We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location in traditional, yet...”
other travellers have booked this property
Family Room & Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Family Room & Kitchen
Entrance Family Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Family Room & Kitchen
Entrance
Family Room
Desk 1
Fireplace in Living Room
Kitchen
Backyard Door
Kitchen 2
Santa Barbara Beach Muriel
Fireplace 2
Bathroom 1
Shower
Bathroom 2nd Bedroom
Master Bedroom with ensuite bathroom and sliding door to balcony
Master Bath
Loft View
Master Bedroom Closet
Backyard 1
Backyard 2
Bar BQ
View 1
View 2
Laundry 3
Garage Door
Garage
Garage
Santa Barbara Beach
Santa Barbara Beach 2
Santa Barbara Beach 3
Santa Barbara Beach 4
Santa Barbara Beach 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ribeira Grande, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Discover8...
2 reviews
“Excellent location in traditional, yet comfortable home”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very spacious 2 bedroom 3 full bathroom home situated in the perfect central island location on the north shore, within easy walking distance of two beaches, restaurants, grocery store and Ribeira Grande town. This home also has a loft space with several additional beds, plus a sofa bed and futon, providing space for up to 14 people! The living room and kitchen are very open and bright, and although traditional to the island, you'll find all the amenities and comforts you're looking for! Added bonus is the attached garage and very private back yard, though our car was too big to fit in the garage!

Diane was extremely accommodating and helpful both before and during our stay. She provided us with many suggestions of things to do and see, and restaurants to try. She also surprised us with a bottle of wine chilling in the frig, along with cheese, juice and water. Her brother and father live adjacent to the home, so were there to greet us when we arrived and answer any questions we had. It was comforting to know that someone was just next door should anything have come up.

I would highly recommend this rental home to anyone planning on touring the island - it's the perfect central location, and has everything you'd need for a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location, spacious, close to surfing beaches
Liked least: No dishwasher, no clothes dryer
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Hi Lori, I am so happy to hear that we were able to support your vacation with a comfortable and relaxing stay in a traditional setting. Hope we can serve you again in future.
Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidaydr...
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow - Huge house on a wonderful island”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My teens couldn't have been more surprised when we opened the door. The house looks deceptively small from the front but it is by far the largest place we have ever stayed in with room for everyone to spread out and have their space. All the rooms are huge. It is very clean, tastefully decorated, well fitted out with I think, everything you could need and then some. There is a courtyard area and two small balconies at the back of the house leading out from two of the bedrooms.
The location is in a residential area and you can park easily on the road or in the garage. The nearby beach is big with big waves and fun for body boarding or jumping the waves even if you can't surf. Old town and large supermarket are close by. Monte Verde fish restaurant is very good and 10 mins walk. There are a few more places but we didn't get around to eating in them.
As for exploring the rest of Sao Miguel, the central location is perfect. This was our first time to the Azores and I hope not our last. There is so much to see just on this one island. Really peaceful and stunningly beautiful.
Diane and the contact John who lives next door are both very friendly and helpful. If we come again, we'll definitely be staying here.

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a great vacation, we hope we can serve you again in future.
Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nataly_Za...
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and comfortable house”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were 5 people who stayed in this great place for two weeks.
House is really big and even much better than on photos. There was wine and some food to make breakfast waiting for us.
House is located very good as you are almost in the middle of island and you can get to every of beautiful places in the island very fast.
In few minutes walk is perfect beach, great restaurants and big supermarket.
House is perfectly equipped, we were even surprised about so fast WiFi.
We are perfectly satisfied with choosing this place and hope to stay here during our next visit to this Wonderful island!

P.S. super bonus was that we were met in the airport absolutely for free.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Thanks for being our guests, so happy to hear your enjoyed your accommodations, look forward to accommodating you in future.

Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovaScoti...
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Even Better than Advertised!”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Two couples booked for two weeks - the place was even better than the photos! Very spacious, lots of room for more if necessary. Thanks to John for all the very helpful travel info; we found lots to eat and do. The Azores are a beautiful, magical place and we hope to visit again.

Date of stay: May 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Thanks for your kind review, so glad you had a good time. Hope we can be of service again in future.
Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcrow10
Branford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“a great place”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A great house. Well equipped Extremely clean. Two bottles of wine , some beer and some snacks awaited our arrival. The house is an easy walk to beach and town. The next door neighbor answered all questions and supplied us with good recommendations of places to go and eat. Owner was helpful with booking and directions. Book it and enjoy you stay!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: as comfortable as home
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
Thanks for your review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Hope we can serve you again in future.
Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmh992016
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“good times”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

...we had in casa santa barbara! spacious, close to the sea, in a friendly neighbourhood, fully furnished and equipped, with the perfect host next door, who welcomed us with some food and drinks, answered our questions and solved our problems, there was nothing we missed. Thanks for the stay on this beautiful island!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again in future.
Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayne p
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic spacious house”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed here for a week in December 2015. The owner was really helpful prior to the holiday, returning emails promptly, providing directions from the airport, information on facilities available and recommendations of local places to eat. The house was modern and superbly equipped with a modern kitchen, plenty of cooking utensils, a coffee machine, toasted sandwich maker etc. On arrival there was wine and cupboards stocked with tea, coffee, sugar,salt, pepper, herbs etc. The oven and fridge/freezer were very new and large enough for a group to prepare food. The house was spacious with three bathrooms with modern efficient showers with plenty of hot water. There was ample bedding and towels provided. The enclosed patio had table and chairs for relaxing in, with a bbq. The house was a in good location, five minutes to the beach. Overall the house was excellent and we would definitely return again.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2015
Thanks for the review Jayne, we hope to have you back in the future. Best wishes for the holiday season!
Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.