We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved”
Review of Villa Italia

Villa Italia
Reserve with
Villa Italia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$89
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Much improved”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Until a month ago I hadn't eaten here for three years... The reason was never the quality of the food or service which was in my mind...always good... It was the fact in summer the terrace would get very hot... I asked a few times back then...why no ceiling fans ??
Well, I went for Sunday Lunch three weeks ago...and again last Sunday and on both occasions the food had improved as had the service...and the refurbishments mean the terrace is now much cooler than it was...still no ceiling fans which I still feel would help even more, but...the covered roof and wall to wall open glass doors... Make a big difference.
We ate the set Sunday Lunch menu which is priced at 29€ per person...however when you build in the cost if the bread and the cover charge...it would never be this price... However; with a bottle of modest wine and sorts drinks and water three people should still pay no more than 45€ a head !
Which for the lovely setting and the quality food and service is not bad and there is very good live music on Sunday...
Set to the side if the bay of Andratx, overlooking the yachts bopping moored in the bay...this is an idiotic setting. Very popular and clearly it enjoys a loyal and regular clientele.
Personally I can't wait to go again !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotoneinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    33
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Beautiful place but such slow service especially having pre dinner drinks. Waiter was a bit out of his depth serving only 10 people! Meal was only okay, wine nice and the bill - steep! Too expensive for what we had. Will we go again - probably not!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gangy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed to say the least”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose from the 49 euro set menu. Starters, tagliatelle and prawns,tasteless and ordinary. Main, salmon and beef crusted something ( not sure what it was ) vegetables mush and beef indescribable. Sweet chocolate soufflé and raspberry something 13 e off main menu. Well what can I says other than awful and v. expensive. The service wasn't much better,with only the wine waiter worth a mention. If you want a fantastic setting but terrible food then this is the place to go. Two German guys on the next table we're complaining about exactly the same thing as us "the food" this is truly a setting to die for for a meal it's a shame the food doe sent meet anywhere near the same standard. This has gone in the book as the most expensive worst meal we have had to date. Sorry villa italia.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Surprisingly disappointing and not our scene”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This restaurant was highly recommended to us especially the Sunday lunch.
Went there with another couple and we were completely underwhelmed.
No one to greet you on arrival. Had to walk through a crowded restaurant and asked three waiters before I found someone that could deal with us and seat us.
The 29€ set menu was good value but unfortunately the food wasn't very good. Tough beef stroganoff, poorly battered cod, salmon in a sauce of some kind. All not very good
However it does appeal to some people especially the drunk , chavy and noisy English who were there for the roast beef.
This was a great shame as our friends who recommended rave about it and we were really looking forward to it.
Had a far better meal at El Patio.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 362MichaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab place to while away a sunny afternoon”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Love this place, it's the perfect lunchtime spot to get away from the heat of the summer Spanish rays. Their lunch menu is fabulous - and good value. Staff always attentive, and they love kids! Come the evening, it becomes a sultry, romantic spot with dedicated cocktail barman, live music and the best wine list on the island. It also seems to be the choice of British Royalty - as we saw Harry sauntering in to the private dining hall on one of our visits. Don't drive - parking is awful, and the cocktails too generous!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Italia also viewed

Port d'Andratx, Majorca
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
 
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
 
Port d'Andratx, Majorca
 

Been to Villa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing