We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view in a romantic location”
Review of Peneda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peneda Hotel
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view in a romantic location”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

What a beautiful valley this hotel is located in! Real Portugal with the long-horned cows and wild horse by the side of the road. The hotel is a very friendly place with really helpful staff. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and it was very nice! Really tasty steak and a fantastic Chocolate Mousse to finish with. The lounge upstairs has a lovely cozy fireplace and you have a big sofa in front to curl up in. What about the price too! A great bargain as the rooms are simple but clean and with an excellent bathroom. You get an old-style key which just adds a bit more romance to the trip. I really liked this place and if you´re into climbing and all that activity stuff it would be a great base. It really is an oasis of tranquility in our stressful world!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 70COWANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    34
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is situated amidst a magnificent valley, and every morning, as the sun lights it up, it feels like a little miracle. The solemn and soothing sounds of the waterfall above and underneath the hotel may wash away all the troubles of the stressful world outside the valley.
The views are simply breathtaking, the hikes are a must.

I'd like to point out some practical considerations to be had: in the low season, there is not much of a choice of places to eat, apart from a couple of cafes (closed at 7 pm) and the hotel restaurant. So bear this in mind if you look for variety. In that case, you wouldn't want to look at the hotel's breakfast, to be honest. Another restaurant opens in the village only for the high season. Alternatively, you may want to try the restaurants in Castro Laboreiro (17 km away).
Please make sure you have some extra cash in your purse and plenty of petrol in your car, since there are no ATMs or petrol stations nearby. No food shops either.

So plan ahead and enjoy your peaceful stay at this hidden-away place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Tottington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Peneda Hotel is the perfect place to stay away from the big cities rush and be in the middle of a incredible natural park. The rooms are simple, clean and not to small. The sound isolation between rooms could be better, unfortunately it's something I experience more and more nowadays. There's no mobile phones coverage but the internet is very fast, with extraordinary coverage throughout the hotel rooms and other areas, and it's free! The only option for food is the Hotel restaurant, which is good and not very expensive. However, you can take a 15min drive to Castro Laboreiro, a small village with plenty of options. I highly recommend to visit Castro Laboreiro's small castle, it's a 25min climb but the view from there is breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAlves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Do stay here if you can. The rooms are simple but adequate. The service is friendly and the restaurant downstairs is fine. But come for the scenery, views and hikes. There are lots of people (tour busses) during the day visiting the church, but don't be put off, it is very quiet in the evening. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oporto/Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Situated inside the National Parc of Gerês, in the north of Portugal (Minho region), right on the spot of a sanctuary (Senhora da Peneda), this hotel occupies part of ancient premisses of a convent and has the greatest granite rock as background, with an amazing waterfall completing the idyllic picture. If you want to experience a true peaceful vacation in the countryside, along with top sympathy hotel services and with great value for the money, take this pick! And don't forget to visit several uniques villages along the way, tasting local gastronomy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the little front square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have stayed 4 nights. I am sure it is the best location in the the Northern sector of Peneda Geres National Park. Lonely Planet says "if you only stay one night in the park, stay here".
I say, "stay 3 or 4 nights".
The hotel, the village, the setting, the park, the staff, the free wifi are all amazing. We did a 2-4 hour hike each day - the hotel made us a fabulous picnic each day - huge salad baguette, fresh orange, bottled water all for 6 euro per person - bring your hiking shoes & a day pack.
The rooms are cozy, and only double-sized bed I think, but very satisfactory for the price. The lounge is great.
We were blessed (I think not by Lady Fatima) with great weather - early June & nearly 25C each day with bright sunshine - the outdoor chairs, tables & lounges are fab. I think it gets busier weekends & July & August & especially pilgrimage week 31 August to ?September 7. Non-religious tourists probably should avoid pilgrimage week but early June is fab. Get your maps from the park office on the way in & do the walks @ Gavieira, Baleoral, & Soajo.
Local Cafe Transmontana 1km downhill (1 coffee & 1 beer for less than 2 euro) & in Lindoso 20 minutes drive downhill were fab.
We dined each night in the hotel restaurant - great food especially the shrimp / prawn, the pork belly, & the steak / veal. The staff responded very well to all my requests such as extra side salad, cheese platter etc.
The hotel webpage photos accurately represent the hotel, but the area is so beautiful & has so much to offer as a natural & geological & cultural destination.
I recommend everyone comes here for 3-4 days rest & relaxation. Bring good books or kindle & chill.

Room Tip: I think they are all te same, a compromise between their pilgrim origins & the constraints of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We drove from the lovely little town of the Ponte de Lima along the N203 into the Parc National de Peneda y Geres. Driving across the dam at Lindoso and on into the park with it's glorious views of valleys and peaks is memorable indeed. The hillsides were clad in purple heather and golden broom.
The Peneda Hotel was an inviting, comfortable oasis, nestling beside the pilgrimage church. We spent a tranquil afternoon in the area, beside the stream and a very pleasurable evening in the restaurant with great food, wine and service.
The hotel used to be a pilgrims hostel and has been well converted into a comfortable hotel with big windows, easily opened for comfort.
We had a great nights' sleep and enjoyed a good healthy breakfast the rest of the drive out of the park the following day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcos de Valdevez
13.1 mi away
Luna Arcos Hotel
Luna Arcos Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arcos de Valdevez
110 reviews
16.4 mi away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
306 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hotel Fonte Velha
Hotel Fonte Velha
#2 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Pousada do Geres - Canicada Charming Hotel
17.2 mi away
Aguas do Geres - Hotel, Termas & Spa
10.5 mi away
Monte Prado Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peneda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peneda Hotel

Property: Peneda Hotel
Address: Lugar da Peneda | Gavieira, Arcos de Valdevez 4970-150, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Arcos de Valdevez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arcos de Valdevez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Peneda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Peneda Mountain's shaded you can live the thrill of the discovery by the amazing landscape. UNESCO World Heritage and elected has one of the Portuguese Seven Wonders, part of the PANPARKS group, o Espaço Peneda materialize the true highland spirit of contemporaneity.The Peneda Hotel, built next to Nossa Senhora da Peneda Sanctuary, has 20 rooms equipped with private bathroom, telephone, cable tv, WIFI Internet and desk. Join us in our restaurant where you can taste the best of Portuguese cuisine - specially from Minho region.Peneda Hotel is located about 40km from Arcos de Valdevez and 26km from Melgaço. The Francisco Sá Carneiro Airport (Porto) is 150km away while the Peinador Airport (Vigo) is only at 40min away from the Peneda Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peneda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peneda Hotel Portugal/Arcos De Valdevez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing