We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice surprise”
Review of Kviknes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kviknes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel for only one night, but it was a very good one. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and were given our keys to the room. It was a very comfortable and nice room with a very good view as well. Our room had an old tv though which made a bite of a noise when turned on. The main building of the hotel itself is worth a visit as well or could be even better experienced by have a coffee in one of the reading rooms. The hotel has a bar and buffet to chose from for dinner. Although a bit overpriced the buffet should be chosen over the bar.
Unfortunately we had bad weather during our stay, so we didn't have the opportunity to explore everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWearyTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
There are newer reviews for Kviknes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

You will fall in love with this hotel at the first sight. But the staffs hate Asians I think.

We are a group of 12 people check in at the hotel today. But the way the staffs handle us (Asian) is like we are some countryside bumpkin. Especially the restaurant manager(a lady), we wanted to change our dinner time 15mins earlier as we have elderly who suffer gastric in our group. Obviously she was not helping and kept saying the dinner slot is fixed. They cant help!

Im a full time tour escort and never expect to be treated by someone with lame excuses. We are in service line,do our best is the priority. This is absolutely a big no-no and her behaviour will stop our group from using this hotel in the future

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geniusneenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We spent 6 nights at the Kviknes Hotel in Balestrand in the "new block". Our room on the top floor had great views of the fjord and mountains. The room, though not the most modern style, was clean, comfortable and well serviced. Everything worked and was there.

The staff in reception and the dining room were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfast and dinner buffet was superb and extensive. The wine list runs to a choice of some 400 different wines. The only problem is loosing all the pounds now gained!

The public areas are extensive and relaxing. There is plenty of choice of seating all with fjord views and they blend modern with old world charm.

Yes there are tour buses coming and going but they didn't interfere with our enjoyment. The hotel seemed to have them well organised and after all they will generate a good income for the hotel so one can't complain.

We travelled with Inghams and their rep in the resort, Adina, was informative and extremely helpful.

Finally, watch out for the porpoises which we saw several times from the dining room windows!

Room Tip: We found the new block fine, the higher floors will have the best views. We were on the top floor...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My four day stay in Balestrand was capped by staying at the Kviknes Hotel. I had a very comfortable room and began each day with a hearty breakfast sitting in a delightful dining room looking out over a fjord. The first day I was there I hiked for several hours following the directions provided by the very helpful lady at the TI. The following day I rented a car and drove 2.5 hours each way to walk on a glacier. That was an experience not to be missed. However, the trainers I was wearing were not the right shoes to wear. Crampons bite into ankle bones and without hightop shoes expect some pain. After two full days of activity I was relieved when it rained all the next day so I had an excuse to sit in my comfortable room and look out over the fjord and mountains while reading a crime novel. All rooms in the newer building have a nice view. There is a fjord side and a mountain side which gives a glimse of fjord so specify if you particularly want fjord view.

Room Tip: Rooms have double doors. Be sure to close both because some tour groups get an early start and the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Beautiful, historic hotel on the fjord in Balestrand. A must stay! Stay in the older, main hotel.

The room was large and very comfortable, the staff very professional, and the views terrific. The amazing artwork and carved furniture in the many sitting rooms off the lobby is worth a walk inside by itself.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the main hotel on the water. It comes with your own private balcony overlooking the f...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Kviknes Hotel in Balestrand is a must if you are passing through this area on your trip to Norway. I have stayed here some 7-8 times on my trips over the last 30 years and I'll probably come back the next time I visit the country. The location is magnificent, the building (old wing, not the new!) represent historic architecture and almost 200 years of hospitality traditions, the staff is efficient and very friendly and the view from the rooms in the old wing is spectacular, especially if you go for a room with your own balcony. The food? - they serve some 400 dinners every evening, most of which are 'Norwegian Smörgasbord'. I can't advice you on this except to say the 4-course menu is quite good. The wine cellar, on the other hand, is spectacular and it is well worth it to order you wines in time before dinner so they can chill the white, respectively allow the red to breathe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik-xVx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

From the outside the look is impressive, like a resort in the 1900's. We stayed in the old part. The room was comfortable, but not impresssive, I guess we were expecting some more luxurious... However, the hotel is comfortable and the service professional, the waiters never stopped coming to check our table for drinks, despite the crowd. The was correct, and although it was buffet style tasted good. The area is beautiful, nature at its best.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a fjord view room in the old building.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrazilMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
120 reviews
24.5 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
0.2 mi away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
126 reviews
24.9 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kviknes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kviknes Hotel

Address: Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range: £92 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kviknes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kviknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kviknes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing