We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and welcoming staff”
Review of Hotel Belsol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belsol
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmonte
Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good hotel and welcoming staff”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Very good hotel. Reception upgraded us for a triple room with a huge balcony, what was great to admire the lovey garden and beautiful view. The swimming pool looks rather nice, though we did not use it as it was still cold. Good protected wifi in the room.
The only cons is that the hotel is not in the center of Belmonte and one needs a car to get there. All in all a very good option for the ones wishing to know Belmonte, homeland of Pedro Alvares Cabral who discovered Brazil.

Room Tip: Choose front room for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CariocaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    42
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
27
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anywhere
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The staff at the hotel was very welcoming. The rooms (we had two) were a decent size. The grounds were beautiful, obviously well tended to. There's a pool in the back with ample lounge chairs. The restaurant had a nice selection and the food was very good, considering that it was in a hotel. A buffet breakfast was included and there were both hot and cold dishes from which to choose. While the hotel was not in the center of town, it was only 5 minutes away. All in all, it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abeonaadiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Ideal for overnight stay if travelling from UK to Portugal by car. Little oasis - beautiful area and hotel very attractive. Lovely rooms with balconies, friendly staff and excellent outdoor swimming pool. Food average as long as you are not too adventurous in your choice from the menu.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed for one night, and found this hotel to be pretty nice. By no means is it luxurious, and the room (especially our bathroom) was small, but you don't expect too much given the reasonable price. The setting is not in the old quarter of Belmonte, but in a nice, open location about a mile down the hill from Belmonte, with ample parking. Our room had a good view over to the mountains to the west. We found the restaurant (which also has good views) to be very good---much better than expected for a motel-type lodging. Both the hotel and restaurant pricing is a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2007

After 10 days' driving from Cherbourg to Faro Return, staying in Paradores, Pousadas and various hotels, my wife and I voted Hotel Belsol the best value-for-money of all for a stop-over.

Wine was less than half the price on the Algarve.
Accommodation at €55 B&B was great value and included A/C which a Paradore at €144 B*B did not include.
Food was very good basic Portuguese.
Service was very efficient and friendly, even when communication was mostly through sign-language.

In short, it was as good a stop-over experience as any. But at a total cost for accommodation, food and plenty of wine of €107 it compared very favorably with the €250+ we tended to pay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Value -for-Money, Room was modern with all facilities required plus a small balcony, location near motor-way
  • Disliked — Staff did not have much English and we had no Portuguese
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaddyFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmonte
20.6 mi away
TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel
TRYP Colina do Castelo Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castelo Branco
395 reviews
6.4 mi away
O Alambique de Ouro Hotel Resort & Spa
14.3 mi away
Pousada Serra da Estrela
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
42 reviews
12.9 mi away
Solneve Hotel
Solneve Hotel
#9 of 10 in Covilha
103 reviews
22.3 mi away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belsol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belsol

Property: Hotel Belsol
Address: Quinta do Rio estrada No 18 | Ginjal, Belmonte 6250-076, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Belmonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belsol 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belsol Hotel overlooks the Zêzere valley and the Serra da Estrela mountain.It is located in the village of Belmonte between Covilhã and Guarda cities.Belsol Hotel has 53 bedrooms all equipped with private bathroom with hair dryer and air conditioning.The Hotel has family rooms available(rooms with three individual beds).All the bedrooms have also direct dial telephone,satellit television and safe.The restaurant has a panoramic view over the Zêzere river and specialises in the regional cuisine.The Hotel has an outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belsol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing