We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here if you want to sleep at night.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swieqi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gardenview Holiday Complex
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swieqi
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I am currently staying here and will be for another 4 weeks due to business. If i could move then BELIEVE ME i would. First off - The room. Basic is an understatement. There is furniture here older than me, Bathroom and Kitchen are disgusting.

Now to the sleep bit. It is over run with Students. They come alive at night wanting to party in each others rooms and run and shot about the place with no respect for other residents until the early hours. The in - house security guard is as usefull as a wet lettuce.

So trust me AVOID at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daza123Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2006

We stayed in 2003 for about 20 minutes. I had booked after viewing the website as our children (then 15 and 14) wanted to be closer to the nightlife - we usually stay in Mellieha. The reality was entirely different. As with the review written on Apr 25, 2006, we found the air-conditioning ineffectual. The room was tatty. We would have tolerated this for at least one evening (we had arrived at 22:00) but then we found a cockroach and then another and then we left. Reception used the cliché of "insects in hot countries" but this is the first time we had found insects in a room cleaned for new arrivals and we have visited Malta since 1980. Fortunately the Percius taxi office was still open so our party of four and luggage made for Mellieha and we found space at the Solana (which was excellent).

A few days later I found that the GHC had charged the credit card I had used for the deposit (I wrote-off the deposit) for three nights stay! Apparently this is a standard clause in package tour contracts but I was a direct booking. They would not refund the charge so I turned to the Malta Tourism Authority. Fortunately there was a history of email exchanges between me and GHC so the MTA officer had something to go on. MTA got in touch with GHC and a few days later I got a full refund of the extra charges.

Mellieha was delightful and we visit again in August.

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KFO'C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afenech, Manager at Gardenview Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2010

Dear Tripadvisor Users,

May I start by commenting that the client checked into the InterContinental hotel which is a 5***** hotel, whereas the Garden View is an independent 3*** aparthotel – the fact that the two types of accommodation are of different categories is already a reason for the difference in standard and service provided. However, having said this, the client is still entitled to a reasonably good standard of service and facilities at a 3*** aparthotel.

Garden View is not a backpackers place, it is a 3*** aparthotel however the vast majority of clients are aged between 20 and 35 years – mainly students at the University of Malta or studying English in Malta. We handle 100s of such clients per year, therefore, older people or families might find the place to be overwhelmingly frequented by younger people.

Over the years the building has undergone considerable construction works, and while we always do our best to minimise the inconvenience to residents this is not always 100% possible. However, works have now been completed and signs put in place.

With regards to the disctance to the centre, kindly allow me to comment that here the client submitting the review is absolutely WRONG. The distance from the Garden View to St. George’s beach is just under 1.2 km and one should be able to make it there on foot in 10 to 15 minutes Moreover, the bus passes just outside the Complex every 30 minutes.

Finally, please note that the accommodation is inspected annually by both MTA and Health and Safety officials and regularly maintained by a professional maintenance team.

The GV Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2006

There were 3 of us traveling and we thought it would be easier to have a 2 bedroom apartment rather than stay in a hotel - first bad decision. We booked this on the internet and when we got there we were amazed at how badly we had chosen! The taxi driver for a start was less than positive. This is definately a backpackers place. Faults there were many! The reception desk was very unenthusiastic, we had to search for the elevator with poor directions, they were doing some building work to a room opposite the elevator and had pushed a couch out into the hall so we couldn't get past with our bags, the fire exit had been roped off (now doesn't that make you feel safe?). The room itself was old and very tired, the beds were very lumpy, the A/C apparently only got turned on at night, and I am dubious as to how long it would be left on for, the kitchen/dining area was so small we had to shift the kitchen table and chairs in order to get our suitcases into the bedrooms, the sliding doors onto the balcony didn't shut properly and didn't lock. It was hideous and stinking hot! It says in all the advertising that it is 10 minutes to St Georges beach, it is a half an hour walk, and we don't walk slowly, in the middle of summer that isn't fantastic to say the least. There is a bus, but that is only once about an hour. And to top all that off, the 'Gardenview' that the apartment is named after is a small market garden across the road. Needless to say we didn't stay, we went down to St Georges and checked into the Intercontinental Hotel which was fabulous. Malta is such a wonderful island, beautiful, there is no point in staying in a dump like Gardenview!

5  Thank t00manyplacest0see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afenech, Manager at Gardenview Holiday Complex, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2010

Dear Tripadvisor Users,

Despite the fact that the comments were posted in 2006, we still feel that we have to provide our view for your benefit..

Since this review has been posted, Garden View is run in a very different way and although we are no 5-star hotel, I can safely say that we handle 100s of clients per year most of whom are very satisfied with the level of service experienced and the facilities available.

With regards to the points mentioned in the review:

• Air-conditioning functions at night and this is clearly stated in the website. Clients can pay an extra charge for 24-hour operation.
• With regards to the credit card refund, I do not recall the particular instance and a search through our records resulted in no particular exchange of communications with MTA officilals
• With regards to the insects, we sympathise with the client however a regular pest control schedule is in place and in the past years a considerable number of improvements have been implemented to eliminate the problem.

Thanks for your attention,

The GV Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marília V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tylerdurden21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eu gostei de ficar hospedado na casa de estudante, poque lá pude fazer vários amigos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prefira os quartos os quais não ficam com a sacada voltada para a avenida, e sim para a área da pisc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gardenview Holiday Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenview Holiday Complex

Address: Triq is-Sidra, Swieqi, Island of Malta SWQ 3150, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Swieqi
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Swieqi
Price Range: £21 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Gardenview Holiday Complex Hotel Swieqi
Gardenview Holiday Complex Malta/Swieqi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing