We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorit hotels in Norway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kviknes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kviknes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Piaseczno, Poland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my favorit hotels in Norway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

It's a place with history and you feel there like hundred years ago. It's location is great - directly at the fjord, with a splendid view around! The old building is like a museum with a lot of great paintings and old furniture - it's great to have a cup of coffee there or a drink. The buffet dinner is amazing. It's worth to be there to enjoy it - a lot of seafood, great meat dishes, fantastic desserts, everything according to Norwegian traditions. I'm really looking forward to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors of the new building have a fantastic, panoramic view. Rooms in the historical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janusz_Zebrowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    236
    92
    37
    22
See reviews for
137
341
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We loved that this was a historic building that had been in use since the 1870s. It definitely felt old and had charm. The floors were warped. The sink was outside the bathroom. There was no fridge. There was a TV with cable. We stayed for four nights in the old section of the hotel and it pretty much what we had expected. We had a balcony and a view of the fjord which was lovely. The balcony for the bar was just underneath our room so all of the weekend bar noise, invariably, drifted up to our room. But that was the only noise we heard--there was nothing from the other rooms. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful; it seemed like most of them were not Norwegian, though. The express boat to Bergen picks up right outside the hotel which was handy. Yes, it's expensive. But everything in Norway is crazy-bananas expensive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 40by40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very good location, good buffet dinner, nice building.
On the bad side; VERY expensive drinks, wine and beer. Why??? No fridge on the rooms; so no help bringing own beer/wine.
Also only ONE norwegian speaking employer met by myself during the Friday to Sunday stay, but most of the crew was helpful and kind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had expected so much more! Walking through the hotel is a treat, seeing the old surroundings downstairs, the old furniture and pictures. And the staff are very helpful in all of your requests, although not too knowledgeable on everything that they should be. The view of the surrounding mountains should be breathtaking, but as you see it with the town just below and the two areas where buses are parked - the view is less than perfect. Except for the spectacular boat ride from Bergen this was a destination I would not return to.

Room Tip: All I can say is the newer section does have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papakil0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

the historic part of the hotel is very beautiful, as well as the area around. And the view over the fjord and mountains are priceless.

When you are here you definetly should climd one of the high mountains around to really take advantage of the location in Norway.

The hotel has an O.K. service. It seems a little unorganized, but the employees are polite and helpful.
OBS: when ordering coffee at the bar: if you order an double (latte/cappuchino etc) they actually charge you double the price of a single, instead of single w/extra shot of espresso. This gets so expensive = 80NOK = $13 = 8 UK Pound. :/ this is not made clear at ordering.
The food is O.K.

ORDER A ROOM IN THE HISTORIC PART! if not you would be placed in a 1970-ish cement building in the back. The rooms in the cement building are very out of date, and not very pleasant. Many of them also smell like smoke.

The very modern conference-part is excellent.

Room Tip: HISTORIC PART is the only way to get a good room in the original hotel. Do not order a normal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InaHannestadNygaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Kvikne's Hotel was one of the most spectacular places we've stayed in our travels. Incredible drive to the hotel with fantastic scenery of mountains, waterfalls, glaciers, snow peaked mountains and beautiful valleys...THIS IS TRULY NORWAY! The Resort is filled with exquisite furnishings, art, wood carvings, tapestry. Hotel's elegant dining room with traditional Norwegian smorgasbord and excellent service. Rooms are quaint, clean and very tidy. Grounds are impeccable and surprised to learn about the strawberries grown in this part of Norway...so yummy! From Kvikne's take a cruise along the fjord to Fjaerland, then onto Jostedal Glacier (largest in Europe) then to village of Skei and descending to the beautiful Nord Fjord and Olden to visit world-famous Briksdal Glacier. So much to see in this beautiful country...but don't miss Kvikne's Hotel...it is a must!!!

Room Tip: Our room had twin beds with beautiful Norwegian quilts. Am sure there were larger rooms but we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel has the most wonderful position on the fjord. It is a shame that the modern block is so out of keeping with the original building. However the room in the modern block, especially those on floors six to eight offer the most sublime views of the fjord from their roomy balconies. Being a large hotel it attracts large tour parties who tend to be there only overnight so that days spent in and around the hotel are wonderfully quiet and peaceful. The staff are very helpful,rooms spacious and the food good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
15.2 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
24.9 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kviknes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kviknes Hotel

Property: Kviknes Hotel
Address: Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kviknes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kviknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kviknes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing