We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smorgasbord at your door...”
Review of Kviknes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kviknes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Olga, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Smorgasbord at your door...”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Kviknes is the 500 pound gorilla of Sognefjord hotels, constituting the center of the lovely Norwegian hamlet of Balestrand. Most lodgers will be assigned to the newer tower structure, which totally lacks charm, but will eat in the incredible dining room located in the old hotel building. Dinner and breakfast smorgasbords offer literally dozens of tasty and beautifully prepared options, including local salads, veggies, and fish. If you can't find something you like at these spreads, you just aren't alive. A dining tip: go for the local fruit juices and teas, as alcoholic drinks cost an arm and a leg in Norway. If you can't get by without wine or beer, the house brands, at the bottom of the price list, are more than adequate. If you need anything at all, the lovely staff will do their best to be of assistance.

Room Tip: If you are not part of a large group, try to get a room in the historic hotel building. If you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orcas_Island_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    254
    100
    40
    24
See reviews for
150
377
31
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a family run hotel.They are obviously trying to squeeze every last penny out of this place.We were moved to three rooms before they found a room with a TV that worked.The rooms and halls stank of disinfectant like a hospital.The carpet was threadbare.The front lounges overlooking the lake looked like they were decorated from a second hand thrift store.The breakfast was terrible.Cold awful food.Service was horrible.They asked us to move seats because they were going to start cleaning a section.This was at 7.39 am and we were half way through our food.The kaiser used to stay here.Dont think its been updated since he left apart from the 1960s motel 6 block that was built and attached next door.Stay in Flam at Fleishers instead.The flam valley is fantastic,the hotel is nice and well run.DONT STAY HERE.Youth hostel quality for Hyatt prices!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank englishmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at Kviknes Hotel August 3, 2013. This is a hotel with a romantic story. We had booked for only one night. A big mistake. We were very happy that we booked in the historic part of the hotel. The room was small but very nice. The view from the pleasant balcony was superb. The lounge rooms of the hotel were pleasant to hang out in on a rainy afternoon. The staff very helpful. The breakfast was adequate but not great. We did not eat other meals at the hotel.
Balestrand is worthy of a few days stay. Just walking the Main Street was interesting for the architecture of the villas. The church is remarkable too. There is lots of hiking in the area and a ferry to the other side of the fjord. While there stop at Pilgrims for some soup and/or meatballs then go into the art gallery and visit with the artist and enjoy her water colors.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I am not a complaining customer but when I pay for something I expect value. This member of the 'historic hotels of Norway' shows photos of its beautiful frontage but a standard room will be in the concrete 1960's 'modern' block. The first room we got stank! Asked for a change which we got without problem but the rooms are very poor for the alleged standard of hotel. We were to stay 3 nights and I was actually really upset to be here, it is so outdated, the best thing was the newish bathroom except for the really cheap and flimsy toilet seat but the toilet was not cleaned all the time we were there!
The large window was loose and was held in place by some blocks of wood nailed to the outside. However, plus points were that the staff were mostly very nice and it was very pleasant to sit and drink coffee in the lovely old lounges on an evening but as other reviewers say the meals are only ok, nothing special and almost cafeteria style as the food is sat in big metal dishes under warm lights so it is lukewarm as they are catering for large tour groups who sit at long tables in the centre of the dining room whilst other guests sit around the outside, able to see the wonderful view but at tables with plastic clothes which are scrubbed in situ on the tables.
Could go on about there been no bacon at breakfast but look under the fried eggs and you may find a small piece! My tip is ask for some as soon as you go in for breakfast. It will arrive eventually and you will feel as though you have been given the 'luxury' you have paid for!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austriafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poynette, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The view of the fjord from the public areas of this this hotel is magical. We had a small balcony in our room in the "new" portion of the hotel with an occluded view. The room was small but comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was very good at the hotel buffet. It is too bad that the "new" section of the hotel was built with so little regard to aesthetics. It looks like a 1960s college dorm building -- a big concrete box.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the Kiviknes at the end of July 2013. Overall we were not impressed, given that it is not a cheap hotel.
During dinner on our first evening, there must have been around 250 to 300 people eating on communal tables as they belonged to coach parties. It was not a relaxing meal at all as the noise was incredible. Other things we did not like included the tacky plastic tablecloths which seemed to just get a cursory wipe over between uses, the dismal, beige corridors ( we were on the 8th floor of the new block), smoke wafting up from nearby balconies ( which were bare concrete ) no soap, shampoo or conditioner and the coaches revving up their engines from 6:30. The reception rooms could have been lovely, but the furnishings have to be seen to be believed. They would have been very much at home in an old people's home, not a luxury hotel.

There were good points - the position was very good, the views from the room were amazing, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean and the food itself was nice.

We were intending to stay for 3 nights, but left early as we're very disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed at hotel for two nights and found this to be a great place to get away from it all, as there is really nothing to do in town. Food is excellent, staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are typical small European rooms with no AC. If you stay there, get room on water side, or else you will be over parking lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retiredtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
107 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
217 reviews
8.8 mi away
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leikanger
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kringsja Hotel
Kringsja Hotel
#1 of 2 in Balestrand
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kviknes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kviknes Hotel

Property: Kviknes Hotel
Address: Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kviknes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kviknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kviknes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing