We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting Place

This is an uphill walk worth the effort . The views all around fantastic .The walk around the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Ronnie M
,
Inverness, United Kingdom
Hairy drive up worth the views

Extraordinary views over Mallorca from the top of the Santuari de Sant Salvador. The drive up is... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2018
Sue B
,
Pickering, United Kingdom
Read all 441 reviews
  
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
96
31
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
31
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hairpin bends winding road high hill statue of christ great drive breathtaking views hair raising take your breath away interesting trip hair pin bends worth the effort nail biting scary drive hired a car picnic area worth a visit sanctuary
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an uphill walk worth the effort . The views all around fantastic .The walk around the parapet a bit daunting if you are not confidant as there is no railing so be aware especially with children . There is a café serving café fare which is O.K ,but a must visit if in the area .

Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Extraordinary views over Mallorca from the top of the Santuari de Sant Salvador. The drive up is hard work but it was clearly worth it: lots of cyclists and walkers made the climb too. The church was interesting with access behind the altar. There is a cafe there too.

Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Amazing views, church is very peaceful until you put €2 in the box and the lights go out! Then you get about 4 minutes of a music and light show! We went into the cafeteria by the church rather than the restaurant outside. Served by 2 lovely little old ladies and the best coffee we had anywhere! Very modest. Well worth the drive up just for the views!

Thank Janette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Spectacular setting stunning views. Winding road with plenty of hairpins. Decent coffee at cafeteria. Best in the afternoon for pictures of the statue

Thank Eddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

So the view is awesome, you can see the sea and the land from the top of the mountain... and that’s about it. Skip the restaurant, church is boring inside and facilities are not great. But worth the view!

Thank Supergoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Super view 360 degree above Mallorca. There is a cafe and toilets. Way up with car was easier than our ride to cap Formentor

1  Thank dazlious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We loved the exciting drive up the mount, with the kids squealing in the back. The road is safe, we've driven on much more hairy in Crete and other islands, there are small walls on most edges. At the top, the views are amazing and the church very pretty, with a unique cave-nativity exhibit.
There's a picnic area that's home to a family of goats, which the kids loved to see. As we descended, we crossed paths with two buggy tour groups so we were pleased to have visited at a quieter moment.

Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Hello People, this is one of those don't miss the opportunity kind of reviews. Aside from the religious and spiritual part of this visit, the church has a lot to offer in its interesting and in some instances quirky displays. The decor of the church is typically overbearing and makes yo feel kind of small but you have to appreciate that a lot of work went into building this place in the past. The onsite restaurant offers reasonably priced refreshments etc, although someone told me afterwards that this place was attached to the hotel and that there is another 'church' based cafeteria inside, just as nice and a little cheaper?...i will have to investigate this next time. The views, as you van imagine, offer panoramic photographic snaps all round for the budding clickers out there.....which is why we all planned a second early morning trip to video and photograph a Sunrise from the cross monument at the car park.
N.B. This is a bit of a magnet for the Road Bikers of the world and although the road quality is very good and the bends not the most treacherous i have travelled, you need to mindful of these cyclists and the fact that some of them think they are in the tour de france, especially on the way down and i had two occasion where they had overstretched their 'corners' and ended up on the wrong side of the road i.e. my side!! On the whole, i know that cyclists are very careful but sometimes you get those few bloody minded 'i am a cyclist on the road, so look out for me' types that test your goodwill and driving skills.
Do this trip in the car, by bike or for the really fit and brave of heart, walk up there and you will not be disappointed. Enjoy!

2  Thank GedD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Im actually writing this review while still here.
Its not a nice place to stay overnight, unlucky we have stayed 3 and have another to go.
Your not greeted at all, i asked in an email before I arrived whether there was any taxis to take us to the beach, was replied with yes ofcourse roughly 10 euro, loads to do etc.
Nobody on the reception, finally we found someone and she said “no taxi, you walk down and catch bus” first of all its 5km to walk which we can do but not everyone can but we did and it took 1hr 15 but there is no bus. 35 euro to the beach at calla d’or. One way. The food is extremely expensive for what you get at the Sant Salvador plus the spaghetti bolognase was over seasoned and my husband couldn’t eat it. 24 euros.
Breakfast was basically bread, cheese, and cereal, 10 euro each for some toast.
We literally want to come home early. The photos show a relaxing balcony... you dont get that, dont be fooled. You get woken up very very early by animals (goats/rooster)
Final point is the noise from staff tidying up downstairs at 00:30am
Also they all go home so god forbid if you were poorly, theres noone to help you. Just a card and a note. Terrible terrible terrible

Thank mrshayhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We were a little scared to drive up there, because of the very tiny road, but it went so well.

We drove in a small car, which we also will recommend others to do, even though we saw some bigs cars on top.

When your turning into the road towards Sant Salvador, there is a sign saying in what time the busses will drive up there so you can avoid them. Pretty smart.
I can’t remember the time, but we were there from 10.30-12.00, where the busses weren’t there.

It’s a really amazing view around the east coast, from up there.

Thank SimoneJPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews