We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasant surprise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Vanatorul

Restaurant Vanatorul
Price range: US$14 - US$21
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unpleasant surprise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My recent experience there is unfortunately a bad one. I know this restaurant for more than twenty years and I considered the best place to eat in Poiana Brasov. Till this year. The menu has changed in a bad sense, the main courses are fewer and side dishes, beside boiled vegetables resumed to just one, horrible and greasy chips served with everything. The service and atmosphere is very good as it was, but the prices are higher with no reason (the prices in this restaurant was always higher than average but, at least the food was alright). So the only reason for my rating is the pleasant memories I have about good food and great time spent in this restaurant in the past. For the present it worth maximum two stars (poor), For the future, will see.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucho_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    71
    46
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“big surprise!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I haven-t been there since last autumn and ... surprise! the menu was totally changed, the food very good and very beautifully arranged on the plate .. Master Chief's ...
Very good atmosphere, waiters smiling and attentive if you needed anything .. we were three couples and we had a great time! You can enjoy a romantic dinner, the surrounding scenery is great, but also you can have fun with friends.
Another plus that I must mention is the bill ... lower than expected ....
I recommend ... worth trying, definitely we will come back

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adina1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Expensive and food not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Amazed by the view i've decided to eat lunch there but i've paied lots of money on poor meal got hornets flying around,lots of them.
I don't recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“maybe for drinks and desserts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

not impressed with the food. quite expensive. desserts are good. service is also fine even if we had to wait a bit for the food

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Classic location, good food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

A nice restaurant with good food. A beautiful view, a classic mountain restaurant. The waiters are a little old fashioned, some are friendly, others less kind. Worth trying.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ionescu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Vanatorul also viewed

Poiana Brasov, Brasov County
 
Poiana Brasov, Brasov County
Poiana Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Restaurant Vanatorul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing