We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Value for money!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight 16th - 17th of May 2013.
We arrived by the ferry and were surprised by the stunning palce where this hotel was situated. We were lucky, and got a big room with the fjord view. It even had a spacious balcony. (Room 205). Luckily the weather was warm and nice, so we could enjoy the view from here.
We had a nice dinner, the staff where corteous and friendly.
In the morning we enjoyed a good breakfast and could observe flags from all over Balestrand, as this was National Day.
This is a place I would love to come back to.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ove1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    33
    17
    6
    12
See reviews for
18
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a two week vacation, where the Dragsvik Fjordhotell was one of our favorite spots. We booked it last minute and got a fantastic deal (we think?). We thought we wanted to stay in Balestrand, but we got even more excited about Dragsvik. And it didn't disappoint.

It should be noted though, that this hotel is isolated from other things - which is what makes it so special. We went on long hikes in Dragsvik, had leisurely breakfasts and rented bikes to bike around the area and into Balestrand, etc. It's about 6 miles from the town of Balestrand where you can get there via bike, car if you have one, water taxi or by taking the bus which stops once or twice a day in front of the hotel.

Other pros: the staff is AWESOME. They picked us up from the ferry in Balestrand, were super attentive and also fun and friendly. Another awesome thing is that they let you make a lunch from the breakfast spread and only charge ~$9 USD (which is super cheap compared to anything else in the area). This came in handy for hikes, bike rides, etc.

The only negative is that the walls/ceiling/floors are thin and you could hear neighboring guests - might be tough if you're a light sleeper. But the views of the fjords right outside of our window made up for it.

Consider staying in the rooms with a kitchenette - we picked up fish, etc and made dinner. Fun and saved us a lot of money in an expensive place.

If you're looking for a retreat in the fjords with the comforts of a lovely place and friendly staff, this is a fantastic place. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank withacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

The room is so extremely small that i could not find a place to flip open my luggage, my husband and i both have one of those that you have flip open both sides and lay them on the floor. the beds are small and wall is thin so u can hear the people in the next room talking. Washroom is also tiny without a shower stoll but just a shower curtain so the floor gets completely wet after u shower. Not much amenities altough u can borrow a hairdryer.

No elevator so u have to carry everything upstiars by hand. The hotel is so old and basic, not much difference from a hostel.

The only good thing is the view is quite nice and the receptionist is very friendly but for almost 200usd a night, it is just crazy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DingDingHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Balestrand hotels

Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We recently returned from an excellent trip to Norway with the low point being the night in this hotel. Although it was the priciest of al the hotels we booked, it offered nothing for the cost. It is located in a beautiful corner with views of fjords/water on 2 sides, but our room's view required looking out the window at the parking lot below, across the quiet street, to another parking lot, the rooftop of a house and then a small glimpse of water in a corner of the fjord.

Judging by some of the reviews here, apparently we were lucky to have accomodations in the main building, rather than one of the cabins. Our walk to our room required walking through a hallway crammed with laundry bags. The room itself was relatively clean (though one of us was skeptical about the comforter cover) and roomy enough, but extremely basic, with walls that looked as though pictures/decorations were recently removed and painting underway (holes in the walls and paint patching). The bathroom was ok except the walls, again, looked as though they were in the process of being installed and hadn't yet been painted; they looked like unfinished walls. Incidentally, the "complimentary toiletries" offered were 2 small foil packets of shampoo and a tiny bar of soap!

There was no television (no problem by itself) and the wifi never really worked, even in the lobby. The room was also the most dimly lit hotel room I have ever exerienced! It was impossible to even read anything in the room. For the price we paid, I don't think I should have to schlepp to the public lobby to read a book! Interestingly, though, the street-lamp outside aligned perfectly with my face when I lay down to sleep! Basic clean accomodations are fine, but the pricing of the room wasn't consistent with that. the room was fairly high cost yet offered nothing in return.

Because the location is somewhat removed from other options (and we'd had a tiring long day of driving), we opted for dinner at the hotel. The price was "typical" Norwegian pricing (ie: expensive by other countries' standards), which was ok, but the quality was not good. In the fixed menu, the appetizer was a good salmon dish but the main dish was unbelievably bad, even for someone like me who is reluctant to send food back to the kitchen. The main dish consisted of some sort sort of unidentifiable and extremely tough meat (veal) buried in tasteless brown gravy. I would have sent my dish back to the kitchen but, honestly, the staff made me feel very uncomfortable. Dessert was a few raspberries accompanied by ice cream.

Later in the evening, my companion stopped by the desk, frustrated by the lack of internet. He attempted to discuss the room pricing given such a lack of amenities for the money. He was greeted by a hotelier who began ranting that he was being attacked, that he wanted to give the business/hotel to my friend to run it and then, finally, that we should take all our items and leave. It's the first time I've ever been almost-kicked-out of a hotel! Luckily, my friend remained calm and rational and did NOT opt to leave; by this point, it was late into the evening and we were in no mood to go searching for accomodations (plus had a non-refundable booking). The other hotelier appeared and also began ranting about giving up the hotel and that we should leave. She finally offered the room for free but we would have to pay for breakfast & the dinner we ate; we could accept this offer or leave the hotel. They also "threatened" that they would "report" us to booking.com and expressed their overall displeasure with working with that service. This was a very very uncomfortable encounter with 2 angry, frenzied people who have no customer skills whatsoever. It was only a conversation!
I would almost have liked to pick up our things & go but this would be quite difficult given the hour and I remained concerned they would charge us for the room even if we left.

In the end, we paid for breakfast & dinner and not "the room." They did not subsequently charge us for the room ( at least not yet).
This was a very very bad experience however. Beware!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gottmeinwasist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The hotel is located about 5-10 minutes away from Balestrand, right next to the Dragsvik Ferry so if you have a car this is a good place to stay and explore the area.
Room was comfortable and clean, free WiFi throughout the hotel (even in the patio area where you can enjoy the magnificent view). Very friendly staff.
Breakfast was limited to cold cuts, hard-boiled eggs, some fruit and breads, basic but OK.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senorskytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Wow ! - unforgetable views across the Sognafjord - the best views we've ever had in any location.This is a fairly remote location across the inlet from Balestrand, and you'll probably end up dining in. Family run and very friendly - and quite small, so pleasantly informal. We had a good walk in the evening around some well marked paths around about (map supplied by hotel). Breakfast was good - not a huge selection but pleasant all the same (buffet style so you can have what you want). If you're in this area, make sure you stay here - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were allocated room 105 - which was perfect. A separate sitting room with kitchenette leading to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Dragsvik Fjordhotell for 2 nights. It is a sweet hotel in a magnificent setting on the edge of the Fjord. The nearest town is 9km away and a car is essential. The owners were very helpful and welcoming. Like most hotels in Norway the hotel is small and cosy, do not expect plasma tv's and comtemporary furnishings, but that is the charm of this hotel. The rooms are clean and fairly basic by european standards but anything else would have looked out of place! Lovely nordic style breakfast and we ate in the restaurant in the evening which was really nice and not too expensive by Norweigan standards! You cannot fault this hotel for location, the views are simply breathtaking. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a typical nordic experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.9 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.1 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
14.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
23.6 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
8.3 mi away
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
Leikanger Fjord Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leikanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragsvik Fjordhotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragsvik Fjordhotell

Property: Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Address: Dragsvik 2, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dragsvik Fjordhotell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE HAVE FIVE FJORD CABINS THAT ARE IDYLLICALLY LOCATED IN AN ORCHARD BESIDE THE HOTEL All the cabins have shower/toilet an equipped kitchenette, and an outside terrace with a view towards the Fjaerlandsfjord, the Jostefonn glacier and the mountainous landscape. Two of the cabins, ‘Laksen’ and ‘oretten’ are 35-40 m² and are more suitable for 2 people, a couple or a family with small children. These are cosy cabins with an intimate layout. The cabin ‘orretten’ has an open fireplace. The 3 largest cabins are 50-54 m² with 5 beds divided between 2 bedrooms and a living room. Each cabin has its own parking place approximately 50 metres from the cabin. It is a short distance to the fjord, nature trails and mountain walks. Boat rental : we offer all our guests at the hotel and cabins rental of a rowing boat (15ft) and/or motor boat (4hp). Reservations /enquiries should be made at the reception atleast one day before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dragsvik Fjordhotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing