We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a history”
Review of Fleischer's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fleischer's Hotel
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is a hotel that is very conveniently located near the train and bus stations. Lots of old world charm but facilities are very well-maintained and updated. Beautiful setting across the lake and mountains. Polite, friendly staff. Good food with breakfast and dinner included. We had a great stay and were very happy.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hksydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

The room was nice, ok size. Someone had carved a phone number into the desk that´s not so cool, but what can you do.

The food was clearly semi-manufactured goods (? google translate). And there was obviously a lot of foreign staff since the set up of the food didn´t make to much sense from a norwegians point of view (not a big deal, but it led to a lot of running around, not finding things where you thought you would). They served the same warm lunch two days in a row, again not a big deal, but I expected good food, since the last time I visited (2010) they served great food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here because the hotels in Bergen were overpriced, en route from Geirangerfjord to Oslo, and took the Flam Railway and did other visits in the area. The hotel was bit disappointing at first because it is literally on a train quay and the rooms are a bit shabby. But we ended up enjoying the hotel and the area because the service was excellent, the breakfast was delicious, the small pool and sauna were fun, and it was a great location to explore the area. Its a bit of a frat party in the bar in weekend nights, since there is apparently not much else to do in Voss, but it didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This delightful hotel in Voss has been operated by four generations of the same family. The hotel has an entrance straight off the railway platform - get off the train from Oslo and look to your right as it is near the end of the platform. We stayed two nights in a comfortable room overlooking the small lake. Our double bed consisted of two singles pushed together which appears to be a common occurrence in many European hotels. The hotel itself was a beautiful timber structure with a large dining and lounge area panelled in traditional timber work and was a journey back in time. The family has many portraits of the earlier Fleischers that add a wonderful intimacy and ambience to the areas.

We had excellent breakfast (buffet) and evening meals at Fleischer's and we were particularly impressed with the helpful, cheery staff. Alcohol is extremely expensive everywhere in Norway due to the government monopoly on its sale and price, so if you like a glass of something before or with your meal, be prepared! We would stay at Fleischer's any time in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tupelaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Norway in a Nutshell.

The staff were excellent - a warm greeting from the reception staff and very helpful. The hotel is obviously full of history and is elegant in a old-time way, but its rooms and corridors are showing wear and tear. The carpets are old and musty and need to be ripped out and replaced with timber floors or tiles. Our beds were sloppy and the third person pull-out sofa bed was not very comfortable - springs digging in the wrong place and not a decent mattress. The room was reasonably spacious for the three of us.

The dining area was nice - window view was good - staff excellent. The kitchen area was a total contrast to the rest of the hotel - ultra modern in appearance. Breakfast was excellent. Buffet dinner also excellent - good looking and tasty dishes and a huge selection of everything - enough to satisfy most appetites I would imagine.

Would I stay here again - probably not as it was expensive and was part of the Norway in a Nutshell package - which I would not do again. It seems to be a popular destination for skiers though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This classic railway hotel is situated at one of the ski resorts closest to Bergen. It is a popular place to take the business for a getaway or a short meeting. The rooms are excellent. The restaurant offers excellent norwegian courses but without bells and whistles. The dining room is large and can be a bit loud at times. The hotel as an very nice pool and sauna area. With only a few steps from the railway station its one of the most easily accessible hotels with a snowy mountain view in Norway. The nearby Park Hotel Vossevangen has, with 90000 bottles, one of the largest wine cellars in Northern Europe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

A hotel well worth a visit. My room was very large, and one of the best beds I have ever slept in :)
The 3 course dinner and the breakfast buffet in the hotel´s restaurant was quite impressive and something I gladly experience again! To top an already great evening we spent the rest of the time in the bar, with live piano music and a lively musician!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Voss Municipality
1.0 mi away
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaurant
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaur...
#1 of 7 in Voss Municipality
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Vossevangen
Park Hotel Vossevangen
#3 of 7 in Voss Municipality
176 reviews
16.1 mi away
Myrkdalen Hotel
Myrkdalen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vossestrand
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
371 reviews
22.8 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
245 reviews
17.9 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleischer's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleischer's Hotel

Address: Evangervegen 13, 5704, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Voss Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Voss Municipality
Price Range: £161 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleischer's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fleischer's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleischers Hotel Voss
Fleischer's Hotel Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing