We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience, but slightly too pricy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcacer do Sal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience, but slightly too pricy”
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We really looked fwd staying in a pousada and spending Those extra euros in it.the Room was nice,Staff friendly.Dinner however was a desaster.the Most terrible Food we had on our whole Trip.such a pity!!breakfast was good,large Choice of things.Poolarea is surrounded by the Castle Walls on One end which is a nice Feature.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-bugged99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry for not being able to provide you the full Pousadas’ experience. We are glad you have enjoyed your overall stay, but it is a shame that the dinner was not up to the standards. The restaurants of Pousadas de Portugal are known for their sophisticated cuisine, with the best regional gastronomy flavours. In order to improve, we have reported this situation to the Regional Manager.
Thank you very much for the nice comments on the room, the staff performance, the breakfast service and the pool area.
We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    118
    33
    14
    2
See reviews for
94
154
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed here out of season for two nights. The hotel has been converted from a castle perched on top of a hill above the small town of Alcacer do Sal. Every part of it resonates with the history of Portugal. We had a great deal because we are Seniors but there are also deals available, especially at this time of year (January). We booked a superior room but owing to confusion between the centralised booking system and that of the hotel our first night was spent in a standard room - but what a room! And an amzing view over the rice fields, the town and the river estuary. The next night we were offered a superior room and took it - even more amazing! We ate in the hotel for one night and were very pleased with the a la carte meal offering local specialities. Above all, we enjoyed the friendliness and courtesy of the staff which seemed to be typical of all the people we met on our short break in Portugal.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GreyPoundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We stayed in this pousada with our 1 year old. The pousada is housed in a castle on a hill, with a modern annex containing most of the guest rooms. The building is great: while very austere you immediately get the castle-feel. The room was very large and had a nice balcony. The bedroom was modernised (wooden floors, new furniture) while the bathroom was still stuck in the 70s (not a problem, as very large and marble, though they could update the shower head).
I was shocked when I looked under the bed (as you do with toys flying around) and discovered literally heaps of dust. A pity, as the rest of the room was quite clean. Breakfast was ok-ish: all the bare necessities were there, but no great extra´s. There were only very few people staying (apparently), and maybe therefore the amounts offered were quite limited. You will not indulge in three slices of local cheese if there are only 10 slices on display... The goats´ cheese was bad (too old?), and a potential health risk.
What worried me more was the fact that the breakfast room floor hadn´t been cleaned properly: I spotted a pill under our table, which is obviously dangerous with a toddler crawling around (and we were the very first people to arrive at breakfast each morning). During our stay, the receptionist was helpful. We ordered roomservice which came swiftly and at no extra costs (and the food was very good). When we left the receptionist didn´t help us by opening the doors which is a pity as it is a small effort but much appreciated. The garden has some swings for older children but could use something for the under -3´s.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budgetglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This was not our first stay in a Portuguese 'Pousada', which is the name given to a hotel in a historic or generally interesting building - one of a small national chain. We tried two others in 2009 in the eastern Algarve. We seniors qualify for a Golden Age passport, which packages car hire plus discounts on the room rate and restaurant bills. Highly recommended! This pousada is an old castle with fantastic views over rice fields and an old town, where the storks took off from their perches each morning and came home at night. There's a good hotel open-air pool, the buffet breakfasts are excellent, the staff are really good. The old building is not perfectly soundproofed - we got ourselves moved after a noisy night when the kitchens were preparing for a big event - and it is not exactly furnished like a trendy boutique hotel. But it has a very special feel to it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank landscapemanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Pousadas, Manager at Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
190 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

Don't go this place if it's your first time at Pousadas de Portugal. You will regret. Uncosy, bad decoration, big price in exchange for a good service. Choose another place if you have high quality standards when paying more than 125 euros for one night in a Castle.

Good food, it's the greatest attraction of this Pousada.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — small bed
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2007

The building is a castle with a modern wing that houses most of the bedrooms.

We had a room in the old part of the building and it was spacious, very well furnished and very clean. Parts of the outside of the building could have done with a lick of paint, but it was nothing too bad.

As the Pousada is a castle on top of the hill overlooking the town you get great views, but also a steep climb back up from the town.

We tried a couple of the restaurants in the town, the 'Regional Restaurant' was OK, but was a bit cheeky with the number of unordered starters that obviously then appeared on the final bill. Better and friendlier was Restaurante A Descoberta on the river front.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

We spent one night at this pousada on our way to the algarve.
The location is very nice on a hill over the pretty village alcacer do sal.

Public rooms in a mix of the old castle and "new" building. Some renovations especially outside the building would the hotel upgrade visually.

Rooms are nice with all amenities you need for a short stay.
Breakfast was very good, dinner also, with some local specialities and very attend and friendly service.

The pool area we didn't used, because we travelled in march.

Go for it if you just need a serious accomodation between lisboa and algarve.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcacer do Sal
14.6 mi away
Casas da Comporta
Casas da Comporta
#3 of 3 in Alcacer do Sal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
22.7 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
24.9 mi away
Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel A Cegonha
Hotel A Cegonha
#2 of 3 in Alcacer do Sal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
22.6 mi away
Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos
23.7 mi away
Hotel do Sado Business & Nature
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II

Property: Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II
Address: Castelo de Alcacer do Sal, Alcacer do Sal 7580-123, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Alcacer do Sal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcacer do Sal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Alcacer do Sal opened in 1998, is found in the medieval style castle, a hotel of truly luxurious design. This new project was drawn from the ruins of castle, with 33 rooms and 2 suites. The Alcacer do Sal city, with over 5000 years of history, takes us to the end of the Neolith period, one of the main Atlantic costal ports in the south of the Tagus. Throughout the whole city we come across many remnants of the Phoenician, Arab and even Roman culture. The Pousada de Alcacer do Sal has a panoramic view over the Sado River which runs through a vast green valley. Distinguishing characters reside at Pousada which makes it very desirable. The rooms are spacious, delicately decorated with warm colours and wooden furniture offering the guests an experience of the fact that it is actually a castle with a lot of history. Guests can take part in a variety of activities just outside the Pousada de Alcacer do Sal, such as canoeing, fishing, hiking and horse-riding. Alcacer do Sal's railway station is 2.5 Km from the Inn itself and the city of Setubal is a mere 45 minute car ride away. The Pousada defers a parking lot on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Alcacer Do Sal Dom Afonso Ii Hotel Alcacer Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing