We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like your own modern villa in the countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Extramuros

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arraiolos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Extramuros
Ranked #1 of 5 Arraiolos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Like your own modern villa in the countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hugely stylish, small boutique property in the Alentejo countryside. The juxtaposition of the owners' mid-century sensibility and the stark modern architecture of the building with the surrounding country landscape - olive trees, the medieval town of Arraiolos, the flocks of sheep - is really magical. Only five luxe, spacious and modern rooms (with amazing views of the countryside) makes you almost feel like this is your own private retreat. Lovely breakfasts served by the owners, a relaxing, quiet pool area with a huge infinity pool, and high-style decor throughout the property. And the owners will direct you to the best restaurants, sights and shopping in the area. The Alentejo - even the slightly larger town of Evora - still feels like a quiet region - not yet overtaken by tourists - and there's a lot to see - so go now before that changes.

Room Tip: The superior rooms may have better views and/or larger terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place feels like home, the owners are doing their best to help you and recommend you great restaurants or boutiques around the area or in Portugal. We stayed two nights in room 5 on our honey moon and this peaceful retreat is definitely worth the trip.
We can only advise you when going to Portugal to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heureuxchti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

There are places where you always want to return.... Villa Extramuros is the place I would love to return over and over again... It simple has everything to make holidays wonderful! Beautiful location ( Alentejo region is still not touristic, so get there and have it for yourself!), villa/rooms/grounds as mentioned by many others are beautifully designed and very comfortable. The owners know what they do and that makes the place even more special as they do share they favourite places in Portugal... So if you just need ideas for restaurants, places of interest just ask them and sure you will be surprised by their suggestions....Give a try and you will never want to return to big hotels....

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Villa Extramuros surpassed all my expectations.
The location is amazing, all you hear are the birds singing and the sheep. :) It's very peaceful. You also have a perfect view to Arraiolos and Arraiolos' castle.
The building in itself is very beautiful, very simple but sophisticated. It has an outdoor area on the center of the building that smells of orange tree flowers, which is heavenly. There you can rest on very comfortable bean bags/sofa. The pool is great, it has that "infinity edge" look.
The food is very good. Breakfast is included but if you want to have lunch or dinner you must give a day's notice because the food will be prepared for you. :) The location of the meals varies with the weather, so if the weather is good (which it usually is), you can have your meal outdoors, which is very pleasent.
There are only five rooms which is great because it gives you lots of privacy.
Christophe and François are extremely nice :) and very helpful. The cats and their respect for nature give them extra points.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed on a standard room and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

François and Jean-Christophe have created an extraordinary Villa in Arraiolos. The welcoming atmosphere gives a relaxed feeling of staying in the home of friends. Their exquisite taste is visible in a large scale, as well as in the details of the design pieces they have collected. It is a beautiful combination of French, Scandinavian and Portuguese style.

We stayed in a suite, which had the most breath-taking view over a field of olive trees, the swimming pool, a flock of sheep and the village of Arraiolos. It was simply magical…

One of the best places we ever experienced. Highly recommended and definitely a place we will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LE-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our four night staying in Villa Extramuros was no less than an extraordinary experience.
The villa, an architectonic piece, provides its guests with a special combination of luxury, warm hospitality, high end design and aesthetics, serenity and the beautiful landscapes of Alentejo/ Arraiolos.
The suites of this small luxury hotel are big and comfortable, the decoration is top notch combining modern Parisian chic together with stylish usage of authentic local materials and the breathtaking views of olive trees or the castle of Arraiolos which are seeing from everywhere.
Above all, we enjoyed the kind treatment of Francois and Jean-Christophe, the owners, who didn't save any time or effort to serve us and to outfitted us with any information we needed in order to make our visit interesting and special. All that in a gently yet friendly manner.
For example, Francois had connected us to the owner of a traditional weaving factory, a very impressive lady who hosted us for two hours and explained us about the history of the weaving in Portugal. We took with us an unforgettable experience thanks to them!!
Villa Extramuros is highly recommended for being an amazing and unique place for those who would like to spend a fabulous vacation in Alentejo. We hope we will have the opportunity to get back there once again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etzion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We've just spent a week at the Villa Extramuros and would love to go back there right away. Francois and Jean-Christophe are wonderful hosts, the Villa is absolutely stunning and the food was excellent! It was like a 5 star luxury home away from home. We stayed in one of the suites with a wonderful view, two private terraces and a huge bathroom (the Aesop bath products are just the final touch to the marvellous marble and concrete room).
We loved using the common area in the evenings to read the many provided magazines and books in a very stylish surrounding, with soft music, a glass of wine and some olives. The pool area and the patio are wonderful and quiet places during the day, pure relaxation.
We highly recommend having dinner at the Villa. We had dinner there 4 times and loved every bite of it (especially the tomato soup, prepared with eggs, herbs and chorizo - delicious)!
It was a fantastic place to top our holiday in Portugal off and we will hopefully be back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arraiolos
9.0 mi away
Convento do Espinheiro, A Luxury Collection Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Albergaria do Calvario
10.7 mi away
Vitoria Stone Hotel
Vitoria Stone Hotel
#3 of 24 in Evora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pousada Convento Arraiolos
10.3 mi away
Pousada Convento de Evora
1.2 mi away
Casa do Platano
Casa do Platano
#1 of 3 in Arraiolos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Extramuros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Extramuros

Property: Villa Extramuros
Address: Horta do Chaveiro | Estrada das hortas, Arraiolos 7040-114, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Arraiolos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Arraiolos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing