We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for viewing, exploring the fjord and mountains!”
Review of Balestrand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balestrand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We made arrangements before arriving, and they were waiting to pick up our bags at the ferry. We opted to walk to the hotel from there. Very helpful and friendly family owns and operates the hotel. They gave us good information (better than the tourist info office) about how to do what we were interested in doing in the area. We went to hike on the ice at the Nigardsbreen glacier. Wish we'd had more time to spend in the fjord. We'd be happy to go back and stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2009

The Balestrand Hotel is a great place to stay for travelers on a budget (which would describe most people traveling in Norway) without sacrificing any expected amenities. Uni Marie and her family are friendly, quite helpful (providing ferry timetables, information on local hiking, activities like kayaking, & eating options), and knowledgeable (options in Vik and other towns).

I see other reviewers disparaged the "dated" decor and the inquisitive friendliness of the staff (which are all family members). I'm not sure what these reviewers were expecting; if you're in the Norwegian fjords for the latest in interior design, your priorities are screwed up. If you take simple questions like "how was your day? what did you do?" as being overly inquisitive and intrusive, then you must be seeking the faceless, knee-jerk courtesies of a Quality Inn. This isn't the place for you.

I got great advice and tons of help (for instance, I bought all my meals at a supermarket and the family graciously kept my groceries in their fridge, fetching 2x a day when I asked); the rooms were spare, but exactly what I wanted: a clean bed, a shower, a place to sit, and even an outdoor exit to a patio. No TV was a godsend; if I'd had one, I would've wasted precious time in my room instead of outside. The location, both regionally (Balestrand is gorgeous), and locally (it's 5 minutes walk to the dock) can't be beat.

There's one internet station (at a 1NOK/minute) which was all I needed to stay in touch with friends and family. The reading room was jam-packed with English-language books, and had a great, picture-window view of the Sognefjord. The breakfast was a little predictable, but hearty and buffet-style, so I never left hungry.

In short, this is a great option for anyone staying in Balestrand who is seeking to explore the natural beauty of the area and to connect a bit with locals. For those who are looking for the latest in room design or dislike common courtesies, you're probably better off in Vegas or Disney World.

Pros
- Knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly staff
- Homey feel; it's just this side of a B&B
- Great location, both in town and in the Sognefjord area (convenient for ferry day trips)
- Quiet, clean, and spare rooms. No TV. Large bathtub, with shower, clothesline. Outdoor access from room.
- Great reading room/parlor with a fjord-side view. Outdoor seating in good weather.
- Large breakfast.

Cons
- Single room faced back of hotel (a patio near a hillside). I assume larger rooms face front, towards the fjords for a nicer view.
- Breakfast is large, but same layout each day: plenty of breads, jams, hard & soft boiled eggs, muesli, cereals, coffee and tea. Meats and cheeses were cold cuts. No meals to order. Definitely enough to fuel your day, but you may have to opt for the same combo each morning. Breakfast starts early enough (7 am) to catch most or all ferries if you don't dawdle.

Tips
- One of the family members will pick you up at the dock when you come in, but it's a 5 minute walk if you have light bags.
- Buy your food at the Coop or Spar grocery stores to save money. Both close on Sundays, however, so stock up on a weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FasterThanWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

A family-run, very friendly, and just lovely place to stay. The hotel is in a simple white building, and once inside, the lobby area is cozy and welcoming. I highly recommend a room with a fjord view and a little balcony -- just so stunningly beautiful, and still totally affordable. The breakfast was lovely, in a lovely, warm room, and the hotel also has a grassy area across the road, right on the water, where you can sit and take in the stunning views from an even closer vantage-point. Although the owners will happily pick you up at the ferry dock (and take you back when you depart), the hotel is in walking distance to the tiny port. We came to Balestrand without a car and walked everywhere from the hotel, including up onto the hiking trails in town. You will also have access to a computer terminal in the library room on the ground floor, if you need to check e-mail; it's not free for a nominal cost.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonkeybearNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed here 3 nights, and had a fabulous time. The staff are all very friendly, and went out of their way to help me with my special requests (I'm in a wheelchair and also needed some special food for my annoying diet that they got in for me). The staff have all sorts of helpful advice from what time the ferries go, to where is the best place to get a rental car. The breakfast has a wide choice (4 types of yoghurt, freshly baked croissants, freshly baked bread (with a toaster if you wanted to use it), 3 types of cereal, milk, juice, coffee, tea, 2 types of eggs (hard boiled and soft boiled), dried fruit, fruit salad, 2 types of meat, 2 types of cheese, 5 types of jam), it was hard to decide what to eat first (people were taking photo's of the breakfast smorgasbord one morning, so it impressed more than just me). We had a WONDERFUL room - very light and airy, with a huge window looking directly out onto the Fjord (we paid a little bit extra for a Fjord facing room, and it is worth it). There isn't a TV or phone in your room, but why would you want a TV when you have a balcony with such a great view. They have a really lovely lounge with big leather lounges (and a TV) and with free internet (if you have your own computer) or cheap internet on their computer (compared to other places we've stayed in Europe). The only thing about this hotel is that it is a bit expensive, but is very good value compared to other hotels in Norway, were everything is VERY expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disabled_jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Very small, dorm like rooms without television, a telephone, or shampoo. When we asked for ice they gave us a yogurt cup full. The hotel was family run, as the daughters cleaned rooms and kept the business running the two parents sat at the front desk reading books and questioned the guest as they walked in," what did you do today." "What happened to you. "Is your eye alright." The breakfast included a slice of bread and a hard boiled egg. I feel real sorry for the kids that have to clean rooms and run the front desk . If you don't mind staying in a dorm room and feeling like the owners are your strict parents and questioning your every move than go ahead .

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alex123457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We stayed at the Balestrand hotel for just one night and were sorry to have to leave. The hotel itself is in a very nice building, the view of course is breathtaking, our balcony gave straight onto the fjords, and the owners if not exactly warm were very efficient and went out of their way to make things comfortable for us through small gestures like drying our wet shoes after hiking in the rain.
It is true that the hotel doesn't offer lunch or dinner, but you are within a 10mn walk of the town centre and a few restaurants. However, don't stay in Balestrand if you want a night life, this is all about hiking in the fjord / exploraing by boat.
Overall, a highly recommended place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Entente-cordiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

This is an average hotel. That's the bottom line. The rest is the scenery. Of course is beatifull and breathtaking. But the hotel is just average. With small rooms, and with a very bad view if y stay in the low cost rooms or, like in our case, forget to warn and pay extra in antecipation.
The family is indeed very friendly, but a bit reserved with young couples like us, and i'm not sure they loved small children, like ours.
Probably it's best to try to compare the prices with the other hotels in the area.
And they don't serve lunch or dinner!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.2 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
847 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
122 reviews
24.7 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
128 reviews
15.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstove Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Kringsja Hotel
Kringsja Hotel
#1 of 2 in Balestrand
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balestrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balestrand Hotel

Address: Kong Beles veg 41, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Hotel Class:1 star — Balestrand Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Balestrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing