We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Fleischer's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fleischer's Hotel
Adelaide
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at Fleischers as part of the Norway in a Nutshell tour from Oslo to Bergen. The hotel has interesting history and great Alpine atmosphere. Service, food and room were quite acceptable and overall I'm glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    135
    88
    35
    25
See reviews for
57
178
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
312 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst spending a week touring the fjords. The hotel has lots of history but it seems lost within a hotel that, in my opinion, has set it's stall out to cater for large coach parties rather than individual travellers.

Everything about the hotel is ok but it lacks any soul or character. The rooms are very basic but are clean and do have a TV. The public areas again seem dated apart from a small patio area which is nice to sit out on and enjoy the sunshine. However, the hotel is situated on the main road through the town and therefore the traffic directly in front of the hotel is busy. Equally, the hotel backs directly onto Voss railway station so very convenient for some (esp. those doing the 'in a nutshell' tours) but again the noise from the trains will be disruptive to some (although the number of trains coming/going whilst we were there were very few). Due to the size and volume of guests then the hotel meals are all buffet style and generally the food for dinner was average (salads, a choice or hot and cold main courses and then desserts / cheese and biscuits) but in fairness the breakfast, again buffet, was good.

The staff were the highlight being friendly, attentive and very helpful and this despite being inundated at certain times with coach parties as they arrived or departed. They do provide free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and the signal strength was good.

In my opinion, for couples or solo travellers there are better places to stay within reasonable distances - unfortunately I can't comment on the alternatives within Voss.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

This is a hotel that is very conveniently located near the train and bus stations. Lots of old world charm but facilities are very well-maintained and updated. Beautiful setting across the lake and mountains. Polite, friendly staff. Good food with breakfast and dinner included. We had a great stay and were very happy.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hksydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voss Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The room was nice, ok size. Someone had carved a phone number into the desk that´s not so cool, but what can you do.

The food was clearly semi-manufactured goods (? google translate). And there was obviously a lot of foreign staff since the set up of the food didn´t make to much sense from a norwegians point of view (not a big deal, but it led to a lot of running around, not finding things where you thought you would). They served the same warm lunch two days in a row, again not a big deal, but I expected good food, since the last time I visited (2010) they served great food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here because the hotels in Bergen were overpriced, en route from Geirangerfjord to Oslo, and took the Flam Railway and did other visits in the area. The hotel was bit disappointing at first because it is literally on a train quay and the rooms are a bit shabby. But we ended up enjoying the hotel and the area because the service was excellent, the breakfast was delicious, the small pool and sauna were fun, and it was a great location to explore the area. Its a bit of a frat party in the bar in weekend nights, since there is apparently not much else to do in Voss, but it didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This delightful hotel in Voss has been operated by four generations of the same family. The hotel has an entrance straight off the railway platform - get off the train from Oslo and look to your right as it is near the end of the platform. We stayed two nights in a comfortable room overlooking the small lake. Our double bed consisted of two singles pushed together which appears to be a common occurrence in many European hotels. The hotel itself was a beautiful timber structure with a large dining and lounge area panelled in traditional timber work and was a journey back in time. The family has many portraits of the earlier Fleischers that add a wonderful intimacy and ambience to the areas.

We had excellent breakfast (buffet) and evening meals at Fleischer's and we were particularly impressed with the helpful, cheery staff. Alcohol is extremely expensive everywhere in Norway due to the government monopoly on its sale and price, so if you like a glass of something before or with your meal, be prepared! We would stay at Fleischer's any time in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupelaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Norway in a Nutshell.

The staff were excellent - a warm greeting from the reception staff and very helpful. The hotel is obviously full of history and is elegant in a old-time way, but its rooms and corridors are showing wear and tear. The carpets are old and musty and need to be ripped out and replaced with timber floors or tiles. Our beds were sloppy and the third person pull-out sofa bed was not very comfortable - springs digging in the wrong place and not a decent mattress. The room was reasonably spacious for the three of us.

The dining area was nice - window view was good - staff excellent. The kitchen area was a total contrast to the rest of the hotel - ultra modern in appearance. Breakfast was excellent. Buffet dinner also excellent - good looking and tasty dishes and a huge selection of everything - enough to satisfy most appetites I would imagine.

Would I stay here again - probably not as it was expensive and was part of the Norway in a Nutshell package - which I would not do again. It seems to be a popular destination for skiers though.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Voss Municipality
1.0 mi away
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaurant
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaur...
#1 of 7 in Voss Municipality
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Vossevangen
Park Hotel Vossevangen
#3 of 7 in Voss Municipality
152 reviews
16.0 mi away
Myrkdalen Hotel
Myrkdalen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vossestrand
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
204 reviews
17.0 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
318 reviews
18.0 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleischer's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleischer's Hotel

Property: Fleischer's Hotel
Address: Evangervegen 13, 5704, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Voss Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Voss Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleischer's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fleischer's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleischers Hotel Voss
Fleischer's Hotel Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing