We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Hotel Rio Bidasoa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Hondarribia
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My friend and I stayed at this lovely hotel for a long weekend at the beginning of February and we absolutely loved it. To start with, the first thing that we liked was the location; just a short walking distance to the old town and the "tapas bars". At the arrival, the staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient (they reccommended us some places to go and even helped us booking a restaurant for that night). The room we were given was really nice, overlooking the pool. It was clean, comfortable and spacious and the bathroom was a little bit of a spa experience, with an amazing "ecologica" shower, as they called it (it was a struggle to get my friend out of the shower in the morning!). Aside from the deliciuous free apples everywhere (which also added a cute, original touch to the place) we found that the food in their restautant was amazing (the veal and the hake highly reccommened!).
It´s quite obvious that they make an effort with the customers and pay a lot of attention to detail which is always appreciated: the free parking, free Wi-fi and a free welcoming drink. I would definitely come back again, possibly in the spring or summer to relax and enjoy the garden pool this time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janesmith490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipema, Director General at Hotel Rio Bidasoa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Wow Jane! It´s seems that you´ve enjoyed your stay among us!!!
We all really appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you again very soon.
Next time you should visit Hondarribia from first of June on our pool and garden will be waiting for you!
Thanks a lot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

Hondarribia is unlike any resort on the Mediterranean. It has an old town centre,lovely seaside promenades, boats galore and France 100metres across the water.
Our research suggested we try the Hotel Rio Bidasoa which is a short walk from the sea. It was an unpretentious smallish hotel with nice rooms and a first class restaurant. It was used by local guests which is always a good sign. The Hotel was staffed largely with young people who provided us with excellent service.
Our evening meals exceeded our expectations providing interesting food allied to a good wine list.
Our stop was for 2 days which was about right. Overall a very good stopover Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which was pleasant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipema, Director General at Hotel Rio Bidasoa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thanks a lot for your opinion.
We try our best !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The only thing myself, her indoors or our baby could find to complain about was the lack of mirrors in the room. Vanity aside, great location, great rooms, friendly staff, really clean, pool area immaculate, food and drink reasonable in the cafe area, the restaurant had good offers for daily menu's. Tremendous free apples on every floor too, we couldn't get enough of them.
Definitely stay there again when up that neck of the woods.

Room Tip: Don't know I only stayed in one of them but pool view was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n00fsjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monica s, Director General at Hotel Rio Bidasoa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

I am very pleased to know that you really enjoyed your stay among us. We try to do our best to make everyone feel comfortable when visiting us. We just finished painting and redecorating all the rooms last June and in fact we realised that we had forgotten about mirrors. “That’s our next task to ameliorate the conditions indoors”. We will be doing this at winter time.

Thank you so much for your compliments, words like yours encourage us to keep on working to be at the top.

We will be very grateful to receive your visit again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed there for a night on the way to San Sebastian. We booked a standard room for around €200. The room was minuscule and reminded me of a clean 2 star hotel I stayed in Copenhagen.
Upon protesting over the size of the room we were offered a superior or a suite for an addition fee which we decided to pay.
However the member of staff looked at us during this episode as if we were very difficult and practically ignored us while showing us the other room choices.
Overall nice place, totally over priced for the location and could benefit from some customer service trainng of their reception ladies. Nice suite if you want to pay :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

For my part disappointing in their conciliatory stance. Did not get the booking dates right from the start causing delays and unessary expenses during the visa application and would take no responsibility for this. This alone brings doubt as to the amability and welcoming of the staff. I was reluctant as to staying there and they made my mind up for me. Hote RioBidasoa Not for me thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Anz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I had gps rocking and it guided me (ta american military industrial complex) straight to to car park of this super boutique hotel so the only qualm i could have had (tricky to find)was taken out ...Get a gps people!
This hotel really impressed me from soup to nuts.Check in was friendly and smooth.The room was big , clean , air con ed,flatscreened,wified,fridged,etc..etc...top notch accommodation.
Hotel had a super cafe with papers , well priced food , red wine ,couches , and a nice terrase.
The grounds were lovely with a pool and chillout beds.
There is a gourmet resto in the basement which fills the carparck so arrive early.
Apples and ipads are scattered around unbelievably.As i was working an ipad the groundsman wallked past and told me it had safari,google and i garbled"todo!"
Very well situated hotel too , just next too the town(great restos),the beach walkway,the hendaye ferry,the lift for the old town and the san sebastian airport...
Book it unless you find fault in everything and suffer from anhadonia in which case get help ...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BordeauxHerzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We chose to stay here since we wanted to visit both San Sebastian and Biarritz. This hotel was perfect for that and about 25 minutes from each town. We really had no complaints. The room was clean and very simple. It had a Scandinavian feel to it. The grounds were lovely and the town itself was charming. We did not explore the town at great lengths since we spent most of our time between San Sebastian and Biarritz but did walk up to the Parador which was beautiful. The beaches in San Sebastian and Biarritz are wonderful and it is totally possible to home base here and then drive each day. The tolls are a little high going back and forth but the back roads can be taken as well. We did not mind the drive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tulsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hondarribia hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#4 of 9 in Hondarribia
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parador de Hondarribia
Parador de Hondarribia
#2 of 9 in Hondarribia
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Obispo
Hotel Obispo
#3 of 9 in Hondarribia
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jaizkibel
Hotel Jaizkibel
#1 of 9 in Hondarribia
342 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Magalean Hotel & Spa
Villa Magalean Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Hondarribia
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacete
Hotel Palacete
#7 of 9 in Hondarribia
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio Bidasoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Bidasoa

Address: Nafarroa Behera 1, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hondarribia
Price Range: £58 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rio Bidasoa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Río Bidasoa Hotel is an establishment where everything is thought for our guests' calm and comfort. Surrounded by a cared garden with car park and swimming pool, is the perfect accommodation for those who want to enjoy a pleasant stay in Hondarribia.All our services fulfils accessibility regulations.The restaurant is a quiet and pleasant place to enjoy good cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rio Bidasoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Bidasoa Hondarribia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing