We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”
Review of Midtnes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Midtnes Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The bedrooms are fairly basic and simple and not what I would call homely. The lounge area is very nice and the breakfast was excellent. A great view from the bedroom to start and finish the day.
An excellent centre for touring the area with a car and plenty of walks in the area from a stroll round the town to more serious walks.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkHolidayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    49
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwicks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This hotel was not chosen by us but came as part of a package from a well-known U.K. Holiday Company. Although the Midtnes was adequate, it was the least inspiring of any of the hotels the travel company had used on earlier holidays we had booked with them. We upgraded to a fjord view but the rear of the original wooden building which is mentioned in other reviews was a distraction. The room was of a reasonable size but a bit austere - not a particularly pleasant space on a cold rainy afternoon. The room was made up every day but not cleaned. The original building (restricted to the family) had much more character than the guest block, and one of the general rooms had a pay pool table and dart boards although these did not present themselves as warm social areas which beckoned one in during the evening.
Breakfast was quite good as was the evening meal although there was no choice. Guests were allocated to the small cafeteria-style tables even when the dining room was far from full.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceramike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We stayed two nights before catching the fast ferry to Bergen. There were two ferries on Sunday so we were lucky and got the one at 11am rather than the evening one that operates Monday to Saturday. We were met at the ferry when we arrived and our bags were taken up the hill. We enjoyed the 5 minute walk. The hotel is well described in Trip advisor.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allophane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Was quite a nice stay at the Midtnes, Balestrand.

First, the bad though:
Yes the snaps on the hotel website are a bit misleading. But we already knew that from the other members on TA. There's no Fjord view from the hotel. And there's no Fridge in the room. The bathroom could have used a better color than the very dark mood altering dark brown. Rooms are a bit old.

The good:
Ok the hotel is charming though. Breakfast was quite good ... with enough options for us vegetarians. John at the reception was very nice & shifted us to a better room for the same price without asking ... since we reached there so late. There's free WiFi if you can get the signal. We did get it in our 3rd floor room.

Balestrand itself is a nice town. The female in the tourist office was extremely useless and had no information at all. I have no idea why they employed her there in the first place. Many other people too had the same experience while we were sitting there.

Balestrand is definitely worth a visit & Midtnes would probably be a decent choice to stay at if you're there.

  • Liked — Nice location, decent breakfast.
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nips_manny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Booked with FjordTours and then followed up with the hotel directly via email.

First welcome surprise... Even though we had booked a standard room (no fjord view), the hotel was not full and we had been upgraded to a fjord-view room. :)

Jon Gjeraker, our host and general manager, is a lovely man and completely committed to the comfort of his guests. We arrived late on the ferry from Balestrand, after dinner, and also after both of the local stores had closed for the evening. Jon pulled together a meal for the two of us and our stay was off to a great start. He was also able to accommodate my husband's request for an early breakfast and a bag lunch for the following day on very short notice.

The hotel is clean, quiet and just the right size. (We visited the nearby Kviknes for dinner and found the atmosphere "circuslike" when compared to the Midtnes.)

Comfortable common areas indoors and out, and the sleeping rooms are plain but cozy. No TV in the rooms, but if you need to connect to the news, look no further than the reception area or game room (pool, darts).

Two small grocery stores just a short walk away; great nature trails close by; more challenging hikes available too. St. Olav's church is right outside - visit when the sun's out - stunning!

Our favorite hotel (by far) on our two-week trip throughout Scandinavia. Thank you Jon and staff!

  • Liked — Quiet, beautiful surroundings; easy access to hiking trails; easy transport to/from Bergen
  • Disliked — Fellow guests who were expecting something else. If you're looking for action, look elsewhere. If you want to relax, enjoy the natural beauty of Norway, this is your spot!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank eatglobally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Booked hotel using the fjordpass. Before booking, I checked the hotels website a couple times to read everything about the hotel.
Not impressed by hotel. First tried to give us a backroom, but managed to have it changed to a better room in the ugly building where the guest rooms seem to be. The lovely white structure on their website is misleading.

Although pretty from the fjord boats, Balestrand is not worth staying over at. We did walk a nice trail, but I would suggest just stopping for an hour and then catching the next boat out.

2 WORDS of WARNING about the Midtnes Hotel:

At breakfast, I put a piece of ham on a piece of bread as I really can only drink a cup of tea first thing in the morning. When it came to check out - they charged me £6 (around $11) for taking that piece of bread and 1 piece of ham!!! Unbelieveable! I don't know how they can sleep at night - as run by a friendly family was not our experience!


They Do Not accept credit cards!! I have again checked all the sites with info on the hotel and no where is this mentioned. As we were in Norway for just a few days during a school break, we didn't bring tons of cash only about £500. It was a real dilemma
when we got the bill after 2 nights plus the piece of bread I was charged for twice!
As we were a bit short of the cash, we ended up having to find a machine at the local bank to use our credit card of which we were charged heavily, plus we had to run to catch the boat as we were then running late.

I will never stay at this hotel again

  • Liked — The fjord views from hotel
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gmalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Stayed three nights at the Midtnes in July 2008. Booked directly with the hotel, phoned and then confirmed by email (and this is probably a good way to do it).


Good location, 50 meters or so up hill from Fjord edge and about 200 metres from Balestrand’s shops and jetty. Only problem is that some rooms in new bit of hotel are behind old wooden bit of hotel – and so don’t have a view.

Had specifically asked for a fjord view and we had a good sized room with balcony and amazing view over fjord. When we first walked into the room it looked a bit bland and faded but by the time we had unpacked, opened the blinds etc it had all become a frame for the most amazing view of the fjord and mountains. Hence the room provided a really nice three night stay and the initial impression was quickly forgotten.
Bathroom good with cosy underfloor heating. Typically Norwegian – i.e. no shower tray so water goes all over the place when you have a shower!

Only had breakfasts in the hotel and these were excellent.

Attractive, comfortable and spacious lounges in old part of hotel a very pleasant surprise.

Owner and staff very helpful, attentive and friendly.

Overall it was everything one would expect from a well run, individually owned and managed hotel

  • Liked — Amazing views
  • Disliked — Norwegian shower system (no shower tray)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxfordmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
24.9 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
203 reviews
24.6 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtnes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtnes Hotel

Property: Midtnes Hotel
Address: Kong Beles veg 33, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Midtnes Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Midtnes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtnes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing