We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best European hotel I have stayed in, incredible value for money at €65” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo
Ranked #1 of 4 Redondo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The best European hotel I have stayed in, incredible value for money at €65”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, set in the beautiful countryside of Alentejo. It is a bit remote, on the road between Estremoz and Redondo, and you need a car to get there. But it is worth it!

Firstly the price - the cheapest rooms (which we stayed in) are €65, in an annexe near the main convent building. This is incredible value for money, even by Portuguese standards (we live in Portugal). We had a large room, with onsuite bathroom in marble. For more you can have suites or rooms actually in the old covent itself - our room was still in an old building though. For the quality and historic ambience the hotel is comparable to the Pousadas here, but half the price.

The covent is a beautiful old building, and large, between 800 and 300 years old, and it has been restored very well, keeping all the original features. Inside it is like a museum, with liretally hundreds of azulejos (decorated tile paintings) covering the walls of all the old corridors on the first floor (where the "museum rooms" are), as well as the lobby and a amazing little coutyard behind the hotel. It also has some fantastic mable fountains, and the sound of running water is everywhere. It is a very tranquil place.

The restaurant is good, and not too expensive (€12-15 for a main course, wine from €10 a bottle, beer €2.50), and we are ate there several nights and lunchtimes. The main dining room is decorated with old azulejos and frescos on the ceiling, and you can also eat in the cool cloisters (with the sound of a fountain), or on a terrace with a superb view (more on that later).

Inside the convent there is also a small chapel, a larger church (with azulejos and frecos), a games room with a pool table, and a beautiful terrace with more fountains, sun loungers and great view over the convent. It is full of little corners with great views or features to see, as well as some interesting 20th century art collected by the owners.

There is a circular pool at the back, surrounded by trees and woods giving shade all day long, with plenty of sunloungers, and hammocks in the trees. This also has a marble fountain so there is the sound of water. You can go walking in the woods and cork trees above the covent behind the pool, exploring and getting good views over the convent roofs.

At the front of the hotel is an even better, south facing rectangular pool which has sun all day, on a lovely old brick and stone terrace, which also has trees for shade, and a hammock. This also has a little fountain, so there is the sound of water. This pool was the old irrigation tank of the convent, and all the terrace around it is original brick and stone work from the convent, a very special setting. The covent is in the Ossa hills (Serra d'Ossa), and the view from here over a "sea" of cork trees is truely marvellous - this was my favourite point of the hotel to chill out. Some of the irrigation pipes are still used by the hotel to water a vegetable patch, garden and fruit trees below, where you can also walk.

We booked the hotel for two nights, to have a relaxing break on our way back home after a trip around Andalucia, but it was so cool we stayed on for an extra third night, just to chill out in the tranquil pools and gardens. If you want to explore the area, it is well situtated for day trips, but quite remote, with just a small hamlet nearby (which also has a decent, friendly restaurant - O Chana).

The staff were all very friendly and helpful too. This is the best hotel I have stayed in in Europe, and one of the best I have ever stayed in, amazing value for money, and a true experience. I cannot rate it highly enough!

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are still very comfortable and amazing value, but the bigger suites are still ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Bestione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    49
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
79
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gonderange, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This is the ideal place for a relaxing trip in the Alentejo. The scenery is so beautiful and the hotel facilities just perfect. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It does not felt like a hotel but more like a guest house. The food in the restaurant is really delicious. This old convent is well looked after and the azulejos are worth a visit. After touring in the area the pools are a well deserved treat :)) highly recommended!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank portofan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The location amazing, the main building gorgeous and imposing. You can spend hours just walking the grounds and exploring the inside of the convent.
We stayed in the annex which the rooms were simple but sufficient
We had two rooms in the annex so you have to go to the main building for wifi. They both smelled a bit moist which could be a concern for those with allergies.I am not sure how often the place is treated for bugs, but In the middle of the night my wife woke up screaming . she felt something bite her on her head and then slithered to her face. we turned the lights on and saw a large centipede. WE later notice she had bites on her arm as well. Fortunately she has no allergies but it could have turned out really bad had someone with insect allergies stayed in our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jq q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

A centuries old convent which has been converted into a hotel yet maintained the character of the past. It is a remarkable building and a wonderful experience to stay in such a place. We stayed in one of the rooms outside of the main building but his didn't detract from the experience. Staff were very helpful. The restaurant has god food but prices are dearer than what you would pay in most restaurants in the towns. However it seems as if there are no other local options for food .Although we were told internet is available throughout the building it was pretty patchy and you had to pick you areas. Some of the public areas are decorated with modern art, including many nudes. I have nothing against nude art but I do think this type of art is out of character with the history and ambiance of the building.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Credo505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A remarkable place....a genuine surprise. An old Convent, in the outskyrts of Redondo, very well maintained, where you can enjoy history, peace and tranquility, and beatifull surroundings. You can try the pedestrian walks, outside de convent, or just stay at one of the pools and relax. The outdoor bar has a fantastic view of the hills. There are many corners to explore, and places to read. Un invitation to laziness. The food in the restaurant "O Ermida" is very good, and it has a wonderfull ambiance. The staff is attentive, and makes you feel truly welcomed. A place to return!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed there for a night and enjoyed very much the setting and this unique place. Very well maintained. It's really a museum with beautiful ceramics, ceilings...
Nice rooms with good views on the hills. If you book outside the convent. Charming people working there. The restaurant has good food and good wine too. There are some tracks starting from the hotel and some neolithics sites nearby.
Very clean.
I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arbol75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

In the middle of Serra d'Ossa I wouldn't expect to find such a big monastery that kept it's history and character without being "old".
Very nice environment, calm atmosphere, simple and very discrete service and above all a welcome feeling.
Not the fancy renewed type but the authentic place with history that you can feel.
Wonderful stay, amazing time in the swimming pools, outside there were 43ªC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCBranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo
9.3 mi away
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
20.9 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
9.3 mi away
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Pousada de Estremoz - Rainha Santa Isabel
7.9 mi away
Pateo dos Solares Charm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo

Property: Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo
Address: Aldeia da Serra, Redondo, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Redondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Redondo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Convento de Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Convento De Sao Paulo Portugal/Redondo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing