We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel visit part of an Inghams multi centre holiday”
Review of Midtnes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Midtnes Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a multi trip with Ighams, it was one of four hotels all 3 star rated and this hotel did not live up to the standards of the other hotels visited.
The view from our room was spectacular but as was all the other hotels visited and the scenery eveywhere we travelled spectacular.

Our main issue with this hotel is the lack of any choice with the evening meal, if it is something you do not like then you need to eat out or have plenty of snacks with you. Breakfast is much better and we would have been happy to have that instead.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PattiReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Midtnes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had 4th floor room with balcony- fantastic views direct over the fjord. As others have stated the bedrooms are basic with no tv or tea/ coffee making facilities but the bed was comfortable. The room got stuffy so we left open over night. The breakfast had reasonable choice, boiled eggs, normally a hot dish but goos range of meats, fish and salad. Plenty of coffee and juice on offer but no yoghourts. We had been booked half board and ate on the first night. No choice of dishes, tomato soup with egg slices, cooked ham with hot vegetables and a kind of Creme Caramel. Only water offered. We decided to eat out on second night - another guest recommends the Ciderhouse which is a 15 minute walk. Very friendly staff, food served in new conservatory. Interesting dishes, very well cooked and washed down with home bottled cider and brandies. A great evening with fantastic views. Quiet village but sort of enchanting. We took ferry up adjacent fjord to glacier which was an enjoyable afternoon.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We loved this little town. Small but some nice shops and restaurants. off the beaten path which is just what we were looking . Help was very friendly. Breakfast was one of the best we had. Went looking for a laundry in town. Not handy and very slow.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The room had a very strange smell, We had to sleep with the balconydoor open all night. Perfect view. Very nice breakfast! The lounge was very cozy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oeeneesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I was impressed with the Midtnes Hotel. While the rooms are very simple - no TV, no coffee, no mini fridge, no safe - they are clean and the beds are comfortable. We were lucky enough to have a balcony with chairs and a breath-taking view. The breakfast was good and well-stocked with great coffee. We also had a dinner here, which was affordable (compared to other places) and had good portions. I would recommend having a dinner here if you're in town for more than one night. Now what really makes this hotel great are the little quirks - go sit in the parlors and look at the wonderful antiques. Play games in the beautiful rooms. Have after dinner tea. Even better, enjoy the dock area they have next to the fjord. Have your grocery-store-picnic lunch right on the water! I would highly recommend this place. Jon, the probably-owner and front-desk man was great and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This hotel was one of the worst I have ever stayed in! First of all, you do not stay in the nice building you see in most of the pictures, but in a shabby old building on the back side. The rooms are old and strongly smell of carpet glue. Even with the window open all night, the smell did not disappear. The bathroom was very "functional" and all in dark brown. Clean but nothing else. The breakfast offered some variety. However, the variety was"outweighed" by its poor quality. Instead of fresh fruit they had defroozen berries ...

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorwayTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Jon the manager/owner was a lovely guy, was much more helpful that the lady at the tourist information. Gave good suggestions about hiring a car from Kviknes hotel, where to drive and boat times etc...

We had to cut short our stay because we didnt know the weekend boat services are much reduced, and we had to get back to Bergen for our flight. He was very understanding and didnt charge us for a late cancellation.

Breakfast was varied and wholesome, with some local dishes mixed in.

Comfortable rooms, clean showers. Nice beds.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anotherjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
24.6 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
364 reviews
24.3 mi away
Myrkdalen Hotel
Myrkdalen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vossestrand
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtnes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtnes Hotel

Address: Kong Beles veg 33, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range: £104 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Midtnes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Midtnes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtnes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing