We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Hondarribia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Parador de Hondarribia
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We were lucky to get a room with view over the sea.so it was very nice.
Otherwise it might disappoint you. Another problem was that we didnot made a table reservation in a nearby restaurant. Everything was fully booked so we went to san sebastian for dinner. Great meal there but on my next visit I will book a hotel there. Breakfast was good , service aswell.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertbilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    206
    82
    29
    14
See reviews for
90
402
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This Parador is located in old castle. If weaather is goog, go to terrace with your breakfast. Beautiful place and view. Friendly staff.This old city is charming - and good alternative instead of San Sebastian.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

The property itself is incredible. Walk into the courtyard and you are inside a castle. Room was average with no A/C but not a problem because the nights were very cool when we stayed. We used Hondarribia as a base to visit the French Basque region and Hondarribia itself where we had some incredible Pintxos on a Sunday afternoon when the streets were filled with locals and tourists alike.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were very impressed by the building itself, the views and the town. Our room was a bit small but still had a water view and was more than adequate. Note, it is difficult to find the hotel as it is in the middle of the old town at the highest point, plus you need to get to the reception to get directions for the car park! A bit of a catch 22, do not think of dragging you luggage up to the hotel, way too hard and too far.
Staff were great and very friendly and helpful. Be sure to visit all the banquet rooms etc., incredibly historic and beautiful. Yes it is expensive but worth it, the terrace is fantastic for an afternoon drink. There is no restaurant but the hotel has very good recommendations in close walking distance. We were so happy with the place we extended our stay from 2 to 3 nights before we went on to San Sebastian. The town has allot of character and is close to many other nice towns worth visiting. Everything worth seeing in the town is in walking distance. We will return!

Room Tip: Definitely try for an outside room, the internal courtyard rooms could be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had stayed at and were impressed by Parador Ronda last year. So we booked three other Paradors for this year. Parador de Hondarribia has an imposing presence and commanding position in the elevated ancient fortified old town & is within an easy walk to the waterfront and all the restaurants and tapas bars there (especially if one uses the large glass outdoor elevator at the harbour side of the building). Notwithstanding the excellent restoration and adaptation of this ancient Fort the staff and their 'public service' attitude (note Parador is effectively Government run) let this splendid site down. We had friends arrive from Ireland who were lucky to get a room with a better view (at a premium due to the preservation of the Forts perimeter). The breakfast room extending into the central courtyard is a nice spot to start the day, but again could have been enhanced by better service, attitude, and replenishment.
The Square the Hotel enters from is a pleasant place to sit for a refreshment but suffers from the relatively poor quality of service and product from the local food & beverage businesses & the Parador itself fails to utilise its potential.
The towns tapas bars & nearby Hendaye beach are splendid.

Room Tip: Try to get a view to the East on an upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyDryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juiz de Fora, MG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Me, my boyfriend and his family decided to stay in this Parador because of the high quality of Parador hotels. Although this hotel is beautiful and very charming, it's a little expensive when you consider the quality of the rooms. The bed isn't comfortable and the bedroom temperature alternates between very cold and very hot during all night. The breakfast is very good, but there is no restaurant and other possibilities of entertainment there.

But the hotel is nicely located and you can have a nice experience if you look through the window (beautiful view).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My wife and I are seasoned travellers and regular users of the great Paradores network of high quality hotels. She loves this Parador - the scenery, the atmospheric building, the charming and helpful staff, the quaint rooms. I too think it is fine, but having spent the previous fortnight in 5 other Paradores, I was surprised to find that this one (with the least facilities we experienced) was by far the most expensive. There is no restaurant, no air-conditioning, no gym and no swimming pool. And the weather is invariably cloudy and wet - not that they have any control over these factors. We will go again, I am sure, but I will be sorely tempted to find another Parador somewhere further south, and where there is perhaps less demand from itinerant Frenchmen... JLR Score 33/50

Room Tip: Bring an umbrella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoseRomanillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hondarribia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Obispo
Hotel Obispo
#3 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#6 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jaizkibel
Hotel Jaizkibel
#1 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#4 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacete
Hotel Palacete
#7 of 8 in Hondarribia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Soro
Hotel Villa Soro
#2 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Hondarribia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Hondarribia

Property: Parador de Hondarribia
Address: Plaza Armas de Castillo 14 | Guipúzcoa, 20005 Hondarribia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hondarribia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Hondarribia 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Parador de Hondarribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hondarribia Hotel Hondarribia
Parador De Hotel Hondarribia
Hondarribia Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing