We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Finca Valbono
Nearby Hotels
Essentia Hotel Restaurante Galeria(Aracena)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
La Casa Noble(Aracena)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Andalucia Mia(Aracena)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
33
53
18
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
53
18
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet locationmain buildingswimming poolfincakmwalkspatiotown
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2008

We thought the apartments were very good - well furnished and peaceful and you did have the option to do your own breakfast .
To us North Europeans the start time of 9.00 for dinner is always a bit of a shock but hey this is Spain and this is an unspoilt piece of Spain.
We would go again .

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HenryLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2007

My husband and I stayed for our four-year wedding anniversary. Finca Valbono was fairly easy to find and is located about a mile outside the center of the city of Aracena. There is a narrow road leading up to the hotel/restaurant after entering the front gate. The road should be one way but is used for both coming and going, so be cautious. There is ample parking for guests at the hotel. Wooden posts separate the parking spaces, making entering and exiting vehicles a bit challenging.

The hotel was clean overall. There is a television with VCR and DVD downstairs in the lobby; It was off throughout our visit. There are magazines (in Spanish) and a few info pamphlets about activities in the local area in the lobby as well. A local map is provided at the front desk if you ask. I didn't know until we checked in, but a passport is required for check-in. My passport was returned to me immediately after my information was recorded on a form that I had to sign. Most of the hotel staff speaks English, or is at least able to speak and understand enough English to take care of basic requests.

Our room was fairly clean. I would give it a 3/5. I stayed at three hotels in Spain prior to this one and none of them had bath cloths in the bathroom (this is probably normal throughout Europe). Neither did Finca Valbono so be sure to bring your own.
There is no carpet in the room. It was a little noisy because there was nothing to soak up the sound of people opening and closing the doors. The mini refrigerator in the room was stocked with beer, juice, soda and water. I'm not sure how much they cost because we brought our own beverages and no pricelist was provided in the room. We were given one key to our room which caused a slight problem. The key is used to lock the door from the inside and outside. A bolt is on the door for added security, but I wouldn't trust it alone. It's not very sturdy. You're basically left with two options if someone leaves the room; Either someone is going to be locked out of the room or someone is going to be locked in. Most people won't feel comfortable sleeping or taking a shower with only the bolt engaged.

We had dinner 2 nights at the hotel. The menu was the same each night. The mixed music CD they played was the same each night. The food was good although it wasn't piping hot. The waiter made recommendations both nights and then returned a few minutes later (both nights!) to tell us that what he recommended was not available or not available as described on the menu. For example, my husband ordered a cold soup from the menu and he was told minutes later that the soup would be hot. I had breakfast one morning. It's called a "buffet" but only sliced ham, cheese, chicken, bread; yogurt, cold cereal, various teas, coffee, Yoo-hoo type drinks, fresh fruit, milk and juice was offered. I went down the next morning and decided not to eat there since the same thing was on the "buffet". I wasn't happy with the lack of variety. It's definitely not worth 8 euro.

My husband and I took a walk to check out a little of the property. We saw some fenced-in deer and goats. We didn't see any horses. The basketball court was located in the middle of the soccer field. There was virtually no grass on the field. I only remember seeing one soccer goal. I wasn't impressed with that part of the property at all. We didn't use the pool but noticed quite a few guests enjoying it. The patio area outside the hotel is a nice place to sit and read or enjoy a cup of coffee, etc. The lobby area is too.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay. It was a very quiet place except for mornings when people were leaving their rooms. The staff was very nice and helpful and there was lots of privacy.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZionHeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

We stayed at the Finca Valbono for our first wedding anniversary, and also to escape the summer heat of Seville.

It's a working farm with goats and horses - loved the tinkling goatbells as they climbed the hill opposite the hotel.

We chose an apartment, was was housed in a small double-level building with kitchen - fridge, double hob, sink, table and chairs; living area - sofa-seat build into the wall, armchair and fireplace; and upper level sleeping area and bathroom. All simply but attractively furnished - nothing fancy so no room for bad-taste booboos. Air con and a few satellite TV channels - not crucial but welcome.

Main hotel was lovely - pretty arcaded terrace with vine overhead, views to fields and tree-covered hills opposite. We had dinner, which was excellent with generous portions and good service - friendly and attentive without being too in-our-faces. Very professional. Didn't make it to breakfast (even though it's served till 11.30).

Swimming pool up the hill and then down again - very big - 25x10m, ever so slightly scruffy but lovely bit of grass and shady fig tree so doesn't matter.

All in all, a peaceful, charming and extremely comfortable place.

3  Thank Fififlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews