We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful. Amazing. Beautiful. Superb.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
View from the neighbourhood, showing the elements that make this property a work of art
on the top porch, you won't get enough of the views, the mountains are so close
View from the gates, the house sits proud above the level of the driveway
The gate roof pattern is a solar symbol kept since ancient times, when the Sun was worshipped
Living room log burning stove
View from the side steps leading to the back of the house, shows the hand crafted pine shingled roof
One of the 3 log burning stoves (this one is in the living room)
Dining area
A hot cosy tea made from locally picked herbs
Master bedroom - bedroom 2 - a spacious lavish room with a noble feel
The top porch is the ideal place to spend your waking hours, or relax absorbing the peace and views
Bedroom 1 - stove view - a bright happy room furnished to display tradional crafts
The top porch arcades feature an inherited architectural element, which frames the outdoors so well.
Single Bedroom downstairs
Pyramid shaped stone in the back garden, with old foot step marks on it
Majestic view at the top of  the garden
Ancient deity portrait - believed to have been here since Pre-Christian times
Back garden - opposite view. The two little dots are me and my daughter picking wild herbs
Village surroundings, seen from the hill where the local wooden church hides
Hand crafted bench swing with a pine shingled roof
Veins on a stone pyramid in the back garden, there are also foot step marks on the same rock
A tourist map of the area
The back garden seen from the top of the foot path round the back of the house
The village church, a historic monument dated 1758, wooden structure and with iconic shingled roof
As magical in winter
The house sits at the foot of this mountain, where the black mountain  wall is
Rock formation in the village
A winter view
Front view from the gate entrance
Single bedroom downstairs
Kitchen view
Double bedroom with stove upstairs
Twin bedroom with stove upstairs
Traditional front gates with shingled roof and parking area
Outdoor barbecue
Large traditional balcony upstairs with mountain and river views
Living room with traditional stove sitting and dining area for up to 6 people
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Buzau, Buzau County, Southeast Romania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cristian...
1 review
“Wonderful. Amazing. Beautiful. Superb.”
Reviewed 2 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

There are few words to describe the beauty of this place. The sounds of the river and the forest give you a state of quiet as you rarely find it. The manor ... once you get there, you do not want to leave anymore. A place in the countryside where you are transported in the past, when life flowed peacefully...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2018
Dear Cristian, we are so grateful for guests like you. It is a blessing to have visitors that appreciate the sheer natural beauty of this location and the atmosphere of 'once upon a time' that the Manor has. Thank you for saying it exactly how it is!
And of course, Casa Măntescu awaits you to come back again sometime!
Warm wishes,
Ramona Mellor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaDoch...
Campina, Romania
1 review
“Real life, real nature, amazing views”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Myself and my husband stayed here in June for five nights and felt unbelievably relaxed and connected with the nature around us. The sights are spectacular, truly magical mountain views! We took lots of walks around the village and explored the surroundings without venturing too far, but found plenty to see. The back garden has fantastic panorama of the area, there are plenty of landmarks that you can discover like the pyramid shaped rock in the garden, the pre-Christian deity portrait drawn on the mountain cliff overlooking the village, the fossilized foot prints on the bedrock along the river bank five minutes' walk from the house. Round the back of this there is what looks like a giant's throne with an old inscription. For such a remote location there is so much to see. We made sure we had appropriate footwear and clothing for mountain treks as advised by the host and it was the right thing to do. If you didn't see houses here and there you would think you are in the middle of nowhere. However we never felt unsafe as host was always available on the other end of the phone for any help.
We will definitely come back to explore more!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2018
Dear Paula,
Casa Măntescu is a place that tells a story which is as interesting and magical as you portrayed it in your lovely comments! Thank you for kindly sharing your impressions! We are so grateful you took the time to write them! Looking forward to welcoming you back to Casa Măntescu sometime!
All the best,
Ramona Mellor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luizamiha...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“A great place to visit for nature and tranquility lovers!”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Myself and family spend a weekend in this amazing property and location away form the very busy day to day rush of the city life in July 2017.
Located in an amazing landscaping, surrounded by mountains, hills and rivers, this is definitely the place we will always go back for a special touch of nature, peace, traditions and tranquility.
The accommodation is perfect for families with kids or couples, with access to modern day facilities mixed with authentic Romanian village house architecture, whereby each corner of it has a 100 plus years story to tell! Not to mention that at night time the view of the Milkyway is stunning!
We thank Ramona and Paul for being great hosts, for all the assistance in planning the trip and making it memorable!
If you wish to convince yourselfs that fairytales are for real, you must visit this place!
We will definitely be back for more stories!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AureliaC4...
Grantham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“August break”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I booked this stay directly with the owner recently and it was absolutely unforgettable. The location is magical, very peaceful and worth the 3 and a half hour journey from Bucharest airport. The owner was very helpful with giving us directions to the place and all the assistance we needed. The house is amazing, very cosy and very welcoming, you have all the facilities to make you feel at home. Even a walk down the village and admiring the surroundings can be enough to make you completely go back in time and experience life as it was once. The local shop is a walking distance so even if we ran out of bread etc the owner ordered us supplies and we only has to pick them up. the milk and eggs come from the locals and they taste out of this world. So does the cheese. When we left out camera was full, we took lots of candid pictures and scenic ones, we felt like we didn't want to go back home but at least we've got the pictures to remind us of this wonderful place. One to definitely go back to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Dear Aura,

It's wonderful to know you had such a great memorable stay and it was a real pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. Look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing