We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Balestrand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balestrand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We loved this hotel. We paid for a room with balcony which was well worth the price. The view was spectacular. Breakfast was excellent and service outstanding. Would highly recommend this hotel as well as Balestrand for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony for fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BHR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

The Balestrand Hotel is family owned and operated and feels like a home away from home. The view from the hotel down the Sognefjorden is spectacular, the rooms are well-appointed and comfortable, and the breakfast buffet is fresh and quite enjoyable. During the day there are very comfortable sitting rooms available for guest use with perfect views down the fjord, and coffee and tea always available. The hotel owners even provide personal transportation to and from the ferry dock. Balestrand and the Balestrand Hotel together provided an oasis for us during our Scandinavian travels that were focussed mostly on the major cities. It truly was a treat — we are so glad we decided to divert from the Norway-in-a-nutshell route and spend some time in Balestrand.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have wonderful views down the fjord -- well worth the additional cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed one night at the Balestrand Hotel on our travels between Trondheim and Bergen, and we very much enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good and ample. The reception staff was very helpful. In addition, the hotel carries enamel art from a local couple of artisans. We purchased items at the hotel, and then we were given the address of the artisans who live near the ferry dock in Dragsvik. We visited them and purchased other gorgeous enamel works. There is free parking at the Balestrand. Be aware that ferry service is once per hour out of Dragsvik, so you will want to plan accordingly when coming and going to Balestrand from the east or south.

Room Tip: On another visit, I would pay the extra money for a fjord view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in the village of Balestrand, a popular tourist destination, overlooking the fjord. I recommend asking for a room with sea view, possibly on the top floor: ours was large and bright, with a nice balcony (as a side note, it's forbidden to smoke even on the balcony). The bathtub was a true blessing after a long trip!

The free Wi-Fi connection was fast and reliable, the reception staff was very nice, and the breakfast was good.

It was quite expensive (although not the most expensive in the area by far), but definitely worth the money.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Balestrand Hotel situated on the shores of the Sognefjorden Fjord Norway offers so much opportunities for the seasoned Traveller. From Cruises to sightseeing hikes, trout fishing in secluded lakes and streams, waterfall viewing, Kayaking/canoeing and don't forget the Glaciers.
And if you just want to relax in Balestrand you can do that also and enjoy the magnificent scenery from the your balcony of the Hotel( if you are one of the lucky ones to get a balcony room) You can also visit the Aquarium and support the local industry. The Balestrand Hotel is a family run Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony! Not air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wazzaw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Balestrand Hotel was perfect for our stay in the Sognefjord area. The room and balcony were very nice, clean and well maintained.The fjord view from the balcony was awesome. We stayed in the hotel while that region was going through an unusual hot spell, the stay was very comfortable even though the hotel did not have AC in the rooms. We really enjoyed the tranquil atmosphere of the hotel and area. The hotel served an excellent breakfast and the harbor was just a few minutes walk away.
Personally, the thing that impressed me most was the assistance I received from the Owners and Staff. Ms Unni-Marie went out of her way to provide guidance and assistance from the time I started to think about the trip to the time I stayed at the hotel. Her tips came in really handy before and during the trip.
I would go back there any time.

Room Tip: Awesome fjord view from fjord facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lagavulin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

As a part of the package deal we've stayed for three nights at the Balestrand Hotel. We were lucky to have a room with 'fjordview'. Which delivered an amazing and overwhelming experience. The hotel itself was straightforward , run by a Norwegian/Californian family. The hosts were very friendly and straightforward. The services were ok although the breakfast was quite simple. And for a lunch or dinner you had to go elsewere. I'll bear this Californian dream at the Sognefjord forever in my mind.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank WillemDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
849 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
122 reviews
15.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstove Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
128 reviews
24.7 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kringsja Hotel
Kringsja Hotel
#1 of 2 in Balestrand
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balestrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balestrand Hotel

Address: Kong Beles veg 41, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Hotel Class:1 star — Balestrand Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Balestrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing