We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Belsol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belsol
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmonte
Certificate of Excellence
East sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

While being a fairly old Hotel, it is very well kept and maintained. The flowers/ garderns are beautiful. The reception and hotel decor is quite bright and homely feeling. The views are phenominal. Rooms were spacious, clean, tidy and had a lovely balcony attached. Staff were friendly and helpful. I was surprised how few guests there were, but I suppose the hotel is a bit far out and perhaps not in season? There is a tennis court (which we used) and a swimming pool (which we also used) but was far too cold as it is not quite in season yet. A really wonderful experience.

Slight negatives:
Beds were a little too firm for my liking, and I found it a bit difficult to sleep. Heard someone from along the same floor getting up in the morning- was very noisy!

Room Tip: Some rooms on the 1st floor have a larger balcony (rooms 101- 104 I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Egyptmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    40
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lisboa
Level Contributor
333 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Excellent location to visit Belmonte and other legendary villages like Sortelha and Sabugal or the highest mountains in Portugal, Serra da Estrela. The hotel is great in every way: very friendly and helpfull staff, good restaurant, very nice pool, parking in front of the hotel, large and confortable rooms with great view to the mountains. Can't say anything negative about this hotel. And the best of it the excellent price/quality relation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miguel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is an excellent hotel. The room was very nice with a little balcony and a lovely view across the valley. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was first class. The breakfast was extensive and could not be faulted. The manager was extremely helpful, planning an itinerary for us to explore the wonderful Serra de Estrela.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
171 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Very good hotel. Reception upgraded us for a triple room with a huge balcony, what was great to admire the lovey garden and beautiful view. The swimming pool looks rather nice, though we did not use it as it was still cold. Good protected wifi in the room.
The only cons is that the hotel is not in the center of Belmonte and one needs a car to get there. All in all a very good option for the ones wishing to know Belmonte, homeland of Pedro Alvares Cabral who discovered Brazil.

Room Tip: Choose front room for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CariocaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The staff at the hotel was very welcoming. The rooms (we had two) were a decent size. The grounds were beautiful, obviously well tended to. There's a pool in the back with ample lounge chairs. The restaurant had a nice selection and the food was very good, considering that it was in a hotel. A buffet breakfast was included and there were both hot and cold dishes from which to choose. While the hotel was not in the center of town, it was only 5 minutes away. All in all, it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abeonaadiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Ideal for overnight stay if travelling from UK to Portugal by car. Little oasis - beautiful area and hotel very attractive. Lovely rooms with balconies, friendly staff and excellent outdoor swimming pool. Food average as long as you are not too adventurous in your choice from the menu.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
306 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed for one night, and found this hotel to be pretty nice. By no means is it luxurious, and the room (especially our bathroom) was small, but you don't expect too much given the reasonable price. The setting is not in the old quarter of Belmonte, but in a nice, open location about a mile down the hill from Belmonte, with ample parking. Our room had a good view over to the mountains to the west. We found the restaurant (which also has good views) to be very good---much better than expected for a motel-type lodging. Both the hotel and restaurant pricing is a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmonte
14.3 mi away
Pousada da Serra da Estrela
12.3 mi away
TRYP Covilha Dona Maria Hotel
6.4 mi away
O Alambique de Ouro Hotel Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Eufemia
Hotel Santa Eufemia
#4 of 10 in Covilha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
14.1 mi away
Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais
3.7 mi away
Fundao Palace Hotel
Fundao Palace Hotel
#4 of 5 in Fundao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belsol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belsol

Property: Hotel Belsol
Address: Quinta do Rio estrada No 18 | Ginjal, Belmonte 6250-076, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Castelo Branco District > Belmonte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belsol 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belsol Hotel overlooks the Zêzere valley and the Serra da Estrela mountain.It is located in the village of Belmonte between Covilhã and Guarda cities.Belsol Hotel has 53 bedrooms all equipped with private bathroom with hair dryer and air conditioning.The Hotel has family rooms available(rooms with three individual beds).All the bedrooms have also direct dial telephone,satellit television and safe.The restaurant has a panoramic view over the Zêzere river and specialises in the regional cuisine.The Hotel has an outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belsol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing