We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hospitality at its best”
Review of Casa de Terena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Terena
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terena
Reviewed 9 November 2011

we are lost for words at the hospitality and generous nature of JOSE the owner . chatty helpful great cook, and much more besides, he knows,,, Breakfast , evening meals perfect..The house in the peaceful quiet village of Terena has a beautiful old world charm about it.All of the rooms have their own special appeal, well maintained and beautifully kept, which added to the character of the house. Time seems to stand still here.I cannot recommend the house and its host enough.We will be back

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Casa de Terena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

What wonderful hospitality in a little Portuguese backwater..... and by that I mean a beautiful, totally uncommercialised, small village in the middle of magical countryside. Our host was charming and sociable - he chatted to us over a superb dinner (that he had personally cooked - really yummy!) about South Africa, his experiences and all the present problems. We then retired and had a wonderful night's sleep in the peace and quiet one finds in the country. Breakfast was exceptional - freshly squeezed orange juice followed by some perfectly cooked pears that I don't think we shall ever forget! The house itself is fantastic - just the right amount of modern touches but with a hint of Africa here and there. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would not hesitate to recommend Casa De Terena to anyone who wants to stay in this particular part of REAL Portugal. Hope we will be able to some time soon :o)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EllieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The house itself is utterly lovely and the owner, Stella, has a wonderful eye for decor and has made the interior of the house rather magical and at the same time very welcoming. The room we stayed had a wonderful view of the surrounding lake and mountains far, far away. The bathroom was glorious and everything in the room was spotlessly clean with charming, personal touches you don't get in hotels. The service we experienced went beyond the call of duty thanks to the charm and warmth of our hostesses and from our first afternoon we were made to feel as if we were much more than guests. The breakfasts need a special mention as they were homecooked/squeezed/picked and utterly wonderful. Casa de Terena is slap bang next to a castle, within a lovely peaceful village but within very easy driving distance of the bigger towns and attactions. Fantastic stay - can't praise highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosalind79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed 3 fabulous nights at Casa de Terena and it was truly the highlight of our tour of Portugal. It is located off the beaten path in a charming little village seemingly untouched by time. The Casa itself is truly magnificent! With marble stairs originating from Roman ruins, an arched Roman stone ceiling, wood burning fireplaces, and views that will take your breath away. This is a terrific place to explore the beautiful Alentejo region. Without exception, what makes Casa de Terena such an experience are it's wonderful owner (Stella) and her hostess (Hazel). These women love Portugal, and their enthusiasm about the region will ensure that we will get the most out of your stay. They are wonderful hosts who will accommodate your every need and will gladly welcome you with a glass of wine and good conversation. Enough good things can't be said about Casa de Terena...you must experience it for yourself. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The Casa de Terena is incredibly beautifully situated in the charming small town of Terena. We were warmly welcomed with a good Rosé wine and home-meade Tapas, many stories about the area and Portugal in general. Immediately feeling home in this very special place we enjoyed every second in Terena and this house. The big. luxurious breakfast with local products was the perfect ending of our stay. For sure one of the best places to experience the Alentejo. Portugal at its best!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesuswasahovercraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Stella and her friend Hazel were absolutely the best hosts! We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 day stay and all the recommendations they gave us for sightseeing and dining. Every morning we waddled out from the breakfast feast and toured this lovely part of the Alentejo.
Thank you to you both for a wonderful and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanIsleFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed for 4 nights and agree totally with every other positive comment posted here. It was a wonderful experience in every sense.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terena
12.9 mi away
Horta da Moura - Hotel Rural
11.6 mi away
Vila Planicie Hotel Rural
11.1 mi away
Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
Alentejo Marmoris Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
504 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hotel Rural Monte da Provenca
11.1 mi away
Hotel Solar Dos Mascarenhas
Hotel Solar Dos Mascarenhas
#3 of 3 in Vila Vicosa
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Terena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Terena

Address: Rua Direita 45, Terena 7250-065, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Terena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Terena
Price Range: £51 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alentejo is Portugal's most unspoiled region - and Casa de Terena offers the ideal holiday base for discovering this rural idyll. These web pages will give you a glimpse of both this wonderfully unspoiled region and of the Casa that will be your home from home while here. Please click on our gallery to view images and guest reviews of what is truly one of Europe's most special places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa de Terena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Hotel Terena
Casa De Terena Alentejo, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing