We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aged to perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kviknes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kviknes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
355 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Aged to perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is one of the remaining large, wooden hotels of the grand era in Norway. Elegant decor, comfortable and quiet rooms, good service, excellent restaurant. One of the lounges is filled with hand made furniture produced by a local man who's daugher gives historic tours of the area. Lift the bottom in one chair, and you can read how Kaiser Wilhelm sat here just before the begining of WWI. In the US, this chair would be behind glass.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggold113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    236
    92
    37
    22
See reviews for
135
340
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at Kviknes hotel during Balejazz early May last year. A hotel with a fantastic location and fantastic food and the festival had a great program. We will å be back in 2013. Thanks for a fantastic hospitality. Kind regards Kjell

Room Tip: Room in old part of hotel with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjell k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

My wife and I wanted a treat ourselves to a few nights' stay at Kviknes. At well over $300US/night along with the views an many glowing reviews both here and elsewhere we figured it is a safe bet. How wrong we have been!

This hotel targets mass tourism. You will invariably see large buses packed with tourists. We had the pleasure of dining in the bar lobby among candles and pastel-colored suitcases. The soup had no sea-food in it and we were informed by the rather impertinent Latvian waiter that it was "Norwegian"-style.

We stayed in the "new" wing. It is styled in neo cracked-concrete with peeling paint. The bed covers have not seen the inside of a washing machine for ages. Toiletries are non-existing. I would go on but to what end? I think you get my drift.

We had a couple of absolutely wonderful surprises. A short distance away from the Kviknes sits the Balestrand Hotel. The views are just as spectacular and the prices are reasonable. The place is quiet, small and cozy. Rooms are way better looking than the Kviknes new wing.
The other nice surprise was a very nice little dining place around the corner (please do yourself a favor and don't waste money at the hotel restaurant). Go to Gekkens instead!

Oh, and I forgot to mention ... At about 5am the buses are loading up tourists for the next destination. And you get to hear the music of suitcases being dragged through the hallways and the world coming alive. How refreshing!

We spoke to other visitors who stayed in the new wing and seemed to have enjoyed their stay. It is significantly more expensive but on the other hand they may have toiletries in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Go the the Balestrand Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We (2 of us) also stayed in the old part, and we booked a suite for a rather high price. The room was old and not nice, and the corridors were old and depressing too. I won't even go into describing the new area. The dining room is extremely large, and it has a municipal feel. The quality of the breakfast is very good, but we have had better stuff in other parts of Scandinavia.The hotel staff was courteous. We did not try to the all you can eat Smorgasbord, which Rick Steve's comments upon in his book. We looked at it and were not impressed. The best thing about this place is Location, location, etc. The tourist ferries to Bergen and Flam stop right outside the dining room and this is definitely a great benefit. The views are stunning. And it's an excellent base if you want to spend about 3 days in the fjords visiting the Sognefjord, Bergen, the Jostedal glacier (definitely a worthwhile trip) and the Lustrafjord area. We drove from Oslo and back, and the drive is very beautiful too. Parking is free. You need to take two ferrys (different from the tourist ones), but that is part of the attraction too. It's very easy to do. They run all day or night, rain or shine. No need to make reservations for these short ferry rides. Make sure you get maps in addition to the GPS. The rental places no longer offer them.!!! In the summer you may take advantage of leaving the Balestrand area late, since the sun does not set til 10:30pm. It takes about 5 hours or so to get into Oslo. You can specify a hybrid car for a rental. We did 700km with one gas tank.

Room Tip: the older section is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julioxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Upgraded to a room in the historic older part of the hotel with a balcony overlooking the fjord. Very peaceful and well away from the new section - 1970's concrete building. Buffet style breakfasts and dinner although can be a bit of a bun fight if the hotel has large coach parties in! Get in early!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the older historic part with a fjord balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerning74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I am staying here at the moment and can confirm the four basic things other reviewers have said. 1. The older history part of the hotel is quaint and charming, with wonderful lobby areas. The rooms are not spectacular, but they are fine and the bathrooms are updated.
2. The "new" hotel looks like it was dropped in from a 1960 Soviet movie. I did not go inside but from the outside it's completely out of place.
3. Views and setting are stunning.
4. The staff is quite nice
We'd absolutely stay here again - whilst ensuring we are in the "old" part.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg3st3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

OK, I read the reviews and made sure to book a room in the old part, the original hotel. I recommend calling the hotel in advance and getting a room in the old part. Our room had a direct water view and balcony. The room itself was old world charm but had been updated in the bathroom etc. It wasn't extraordinary but it was comfortable and the view was spectacular. The breakfast was a buffet of everything you can imagine (but again nothing extraordinary or memorable for that matter). But the views from the dining room are again spectacular. What really makes the place are the public lounges where everyone congregates in the evenings sipping coffee or tea, working on laptops (internet is only really good in the lounges) or reading books. I liked this hotel which didn't seem crowded (even though it was fully booked) but mostly for its lovely spot on the fjords.

Room Tip: Get a room in the old part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHCWESTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
24.5 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
0.2 mi away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
24.9 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kviknes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kviknes Hotel

Property: Kviknes Hotel
Address: Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kviknes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kviknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kviknes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing