We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Obispo
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I thought we were staying in San Sebastián but as we were travelling with friends they decided to stay here and so did we!

What a great choice. I love bustling San Sebastián but to be honest it was so relaxing to stay up the road in Hondarrabia that I would do it again for sure.
There's a regular bus from just below the hotel to the centre of San Sebastián - no parking hassle and drink as much Txacoli with your pintxos as you like!!

The hotel is in a lovely old palace in the old part of town. It's in a pretty square and there are cafés and restaurants in easy walking distance.

We had a superior room (24) and it was large and airy with windows on both sides. A window in the bathroom too which is also a bonus. Comfortably furnished and well equipped. There is free wifi in the rooms although it was a tad hit and miss. It worked perfectly in the reception area which was fine for me.

Super breakfast either in room, inside or in a charming courtyard. Fresh orange juice, omelettes/eggs made to order.

Lovely and helpful staff. I especially liked Amaia on reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theglossy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    91
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
148
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The staff couldn't have been more solicitous and helpful when my wife and I stayed here after she'd had a plaster cast attached to her broken foot. Immediately on arrival, without asking us, they offered us an upgraded ground floor room, thus avoiding stairs (no extra charge). They enthusiastically helped us rearrange our travel arrangements. They checked regularly whether we needed room service or any other assistance. All done with concern and a smile. And the place itself, including its location, was gorgeous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Obispo sits very close to the much more expensive Parador and, at least from the outside of the latter, Obispo is much more interesting. The rooms are just fine and the service impeccable. It's in the old town where there are some restaurants, while the not-so-old, but not new part of theis marvelous little city are a walk downhill. There's a big city elevator to get back up if you need it. We were put in here as part of a bike tour, so I don't know it rack rate. Shouldn't be bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinadochill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
173 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have come back to this hotel after many years and the truth is that it is a great place to stay en Fuenterabbia. The building is very well persevered despite its centuries of history, the town is easily assessable at walking distance, the rooms are comfortable and very clean. Breakfast is very good too.
The old part of town is just out of the door as also some of the best restaurants such as the Sebastian and the Alameda. It has a small parking for seven cars that is very convenient if you get them on time.
The fishing port and bars are only 10 minutes’ walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BIICSANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel has a great location with a great view.
The service of the staff is excellent, they are very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast is small but nice with a good variety of fruits, omelets drinks and breads.
Rooms are much smaller as I expected and look bigger on their website too, this was a bit disappointing considering that it is not a cheap Hotel
The building has been well upgraded to provide comfort and style to the guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is fabulous. I think it has been rebuilt from a ruin but what a splendid job they have done. family run, this place is like a second home, warm friendly and welcoming. Our room was beautiful and very spacious with our very own turret terrace with a magnificent view.

Staff were warm and friendly and most speak Spanish, Basque, English and French. Parking was easy, short walk to the tapas bars, and look for the elevator on the other side of the church - saves heaps of stairs.
Great stay.

Room Tip: get the room wit the turret terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soosie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

With a charming welcome, an historic building, a great location and being amazing value, this was a brilliant place to stay. It was a former archbishop's palace, I think, and is monumental in construction. A steep stone flight of stairs to the entrance might put off some, but there is a warm welcome waiting for you from the front desk, and a cosy foyer. The bedroom had stone walls and was quite spartan but had a nice feel to it and the beds were comfortable. A free drink is offered in the bar for guests and they know how to make a mean gin and tonic. The breakfast was similarly generous with eggs and bacon cooked to order and nice meats and cheeses. This hotel is not high end luxury but it is charming and generous. I don't know how they do it for the money!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hondarribia hotels
0.1 mi away
Parador de Hondarribia
Parador de Hondarribia
#2 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#6 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jaizkibel
Hotel Jaizkibel
#1 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#4 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacete
Hotel Palacete
#7 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Lorenea
Villa Lorenea
#5 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obispo

Property: Hotel Obispo
Address: Plaza del Obispo, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obispo Hotel Hondarribia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing