We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a maritim envoirement, with Spa and indoors pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Havna Tjome
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tjome
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel in a maritim envoirement, with Spa and indoors pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Visited this hotel to celebrate a friend's 50 years birthday. Rented a connection room and found that exellent. They have activities for children, a playroom, mini-disco from 19-20
A bar and two restaurants. One of the restaurants where on the pier. the other indoor with views to the pier. Very good food at both restaurants (same kitchen?) You can rent small rooms and apartments. Was very pleased with the stay. pleasant staff. The children took a bath in the indoor pool and on the nearby beach (3 minutes walk along ther pier). Looses a star from me because of no AC. Dont know if appartments have AC

Room Tip: Choose a room at the end of the building, Away from the reception ( less risk of noise) The appartm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rica_Havna_Hotel, Resepsjonssjef at Scandic Havna Tjome, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Google Translation
Tusen takk for hyggelig tilbakemelding. Så hyggelig at dere hadde et bra opphold hos oss i sommer.

Det er ventilasjonsanlegg i leilighetene.

Velkommen tilbake!

Med vennlig hilsen
Toni Karlsen
Hotellsjef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    61
    29
    16
    11
See reviews for
42
34
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I went there for a business conferences. It is a very nice hotel with comfortable rooms and a pleasent staff. The hotel is down by the water side, with a anchoring for small boats right outside.
The food quite good, as well.

Room Tip: If you are a family or a group of friends travelling together, this hotel can also offer small apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rica_Havna_Hotel, Resepsjonssjef at Scandic Havna Tjome, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Google Translation
Hei,

Takk for hyggelig tilbakemelding.
Velkommen tilbake!

Med vennlig hilsen
Toni Karlsen
Hotellsjef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The thing that makes this place is the scenery and the position. The hotel is actually built into the rocks and they have been used as natural features in the restaurant which looks out over a part of Oslofjord that's so pretty the King of Norway has a hut nearby apparently.

Food was good, restaurant and bar staff, reception staff, everything fine. I was on my own and had a great conversation with the piano player until about 4 am.

There's a spa (I didn't use) and crazy golf (I didn't use). That's basically it. Would I go again? Yes ... for the great position.

You tend to get quite a "bang for your buck" in Norwegian hotels compared to the dross you often find in the UK where you get the impression the management are trying to squeeze the last .5 of a mm of wear out of the carpet before they renovate the place.

Yes. The standard of hotels in Norway is generally high and there will be many as good as this one but the position. Go and find it on google earth or find some pictures.

I stayed in the hotel but they have apartments and huts and a campsite nearby as well. It would be a great place to go in summer with the kids and isn't far from Sandefjord Torp (Oslo) airport served by scheduled flights from flag carriers and budget airlines.

I actually think there's more to do here than in Oslo which pretty quickly feels like any other capital city ... like people who think all the UK is like London, all France is like Paris etc.. All nice places but .. this place is fab. If you have a boat, they have a marina ... well you could chuck a stone into the fjord from the bar balcony and the restaurant. If you've been on a boat for a week and want a proper bed, clothes washing facilities and to stock up on supplies from the nearby Tjome "village". the hotel has bikes to hire (not sure if they're free actually ... for guests)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScrubyDru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location is this hotel's absolute biggest advantage, with the harbour right outside and a nice little beach a very short walk away. Gourgous place. Very family friendly. There is also a playground, minigolf and other activities for kids on the premises. My four year old had a great time fishing crabs and starfish from the pier.
The hotel itself and the food is more average. We stayed there during summer and with no air con and no fan, our room was unbearably hot. Had to sleep with the door to the patio open all night long to be able to sleep at all. The fod was okey, but not very exciting or innovative, a bit more flavour would have been very much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Given that this hotel has two floors and no bellman, those assigned to the second floor have to do the best they can with their luggage. With no fans and no air-conditioning, we had a couple of pretty uncomfortable nights during our stay. The TV in our room was broken and no one seemed able to fix it during our two and a half days at the hotel. Overall, I found the staff to be adequate but not overly helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmonysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toensberg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here for a conference and found the whole experience average

This hotel is a typical conference hotel during winter as the area is a very different and busy place during summer. Its a typical summer destination that is dead in the winter.

Its situated right next to a marina and the restaurant and bar is overlooking the marina and the local harbor area. (No large vista of the sea since there are some island just across from the marina.)

I distinctly got the feel that the hotel is a summer resort and tries to get some business during winter doing conferences.

The conference facilities was as expected with the usual AV equipment, only issue was that our room was divided by a partition so were somewhat disturbed by the meeting in the "other room"

The food was good, but the breakfast is typical Rica fare. When will they learn that one small strip of bacon placed on an egg is not enough! It says in their PR material that the breakfast is made in consultation with The Norwegian Olympic Team, perhaps thats why the limit us from bacon (but why not the sausages I ask?) Other than that the food was good, with a nice lunch buffet.

My main issue was with the bed in my room. It felt like the cheaper IKEA beds (I did not check) where you can hear and feel the springs. I woke up several times during the night because of this. To be fair most of my colleagues said that they were very happy with their night so it might be me thats too much of a "princess on the pea"
It was not a double bed in the room but two single beds, I did not check to see if they could be put together. Again it feels like something that is useful for two friends on vacation rather than one person on conference.

The room was clean with the normal selection of amenities.

The hotel also uses a vacuum toilet system that is quite loud, you will hear when the room over you flush.

The staff was courteous and friendly.

No rating on location as this is subject to season and what you are looking for. Its on the tip of the Tjøme archipelago, very picturesque but not directly accessible (about 20-30 minutes by car from Tønsberg) Very nice during summer, quite during winter.

Did not use the spa or exercise facilities, the pool or room service.

Bottom line:
Apart from the bed in my room I go nothing really to complain about. Felt like a summer resort that does conferences during winter. Not bad but not exceptional.
Location is great for a summer stay, and conditional during winter.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and the reception was busy, so check-in took a while. Despite having rung the day before and asked for connecting rooms for our party it emerged that we had been allocated rooms on different floors. Luckily the receptionist managed to find connecting rooms for us and the problem was solved. The bed-settee had to be made up for our children though and we had to wait for several hours for this to happen. Despite these initial irritations we had a great weekend here. The breakfast buffet is superb and the hotel itself is in a fantastic location right by the water's edge. The superior room was big enough for 2 adults and 2 children unlike some hotels where this is a tight-squeeze. The restaurant is ridiculously expensive for an evening meal however the bar does offer more reasonably priced light meals as an alternative. The only comment I would make to visitors who are not familiar with the area is that this hotel is isolated- the centre of Tjøme is a short drive away and it is here you need to go if you don't want to eat at the hotel. There is a small outdoor play area for small kids, mini- golf and tennis court on site.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duntiblaesnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tjome
2.8 mi away
Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant
7.6 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
24.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Skaergaarden
7.6 mi away
Hotel Kong Carl
Hotel Kong Carl
#3 of 5 in Sandefjord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Havna Tjome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Havna Tjome

Property: Scandic Havna Tjome
Address: Havnaveien 50, Tjome 3145, Norway (Formerly Rica Havna Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Tjome Municipality > Tjome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tjome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Havna Tjome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Havna Tjome is ideally located at the waterfront and is surrounded by beautiful scenery with opportunities for recreation and outdoor activities. Our restaurant and bar offers a top class dining with a beautiful view over the quay. There is a lunch buffet and a la carte menu for both lunch and dinner. We can arrange meetings, conferences and events in beautiful venues with views of the surroundings that can accommodate up to 200 participants. You can work out in the gym then retreat to our spa with sauna and pool or have face and body treatments in a relaxing environment. There is a big outdoor parking available (extra fee) and as a guest you have access to free WiFi in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Havna Tjome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing