We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip”
Review of Kviknes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kviknes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived at the Kvikness Hotel on a spectacular afternoon. Followed the advice of other reviewers and splurged for a room in the historic part of hotel with balcony. Yes, it's expensive, but this was a lifetime destination and it's worth it. I loved sitting on the balcony. The room itself is a bit small and nothing special, but that view is so soothing. We also splurged for the evening buffet. Tried everything. We had no problem securing a window. We also enjoyed the walk along the historic homes on the water. Some people were swimming from the hotel's swimming area, which is behind a small hill (now I wish I had done that).

Room Tip: Get a balcony room in historic section.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveltheworld0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Most rooms are in the 1960's block and are adequate but not luxurious. For instance the only toileteries are one liquid soap dispenser near the hand basin and one over the bath, the make was the same as in a public toilet. There was no bath mat even though if the floor got wet it was slippery. There was a rail near the bedroom door which could have been very useful to dry wet clothes but there were no hangers, the hangers in the wardrobe were the type which could not be used elsewhere. Breakfast and dinner were both buffet meals. The dinner was good but pricey and was crowded by the coach parties. Our room was quiet except one morning when a coach party had to put their luggage outside their bedroom doors by 6 a.m. so doors were slamming from 5:30 a.m. and there were loud conversations in the corridor.

Room Tip: It may be worth paying the extra to get a room in the old building but as we did not see them I cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank North-Yorkist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Looking at his hotel from the water, and it is right on the water, it is magnificent!!! I loved staying here. The view from our balcony was magnificent!! Probably the best I've ever experienced. The staff was also wonderful. The first floor was beautiful, room after beautiful room. But be careful what room you book. Many of the rooms are terrible. You only want to be in a refurbished room on the water side in the old building. Pay up for it or stay someplace else. Our suite had sinks in the room and a shared bath. The rooms are not big but adequate. The balcony is FABULOUS! Huge, private and an amazing view. We spent 2 week in Norway traveling all over and this was one of my favorite spots. Wherever you stay we really enjoyed the beauty in and around Balestrand.

Room Tip: Only book the old building with a balcony water side. Even then specify a recently renovated room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during our Norway in a nutshell tour. As many people here have written, Balestrand is gorgeous and the hotel offers fantastic views, especially from the dining room. The view from our terrace was spectacular. Staff was very friendly and helpful. However it was very expensive for the quality that you receive. We stayed in the old hotel, the room was very mediocre. We did not feel that it was worth the price. Wifi was impossible to get in the room although the hotel says it is available. If we were doing it again, we would stay for only one night, do an excursion, and then move onto another city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sherdave5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Arriving at Balestrand we were rather thrown by the awful 1960s concrete extension to the hotel and more thrown to discover that we were in it though, as we later decided, one advantage of being in it was not having to look at it!! We'd paid extra for a fjord view and could indeed see the fjord from our top floor room but only after looking over the car park. The room itself was spacious, with a pleasant sitting area as well as a small balcony. The villa housing the original hotel was much more fun with an eclectic mix of styles and furnishings and plenty of comfortable places to sit after dinner. There's a small private beach and the situation is glorious.

The staff both on reception and in the dining area were lovely: helpful and friendly though apparently numbering very few Norwegians.

As other reviewers have noted, the hotel caters for large numbers of coach parties and meals are buffet style with a tendency towards the frantic - there were 380 covers one evening whilst we were there. A sort of apartheid system separates coach parties from individually booked guests who were given window tables with super views. Starters and puddings were good; mains suffered from having to be kept on hot-plates for long periods and tended to be of the casserole variety.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philippamerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We have been here two days; such a premium spot. The lovely, old ways continue on this idyllic fjord. Viking mounds and tales of the Pre-WWI Kaiser whisk you right into a time warp. Enjoy the pace of yesteryear and the fabulous smorgasbord. Be sure to have coffee on the veranda looking out over the fjord.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel makes you feel as if you were sent back a hundred years. Actually German emperor Kaiser Wilhelm II loved this hotel and came back again and again. The whole dining / leasure area of this hotel is like a living castle with old armchairs, chandeliers, oil paintings on the wooden walls etc.
be aware that also the rooms are like this! Nothing modern, old bathroom with functional tub, old laid-down beds. If you don't mind that and you wanna be in a very special place once and look upon a fjord when the sun goes down sitting on a chair that once the German emperor used to sit in, go there!
Another observation: there are many many many groups of Chinese tourists invading this hotel. I have nothing against them but you should know this.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.9 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
415 reviews
24.5 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstove Hotel & Restaurant
24.9 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kviknes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kviknes Hotel

Address: Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range: £155 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kviknes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kviknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kviknes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing