We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Late Modern" equals Howard Johnson's of the 1970's.”
Review of Kviknes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kviknes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Late Modern" equals Howard Johnson's of the 1970's.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Our Fjord Pass reservation for 7/6/2013 for a double room, which we upgraded to a double room with a view, was a joke. We had a closet like room with 2 twin beds nailed to opposite sides of the room. Their "Late Modern" classification means old motel furniture with a small television that doesn't work. The room was poorly appointed, no glasses, all of the amenities were public restroom type dispensers. On top of it all our view included a crane and a major construction site.
Our visit to the bistro was equally dissapointing. The food was terribly prepared, with the exception of the crayfish soup, and the service was painfully slow. It took nearly 2 hours to get sandwiches. Then, the "coffee table " was devoid of coffee !
We were sadly sadly dissapointed. The old part of the hotel is as beautiful as stated, and the surroundings are gorgeous. However we were not prepared for the state of the "late modern" addition, nor the parking lot overflowing with tourist busses.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bl496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    238
    93
    37
    23
See reviews for
137
344
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It was an immediate pleasure to arrive here after the hustle of Bergen. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the food is lavish and of a very high quality - served buffet style which we prefer. We were lucky and had one of the superior rooms with a large balcony overlooking the fjord. Balestrand is unbelievably pretty and peaceful and there is a superb hike behind the hotel which gives a view at the top of three valleys, one with a glacier and one with a Fjord.

The rooms have old fashioned furnishings but are very comfortable.
It is a pit about the large, modern, concrete annex at the back of the hotel but it does not spoil the overall experience.

We can honestly say that this is one of the most memorable places we have ever been!

Room Tip: We preferred to have a room in the old historic building - the views are better here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanDCrowboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here as a part of the Norway in a Nutshell tour. We stayed in the newer section on the 8th floor with a spectacular view of the fjord and pastoral scene on the opposite shore. Our room was ok, nothing fancy. I think that the rooms in the original, more quaint section of the hotel may be more special. We loved walking the streets of the village. It is very beautiful. Our service was very good. The breakfast buffet was quite nice with a rather extensive selection. Very nice dining room with views of the water. A great place to stay in a very picturesque village

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room with a view of the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cooperlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, Ca
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Kviknes is a wonderful old hotel. My wife and I spent two nights there visiting the nearby glaciers. We stayed in the 'old' traditional part of the hotel--at our request. It has a tinge of history and a wonderful view of the fjord, along with a balcony. (The add-on modern section is apparently more upscale but without much style or tradition.) Breakfast and dinner were plentiful buffets with good choices and tasty preparations. The helpful and attentive international staff seemed to include no actual Norwegians, although I'm sure that is not true in fact. For runners the surrounding roads are almost traffic free and a pleasure; there are nearby hiking trails as well. In short a great site and a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I'd opt for tradition in the old wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berkeleyscubapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. The historic part is interesting, the "sixties" style concrete extension looks ghastly, but the bathrooms have been refurbished and the rooms were comfortable enough. Norwegian hotels, in general, don't seem to do the little nicities that most of us expect in a hotel of this rating, so no toiletries or coffee making facilities, not even a 'fridge. Someone else on here commented about the state of the bedding, so I had a peek and, yes, my pillow had been repaired with duct tape!

Our meals were included and both the breakfast and evening buffet were of a high standard with plenty of variety. The hotel does cater for large parties of tourists, so meal times can be a bit of a scrum.

But, if you are considering a stay at The Kvikne's Hotel, be warned that there are major building works going on next to the hotel which involve diamond cutting into granite rock and much hammering, banging and crashing. I would strongly advise checking on this before booking.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We ate in the hotel's bar and ordered crayfish soup as an appetizer, then had the pan fried trout. Both were fresh and very good. The bread was also tasty. The service was good.
There is a buffet in the restaurant that sounded great, but we were hungry at 530pm and didn't want to wait till 7pm to eat. This was a good alternative.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberries4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I did not stay at the hotel but I just wanted to make an observation. The grounds are beautiful and the old hotel building is classic. My wife and I grabbed a drink at the bar and sat in the lounge rooms that overlook the fjord. A great way to relax and enjoy the stunning views. The lounge rooms are also very beautiful so even if you don't stay here definitely go check out the inside of the old hotel building.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iamsterdam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
24.9 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kviknes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kviknes Hotel

Property: Kviknes Hotel
Address: Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kviknes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kviknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kviknes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing