We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Jaizkibel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jaizkibel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed here on route to the south of France. It was a perfect stopover, the hotel staff were very welcoming. We were provided with a (very) welcome cocktail on arrival which was lovely. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The secure underground car park was great if like us you are travelling with a car full that you don't want to unpack for the night. The hotel is in a peaceful residential location - but a short walk to both restaurants and the old town, perfect for exploring. The staff were very happy to help with info on the local area, .The breakfast offered an excellent and plentiful choice of everything from egg and bacon to fruit and pastries - including some lovely cakes! All in all a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobyfivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stay at the Jaizkibel several times per year whilst on business, and the quality and comfort is consistently high. The English speaking staff ensure easy communication, and nothing seems to be too much trouble. For example, they managed to prepare an excellent vegan meal with very short notice, without any complaint. The restaurant provides a good standard from locally sourced produce, and there is a well stocked bar. The rooms are very comfortable, with BBC channels for the British guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed at Hotel Jaizkibel the week of April 8th. The hotel is located in walking distance from downtown and the old town.The room was nice and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and competent.
Finally the restaurant although not exactly cheap served great food.
Will definitely returned.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenjuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This hotel is perfect and above value for money. Staff are excellent. So eager to help to make your stay pleasant. Reception staff took the time to point us in the right direction for our next destination. Saturday morning omelette from the buffet was divine. The hotel is in a beautiful and quiet residential area yet only a few minutes walk to a great eating strip. We ate pintxos in the early evening down in the village - Gran Sol, and then back to the hotel for an excellent dinner. Try to book level 2 to enjoy the views. For something modern and tucked away in a lovely area, Jaizkibel ticks every box. We chose it for its close access to San Sebastián which an efficient 30 minute bus ride. The airport is a 5 minutes drive (bus or taxi) yet can not be heard or seen.

Room Tip: Level 2 give good views. Try omelette from breakfast buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed at Jaizkibel last September in a suite, being a family of four with 2 small children. We found the hotel through Tripadvisor and , as usual, it was a great choice. The hotel is extremely well located just outside the old city, but in a very quiet and upscale residential area. There is underground parking, great great restaurant that serves dinners to guests as well as lots of locals that come by because of the quality of the food and ambiance. The reception people are very kind, professional and accommodating. The suite was large, very clean, great large king bed, separate area for the kids.
There is a very good restaurant nearby, just a few minutes walk down the street, one of the best in the area.
We will be back

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lancet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed here in October 2012. It is really quite outstanding and I hope we will be able to return there sometime! The receptionists and all the staff were charming, The room (we had a junior suite) was excellent (the standard rooms looked more than adequate) with a huge comfortable bed, and the restaurant served an excellent meal. In parador style you can have a 3 course meal from the a la carte menu for €24. It was fantastic value and included perhaps the best fillet steak I have ever enjoyed. Good choice of wines at a very reasonable price. There is secure underground parking with very relaxing gardens around the hotel. The hotel is in a quiet residential area above the town some 10 minutes away downhill with escalators and lifts. The town is very attractive with very old interesting buildings and the sea front is charming. Plenty of bars and restaurants there and wonderful views across the estuary to France if you drive through the town and up behind. We have stayed in the parador in Hondarrhibia twice before but Hotel Jaizkibel is in our view far superior and when we stayed this time much cheaper. Only minor criticism was the buffet breakfast where the food selection was rather limited (nothing hot either on display or available to order) and we felt it was expensive for what was provided.

Room Tip: Better views from 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicHeald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in September 2011 on a camping holiday! We got to Hondaribba on our motorbike and it had been raining very heavily so we did not want to camp! I asked in reception for a room for 2 nights (in full motorbike kit cold and wet!) The staff were very helpful sorted a room for us and let us dry off in the basement car park until the room was ready.

If you are driving to the hotel the car park is very secure warm and dry!

The room was lovely spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and a good size too. View from bedroom window was of rooftops and surrounding mountains.

Food at the hotel wad very good and not too expensive. The wine was really good value.

Loved it here and would go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hondarribia
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#4 of 9 in Hondarribia
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#6 of 9 in Hondarribia
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parador de Hondarribia
Parador de Hondarribia
#2 of 9 in Hondarribia
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Obispo
Hotel Obispo
#3 of 9 in Hondarribia
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Magalean Hotel & Spa
Villa Magalean Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Hondarribia
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Serge Blanco & Thalassotherapy Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jaizkibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jaizkibel

Address: Baserritar Etorbidea 1, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hondarribia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hondarribia
Price Range: £74 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jaizkibel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Jaizkibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaizkibel Hotel Hondarribia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing