We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful winter break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Finca Valbono
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Aracena
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful winter break”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in one of the chalets in the first week of January. It was lovely and warm, despite chilly outside temperatures at night. Comfortable and included an excellent breakfast. Very welcoming, friendly people with plenty of good recommendations for local walks. A perfect start to the year. We had dinner in the restaurant every evening, see separate report!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    50
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
34
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the main hotel building. The room was very good and the view from the balcony was fantastic the sunrise especially. We used the pool and the grounds are nice to walk round. We didn't use the restaurant as we like to eat in different places. The town of Aracena is just 2km away and was realy nice. There are plenty of walks/hiking in the area. You see the famous black pigs, the cork oaks and woodlands of chestnut. It realy is great for a 3 night visit but a car is essential

Room Tip: Rooms in main hotel for couples are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_stephen37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
277 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was looking for a place away from the August crowds where I could relax on the way to Southern Spain. This place fitted the bill very very well. It is close to Aracena but protected from the town by hillocks and trees, so very peaceful. The hotel appears to be an old mansion, with high ceilings, a dignified entry opposite a small seating area that is delightfully shaded by pergolas overgrown with vines overlooking grass and trees.
A 200 metre walk brings you to an unexpectedly large swimming pool, open to hotel guests, who have a reserved sun lounger area, and to users of the adjacent restaurant. The pool was never even remotely crowded and I frequently swam alone or with only one other person in the water. The pool restaurant has a limited menu but serves very decent food at lunch and in the evening (make sure you let them know in advance if you decide to have your evening meal there). A few minutes from the hotel is a walk in the "huertas" area, the large vegetable gardens bordered by a stream and using ingenious irrigation channels to water the crops. Very peaceful and quite shaded, the walk, which is not circular, takes a little over two hours and is virtually traffic free.
I enjoyed my stay here enough to rebook for my return at the end of the holidays.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffordchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent a wonderful Easter holiday in the natural park of Sierra Aracena y Picos Aroche. Delightful landscapes, wonderful paths to enjoy, and superb food. We lived in a cozy lounge, andalusian style, with fire place and kitchenette to cook at wish. Very enjoyable staff, always helpful to suggest the best spots to visit and best restaurants for a splendid dinner. Do not forget to taste some slices of genuine Jamón Ibérico from Jabugo (15 to 10 Km far from Aracena). It is worth to visit the caves of Aracena, right in the middle of the village, with incredible saloons full of karstic formations and underground lagoons.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis_E_HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Two nights to break the journey from Granada to Lisbon. Very conveniently located quite close to the main road past Aracena. Very restful. Warm chalet. A large comfortable lounge in the lobby with open fire was a good place to sit, read and surf the internet. Coffee whenever wanted. Half board included an evening meal at the independently owned restaurant close by: that was very good value. Unfortunately our Spanish didn't extend to asking for a map of local foot paths. Too cold at this time to use the beautiful outdoor pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonsdaleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed in One of the apartments in April 2013 as wanted more freedom and privacy than a hotel room. The apartment was lovely and warm. It had central heating and also a log fire, one evening it was only 5 degrees outside however it was lovely warm and cosy inside without using the log fire. The apartment was also very clean. There is a very small kitchen area, for those who want to cook for themselves, but there is no oven only two electric rings so cooking could be a bit tricky. The finca is definitely traditional Andalusian style, breakfast is what Spanish would expect, with bread, meats, and cereal, don expect a British bacon and egg affair. We ate at the hotel twice, it was ok but one one evening they ran out of choice as the hotel was full. We also ate in the centre of Aracena, twice, lots of choice and some lovely tapas bars. It is approx 20 minute walk, the road is not too busy but make sure that you take a torch for the return if traveling at night. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and relaxing, The staff were lovely,nothing is too much trouble. They were happy to serve endless coffee and and drinks on the lovely terrace. Would definitely return here if returning to the beautiful area of Aracena.

Room Tip: Apartments are a little more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William190793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Aracena itself is a beautiful sierra town, and if you like the Spanish way of life you could spend a holiday without even sampling the glorious countryside round about. Finca Valbono is half a mile out of town, on a wooded hillside and with a splendid and spacious swimming pool. We were late arrivals and we went into town for a meal, so didn't sample the dining room. Our room was pristine, overlooking the grounds, and proved very comfortable. Breakfast was provided unattended; an extensive cold buffet was laid, fresh fruit juice ready, and a coffee machine, from all of which one helped oneself. There were obviously few staff, but there is evidence of care and diligence in the design and execution of the hotel's offering, and the staff that we saw were friendly and helpful. I would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aracena
1.0 mi away
Hotel Convento Aracena & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Era de Aracena
Hotel La Era de Aracena
#6 of 9 in Aracena
80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Finca La Media Legua
Finca La Media Legua
#2 of 9 in Aracena
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Posada de Valdezufre
0.8 mi away
Essentia Hotel Restaurante Galeria
6.3 mi away
Casona del Duende
Casona del Duende
#1 of 1 in Alajar
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca Valbono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca Valbono

Property: Hotel Finca Valbono
Address: Aldea Carboneras Km 1,2 | Huelva, 21208 Aracena, Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Huelva > Sierra de Aracena and Picos de Aroche Natural Park > Aracena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Aracena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Finca Valbono 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Finca Valbono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing