We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number one of the two hotels in Mandal...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kjobmandsgaarden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mandal
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Number one of the two hotels in Mandal...”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Small hotel in the center of Mandal. As always in Norway expensive in relation to what they deliver. Small hotel room, the size reminded me of some New York hotel rooms. Shower/wc use vacuum, rather noisy, like a cabin in a cruise ship. No clothes closet, just clothes hangers. Room was nice and clean. Only one key to the room. No fridge/minibar, instead we used the balcony (+3 centigrades and snow/rain) :-) Streetparking NOK18:-/hour or parking house NOK 60:-/24 h. Breakfast was ok, would be better if you had some more kinds of bread to choose from. Agree with "GaviotaGull": "breakfast room was decorated like an old fashioned grocery store", we liked it . All in all, ok for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
12
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is my second visit - both on business. The hotel has lots of character and is very well placed to enjoy the surrounding area. The food is excellent, both at dinner and breakfast. The rooms are well appointed and all if the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Based on location and price I was disappointed to find a very small room, devoid of any charm. The bathroom was small, but functional. The location was nice, however I wished I had known that the would be driving pylons for a new construction a block away - starting at 7:30.
Parking was a nuisance because one has to rely on street parking and parking meters at NOK 18/hour (approx. USD 3) during the day.
Breakfast was included and was very basic, but everything tasted good - especially the freshly baked bread. The breakfast room had a certain character because decorated like an old fashioned grocery store.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaviotaGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We had the apartment as we were a family visiting Mandal for a wedding, we were charmed by the hotel, the staff did everything they could for us, there were free refreshments all day including fantastic waffles and breakfast that was worth getting up early for. Only negatives were the curtains were too thin so it was broad daylight very early and the velux windows had no blinds so as soon as the sun came up the room was very light, this might be something that was specific to the apartment though, definitely worth a visit.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Here you will find yourself in an old merchants house now transferred to a hotel w a small restaurant and bar. The rooms are smalll but beds comfortable. Bathrooms are in need for some upgrading but works. Price level slightly above what u expect but again, this is Norway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akershus, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times during January 11..

First time i stayed there, with a college, we stayed in the apartment on the top of the hotel.
The apartment has 2 double bedroom's and a bed in th living room, so if you're a family traveling with kids this "room" is great!
The apartment has a ok kitchen and furniture. The bed in the main room is soft and good.

At my last stay, I stayed in one of the regular rooms. And this room was as expected with a bed, small sofa, and a desk. Not superb, and not bad. Just what I needed..

In both rooms, there was a rather good shower with high pressure and plenty of hot water.

The combined resturant/bar/lounge i cosy, good breakfast and great dinner.
I had some of the best catfish i haven't prepared myself at this restaurant.

The hotel is close to the sea, and if you like fish you should try the fish menu!

The staff is helpful, polite and nice to the guests. If you're staying for more then one night they starting to know that you want beer instead of wine to the dinner etc. I like that.
In total there probably 12 rooms and the apartment, so that explains the personal touch by the service.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandal
11.6 mi away
Lindesnes Havhotell
Lindesnes Havhotell
#1 of 1 in Spangereid
115 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tregde Ferie
Tregde Ferie
#1 of 1 in Tregde
43 reviews
16.3 mi away
Paulsens Hotell
Paulsens Hotell
#1 of 3 in Lyngdal Municipality
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Rosfjord Strandhotell
Rosfjord Strandhotell
#2 of 3 in Lyngdal Municipality
114 reviews
21.3 mi away
Sjoglott Hotel
Sjoglott Hotel
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
92 reviews
21.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kjobmandsgaarden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kjobmandsgaarden Hotel

Property: Kjobmandsgaarden Hotel
Address: Store Elvegate 57, Mandal 4517, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Mandal Municipality > Mandal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mandal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kjobmandsgaarden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kjobmandsgaarden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing