We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent”
Review of Hotel Jaizkibel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jaizkibel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stay at the Jaizkibel every time we visit Madrid (on the way or on the way back) and it is consistently excellent and good value for money. The hotel is very well designed and landscaped. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food at dinner and breakfast is very good. The rooms feel spacious and airy (although they are pretty much standard size, which is fine for an overnight stop) and are well designed. It only has 24 rooms so make sure you book ahead.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naussannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    82
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
204
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
153 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

For the last two nights of our holiday we wanted somewhere decent to stay ahead of a 24 hour ferry crossing to the UK and this hotel turned out to be an excellent choice. Had initially wanted to stay in San Sebastian but couldn't find anything half decent with easy parking, so picked Hondarribia which is a 30 minute drive away-glad we did. Located in its own grounds, its immaculately looked after and smartly decorated. Decent sized rooms (and bathrooms) with comfortable beds, good air conditioning. Its located two streets behind the main part of town (old town is worth a look but not much going on there in terms of restaurants and shops); there's even escalators which get you up and down the hill; genius!

Breakfast was the usual continental style cold buffet (as well as to order omelettes), all of very good quality, served in the restaurant which has a bar and quiet lounge attached.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful; plenty of local knowledge as well as advice on places visit further away. Sun deck on the roof (no pool) overlooking the bay/harbour. Secure on site parking. Definitely a thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Summary: This is a great hotel. The service is honestly the best part as the team there did everything possible to make us feel welcome. I would highly recommend this hotel and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Location: The hotel is a little removed from where many of the other hotels are in the old city, however it is very close and a quick walk away. Additionally, the quiet area that it was in was very nice and extremely tranquil. There is also a bit of green space on the hotel grounds which was welcome.

Rooms: My room was very well appointed and very comfortable. I especially liked the bathroom because of its large size and large mirror.

Hotel features: Both the restaurant and the bar were very nice. The food was well done and we had a very nice welcome drink provided by the hotel.

Room service: N/A

Service in general: The service is great here. Everyone was very nice and very responsive. The woman at the front desk even walked outside with us in the morning with an umbrella to help us meet our taxi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chi_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

If we are driving up to France from Spain we usually choose the western option via the Basque country rather than the Barcelona-Perpignan side of the Pyrenees, because the scenery is more spectacular and the tolls are a fraction of the cost. We have stayed in the seaside town of Hondarribia which right next to the French border on three occasions. At the Parador which was pleasant but pricey, at Hotel Obispo (originally the Bishop´s palace), a bit on the damp side, and finally at the perfect hotel, Jaizkibel.

It is modern, well designed with access from the secure underground carpark to the bedrooms, the most comfortable bed ever, pleasant all female staff, good food for the same price as the Obispo and about half of what the Parador costs. There is one drawback. It is really quite difficult to find. First of all there is a camping site of the same name in Hondarribia so we followed the signs there originally. Then our sat nav lead us to the correct street which is in fact in two parts separated by a roundabout, but could not find the right number, so we asked one of the locals and eventually found the hotel which was hidden behind a tall hedge. However now that we know where Jaizkibel is hiding, we will always return here whenever we make this trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisDoonVarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The restaurant food was good, but our waitress Ana B. was an excellent server. Truly a good employee. The desk staff was exceptional and the parking areas were underground and some of the parking spaces were larger which was good for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed here on route to the south of France. It was a perfect stopover, the hotel staff were very welcoming. We were provided with a (very) welcome cocktail on arrival which was lovely. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The secure underground car park was great if like us you are travelling with a car full that you don't want to unpack for the night. The hotel is in a peaceful residential location - but a short walk to both restaurants and the old town, perfect for exploring. The staff were very happy to help with info on the local area, .The breakfast offered an excellent and plentiful choice of everything from egg and bacon to fruit and pastries - including some lovely cakes! All in all a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobyfivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stay at the Jaizkibel several times per year whilst on business, and the quality and comfort is consistently high. The English speaking staff ensure easy communication, and nothing seems to be too much trouble. For example, they managed to prepare an excellent vegan meal with very short notice, without any complaint. The restaurant provides a good standard from locally sourced produce, and there is a well stocked bar. The rooms are very comfortable, with BBC channels for the British guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hondarribia
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#5 of 8 in Hondarribia
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parador de Hondarribia
Parador de Hondarribia
#2 of 8 in Hondarribia
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#6 of 8 in Hondarribia
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Obispo
Hotel Obispo
#3 of 8 in Hondarribia
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lorenea
Villa Lorenea
#4 of 8 in Hondarribia
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jaizkibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jaizkibel

Property: Hotel Jaizkibel
Address: Baserritar Etorbidea 1, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jaizkibel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jaizkibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaizkibel Hotel Hondarribia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing