the choice is to opt for one of the two double rooms on the main residential floor of the old building with its huge beams and the square pattern wooden floors as well as antique furniture and tasteful furnishings not to mention the beautiful views of the countryside. Detail. Three suites have been made in the large space that was the hay loft. Each one has a double (or twin ) room with ensuite bathroom and a bright mezzanine floor which can be used as a living room or can sleep two other people. Both places have a certain charm, halfway between antique and modern, with antique furniture but also state of the art comfort and services: air conditioning, minibar and internet connection. In addition to the suites there is also a completely independent apartment, similar in atmosphere, with double room, living room, kitchen, TV area, bathroom and laundry. FOOD FOR SPECIAL OCCASIONS The setting is the great hall of the Palazzetto warmed by a huge fire in the large fireplace in winter, and kept cool in summer by its thick walls. Just the right kind of privacy for a special family occasion - birthday , baptism, anniversary - or for a special candlelit dinner, but also for a business lunch or dinner. Take your aperitif in the courtyard and dine off a menu which offers everything that is in season on the farm each day. Michela's cooking, flavoured with tradition and laced with imagination, produces rich yet light dishes, real flavours, refined combinations, dandelion risotto, tagliatelle and peas, eggs and asparagus, capon salad with herbs and flowers, duck with sweet fruit pickles. And of course washed down with their own wine and accompanied with Carlo's home made bread, made with organic flour and cooked in a wood-fired oven. TABLE IN THE LEAN -TO-BARN Alternatively, out in the orchard - garden or in the cool shade of the open arches. An informal "osteria" type atmosphere but with that slightly refined touch that is never out of place: modern white tables for the wine tasting, country style chairs, old style plates and glasses. The place to go when the better weather inspires you to take your children out into the country, to go on a bike ride or a motorbike ride in the hills but also when you need to celebrate someone's graduation or have a reunion of old friends, when wives or husbands are on holiday. Their own wine, the salamis, cheeses and the most delicious pickles served with polenta not to mention the terrine pate, fresh pasta, salads made even tastier with flowers and herbs, light boiled white meat. And then the dessert trolley and the Recioto dessert wine!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Palazzetto Ardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing