We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downhill.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tjome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I´ve had the pleasure of staying at Engø, several times over the last 10 years. My last visit just a couple of weeks ago. I am sad to say – the quality is not anywhere near what it used to be.

Staff is at times unprofessional, lacking the oversight and attentiveness that professional staff must have, in this segment.Plenty of mistakes are made and several staff members behave like if they were working an average cafeteria – not in a high class, high cost luxury resort, with a reputation for quality.

The food is still good, but not anywhere close to what we experienced during previous visits. During our lates visit, all five courses were served nearly cold, – on cold plates(!) Completely unacceptable.

A single espresso, ordered at the bar, sat on the counter for a good minute, while the waiter talked on the telephone – only to be served..... cold.

Sorry Engø – not good enough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

What a perfect location for a retreat from a hectic everyday life. Total relaxation, a cosy atmosphere, excellent food and wine, great service - we really felt welcome at Engø. This was value for money - not a budget stay, but well worth it! We´ll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Engø. We were alittle bit afraid that the quality of food and service had gone down since our last stays because there have been a big change in the people who work there.

We didn't have to worry!:-) We had a really great stay and the food and atmosphere were still fantastic.

What was better:
Dinner - even better with more unusual dishes.
Breakfast - ahhhh we were spoilt with better bread and everything made from scratch.

What was not so good:
Afternoon tea - missed the caramel souse
Service - before we went to our table (we were 8 having birthday party) there were one annoying waiter who tried to push caviar on us "100" times. Quite annoying. We also missed the danish headwaiter from our last stay. He made a difference.

All in all a fantastic stay again, and we will go back. Stayed in "Store Engø" room this time. Nice room, but I really like the normal Engø room Årstidene.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lommedalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 2 children for two nights at the end July 2013 when attending a wedding of a close friend. From the minute we arrived we felt relaxed and spoilt. We stayed in a little 'cottage' room called "Frithjof" which was beautiful and full of charm and character. It was close to the reception, restaurant / bar and pool so was perfect.
The food, drink and service we received was of the highest quality throughout our stay... The breakfast buffets were simply amazing, (so much choice, so fresh and such high quality), the smoked salmon was just out of this world. The food / wine we had for the wedding dinner was also of the highest quality and presentation.

During the wedding we were looked after by a guy called Pierre (who in my opinion is a major asset for the Hotel, as was the barman... A British guy called Rob.) That said all the staff were first class and did the hotel proud.

We used the pool and sauna which was lovely and rode the hotel bicycles down to the Fjord and around the grounds.

Probably one of the most memorable two nights / days I've stayed at a 'European' Hotel and I hope to return one day... Keep it up Engo Gard!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Once upon a time, right after I knew I would be getting married, I got to see an ad for Engø gård on Facebook. It was the only wedding venue we looked at, I knew it would be perfect. It was. We stayed here during the last weekend in June, Friday to Sunday. We got married on Saturday and except for the weather - it was the only day for weeks it had to pour - everything was perfect.

On Friday night we had dinner with my family and maid of honor. It was so much fun - we got to eat things I didn't even know you could it, such as squid ink chips or dried sea weed. Every bite was an exquisite explosion of taste. We were supposed to have only three courses, but the dishes came and went in flurry and there were a lot more. In comparison, the wedding dinner, although excellent, was not quite as wonderful. Perhaps the magic had worn off a bit.

I did not have time to enjoy the wonderful indoors swimming pool and sauna all that much, but next time I go there, I surely will. There will absolutely be a next time at Engø, my husband and I have solemnly vowed to return at least once a year to relive the place where we got married.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filtex77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We spent a couple of nights at Engo Gard as a couple. It is like a little hamlet of old buildings in a lovely quiet position with a view of the water. The room was nicely furnished in a country style and the grounds well tended without being over-manicured. The breakfast was excellent and we had dinner one night -,a creative, delicious treat (but pricey, like most eating out in Norway). The most striking thing was how friendly and engaging the staff were throughout our stay. This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I stay in a lot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pardos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Can be recommended for business as well.
Location is perfect. Surroundings just charm and culture. Hotel and restaurant etc.
with a modern and at the same time, old traditional style. Food?: There should be a Michelin-delegation here very Quick.

If you are tired of fjords and mountains: this is the best place for a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tjome
2.9 mi away
Scandic Havna Tjome
Scandic Havna Tjome
#2 of 2 in Tjome
171 reviews
15.2 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 5 in Larvik
1,097 reviews
9.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
7.1 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
547 reviews
20.6 mi away
Sjoemilitaere Samfund
Sjoemilitaere Samfund
#1 of 4 in Horten Municipality
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Gamle Engoevei 25, Tjome 3145, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Tjome Municipality > Tjome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tjome
Price Range: £151 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at Engo Gard is an unparalleled experience. Set in a beautiful natural location, amid historical buildings, and with a marvelous sense of well-being and culinary delights, we offer you an atmosphere guaranteed to give you peace of mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engo Gard Oslo
Engo Gard Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing