We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright. But yes, nice burgers. ”
Review of Marna Cafe

Marna Cafe
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Mandal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Marna Café is on the waterfront in Mandal. The restaurant has outside seating throughout the summer, both on a barge on the river and on the quayside terrace. The bar has possibly the largest selection of drinks in town, and the food menu is a crossover between American and Cajun. We can also offer a range of tapas dishes. The bestselling “Marna Burger” is a must-try classic! During the summer season there is outdoor entertainment from various artists, and the restaurant is also a great place to drop in for lunch when you’re in town. You can moor your boat right on the doorstep!
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Alright. But yes, nice burgers. ”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I went with my wife and two children. I ordered the Philly (house/Marna) burger, Mrs H ordered the pulled pork sandwich and my 6 and 9 year old shared the steak sandwich.

The burger was great. Cooked medium rare as I asked (you can't get this often now in the UK due to our 'we're here to protect you!' health officials), Mrs H's pulled pork was pretty good for this side of the Atlantic too. However...... how the chef could possibly have considered it appropriate to portion out two 5x4cm squares of steak on a similar size square of bread and charge the equivalent of £7.50 ( x 2 for each child) I seriously have no idea. We ordered chips too, thankfully.

I'm sure kids aren't its target clientele. We won't be returning.

Helpful?
Thank MarkHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Owner at Marna Cafe, responded to this review, 6 April 2015
Hi MarkHippo.

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the kids menu was disappointing to you. We try to be a restaurant for everyone, kids included, and we are very sorry your experience was not so good for your kids. On the other hand we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Phillystyle (our most popular dish) and the Pulled pork.

If you visit Mandal again, we hope you will visit us again.

Best regards
Thomas Magnussen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    42
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Crowded and good”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very good food, several others had the same opinion. The place was crowded and the service suffered a bit becsuse of that. Nice location at the sea.

Helpful?
Thank Olav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Owner at Marna Cafe, responded to this review, 6 April 2015
Hi Olav M.

Thank you for your review. It is very good to hear that you enjoyed our food. July is our busiest month, and even though we try our best to be fully staffed, it happen sometimes that we are put a little of guard. Hopefully your overall impression is still good, and our waiters/waitresses made you want to come back.

Welcome back!

Best regards
Thomas Magnussen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location and great food!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I was here with my wife mid-February for a trip with work. Mandal is a beautiful city, and it's nice that they have good restaurants as well.

Marina Café's location by the waterfront is lovely. The service was impeccable, even with a fully seated restaurant. The servers are attentive and polite, and spoke excellent English (unfortunately our Norwegian is effectively non-existent).

The portions are generous, very fresh and very tasty.

Highly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Leder  at Marna Cafe, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi Gary,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you were satisfied with your dining experience, and welcome you back if you are ever in Mandal.
Best wishes
Marna Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Easily the best restaurant (I tried) in Mandal”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Excellent proportions, wonderful staff, and the quality of the finished product is without equal in mandal. Do yourself a good turn with the fish soup

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eunomian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Leder  at Marna Cafe, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi Eunomian,
Thank you so much for your review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you liked our fish soup.
Hope to see you again!
Marna Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great pub with food worth it's money”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Marna's beautifully located on the water in Mandal, Norway. It's a small pub with great character and a cozy feel to it. The staff was very welcoming and their English excellent, they were happy to have a chat with a lonely foreigner in the bar for a while.

I had one of their burgers and it was excellent, prices in Norway might be sky high in general, but I felt happy paying what I did for it, that's all it takes for me to be happy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_Sloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Leder  at Marna Cafe, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi Adam,
Thank you for your review.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Marna Cafe.
We hope you will visit us again if you are ever back in Mandal!

Best wishes
Marna Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marna Cafe also viewed

Mandal, Mandal Municipality
Mandal, Mandal Municipality
 
Mandal, Mandal Municipality
Mandal, Mandal Municipality
 
Mandal, Mandal Municipality
Mandal, Mandal Municipality
 

Been to Marna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing