We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, lucky find”
Review of Hotel Palacete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palacete
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hondarribia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Found this hotel on the internet before a trip to Hondarribia and what a great find it was! A beautiful old building on a central square on the top of the hill in the old town. Boutique hotel interior at very modest pricing. Great basecamp for sampling the wonderful food that Honarribia has to offer, great place to start a daytrip to San Sebastien (20 minute bus ride) without having to hassle with a car and parking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank textibule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Good place to stay away from bustling resort area with easy access to the whole area. Location is on the main square with lots of locals but quiet because the city is small. Good places to sample the food nearby (walking). The staff is a delight & the breakfast (served at the bar downstairs) is great. Rooms are neat, clean & has everthing for a good stay (some rooms also come with a view)

Room Tip: Get a view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgatlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for one night after staying at the parador. Our room looks out into a charming plaza and a good size with modern BR.The staff was very nice, checked us in earlier. The building feels medieval with spiral stone staircase and thick walls. The hotel is located inside the old city walls . Breakfast was basic .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princessleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Palacete for 6 days in early October, 2013. We had the room with the balcony which allowed us to sit out and watch the activity on the plaza. Our hostess as well as all the other staff were delightful, efficient, and there was never a want or need that was not fulfilled. It was fun to drink coffee or wine in the patio and enjoy others who were staying at the hotel.

This charming small hotel was exactly as I had hoped when I booked it and would definitely stay again and recommend it highly to others.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank eventflyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I stayed there on a Friday and Saturday night. There are three rooms for double occupancy that over look the small but totally charming plaza. Since it is a small hotel these three rooms are the best the hotel has to offer. It only has one star because there is no restaurant and no elevator but does have an old spiral stone staircase that adds charm. We thought the breakfast in their courtyard was very good for seven euros...including fresh squeezed orange juice, some wonderful Iberian ham, croissants, toast, butter, jam etc. and excellent coffee. The shaded courtyard comes in very handy for a beer or two after walking to the harbor and exploring the quaint city. Beware the Alameda restaurant is not nearly as good as some of the reviews claim.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We followed Rick Steve's advice that this "small fishing village" would be a good oplace to stay between San Sebastion and Bilboa. Hondarribia is 1)not small, 2)has multiple ways of spelling it, making it hard to follow signs. We were tired and frustrated and found a parking place, right next to the Hotel Placete sign. We had never heard of this hotel, and couldn't get trip advisor up (no wi-fi), so we had no idea if this was a good place or not.
The woman English speaking staffer put us at ease, showed us the rooms, and we were sold! Great balcony view, great breakfast in the AM.

Room Tip: Be ready to be frustrated trying to drive in the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

In the middle of the old part of the town, at a very quiet location you can find this wonderful hotel. It is situated at an old square with beautiful houses, and one of the most beautiful is the hotel itself. We had a very nice room that had a balcony overlooking the square, and even though there were quite a lot of tourists around at daytime it was really quiet at night. Most of the restaurants and bars are in the modern part of town, only five to ten minutes walk from the hotel.
The receptionist spoke good English and made us feel very welcome. In the morning she served breakfast in the courtyard. The breakfast was nothing special, but the hotel itself, in an old palace was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kartul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hondarribia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jauregui
Hotel Jauregui
#4 of 9 in Hondarribia
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
Hotel Rio Bidasoa
#6 of 9 in Hondarribia
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Obispo
Hotel Obispo
#3 of 9 in Hondarribia
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jaizkibel
Hotel Jaizkibel
#1 of 9 in Hondarribia
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parador de Hondarribia
Parador de Hondarribia
#2 of 9 in Hondarribia
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Lorenea
Villa Lorenea
#5 of 9 in Hondarribia
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacete

Address: Plaza de Gipuzkoa, 5, 20280 Hondarribia, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Hondarribia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hondarribia
Price Range: £45 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Palacete 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palacete Hotel stands on the Gipuzkoa Square (also known as Plaza de las Cadenas), in Hondarribia City's historic centre that was declared a Historic Buildings Site. Opened in June 2003, the hotel occupies a building in a markedly medieval style (Casa Palacete or small palace) after which it is named. It keeps the traditional charm and sobriety of the palace, while offering all classes of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Palacete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacete Hotel Hondarribia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing